We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Millenium With a View”
Review of Millenium Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Millenium Hilton
Ranked #233 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
551 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Millenium With a View”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Great hotel experience. Initially I was hesitant about this hotel, from the moment my husband booked our stay. I was so wrong. After traveling to this area over the last few years, staying near the 9/11 Memorial dramatically changed my perception of the area. I would have liked to have had a few more days at the Millenium. But for the hotel being somewhat dated compared to other hotels, I would give it a 5.

We had a corner king suite with sunny south and west windows. From our room, the views of the 9/11 Memorial, the Freedom Tower, including views of the Hudson River provided a general 'map' of the area. With an area so busy with urban vibe, there was no annoying construction noise with the enhanced sounds of the city. A mall is being built between the 9/11 Memorial and the Millenium Hilton, so noise may be an issue on lower floors at this time. I didn't hear anything during the day from the lobby. (Construction ends early and the evenings/nights are quiet.)

Our room was clean, bright and larger than other higher-priced hotels we have also enjoyed in NYC. This is an older hotel with many updates. Suites are on the north and south corners of the west side of the hotel. The living area with a small sofa, desk and TV is perfect for working and allows for some separation from the sleeping area. On the 9/11 side, the window ledge is low and great to sit, reflect and is only lacking window cushions. This hotel may only need new sofas, and definitely window cushions! Bed was perfect. (The east side of the hotel does have rooms with window views of the building east of the Millenium.) The bath was fully equipped, clean with granite updates. After our first day, a surprise - a fluffy white rug was added to the bath by our housekeeper (at no request).

Must give thanks to Oscar at the registration desk for his assistance with anything. The staff was very friendly and always offered to assist. The hotel lobby is smaller and busy, but very efficient with sitting areas and a lounge/bar area. Looking to the west, construction of the shopping mall is visible and access to the 9/11 Memorial is easier by walking south two blocks and then west toward the memorial. (Much more distance to the 9/11 Memorial if walking north - seems like the natural path, but this requires walking and weaving around buildings.)

We were only here for two nights. Our friend in Manhattan gave us a tour of the area within blocks to the Financial District. We discovered Stone Street and the many pubs and restaurants, (look up Stone Street) including picnic tables and umbrellas on the closed cobblestone street. Our friend explained the resurgence in the Wall Street/Financial District area, with more activities, pubs, restaurants. We were passed by children on scooters while walking back to our hotel. Easy to recognize that adults enjoying downtime and children riding little scotters have brought life back to the Wall Street/Financial District. Our friend, a NYC native wanted to show off the transformation of this area. So glad we stayed at the Millenium Hilton, certainly this will be a hub in this area, if it isn't already!

Room Tip: Corner suites on the west side have the best view. Higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RikiUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,801
    1,635
    635
    250
    134
See reviews for
910
1,456
316
981
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (961)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I was booked in this hotel recently from 4th - 7th June and have some comments about this hotel.

1. Service : i did not get the good service from this hotel (Hilton standard) esp the receptionist when i told them my room card did not work for most of the days that i was there - each night i was told cos i put my card close to my credit card or other cards and I should put it in a different pocket with a rude tone!! I m a woman and i carry a handbag so which other pocket i have !! This is apparently not my problem but a hotel problem as i did the same with my room card in the other hotel i stayed in NY afterward. What i m upset about is the TONE and Expression of the people that works at the desk.

2. Restroom - the worst restroom i ever seen during my trip to NY even Starbuck and Wendy's have a much pleasant public restroom then this hotel. When i told someone at the counter that the toilet stinks!!! Their excuse was the toilet is on loan for use by people visiting the 911 memorial so many ppl uses it. My reply was : this is THE HILTON!! it does not matter how many people uses the restroom it should not smell of pee and if you know many people uses it then your cleaning crew should clean it more often but i got no answer from that person - maybe he is not in the position to do anything but i do hope he give my feedback to whoever is in-charge..

The rooms are nice and clean (normal standard for such brand hotel) but the stay was spoiled by the attitude of the staff who does not take pride in what they do!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilleniumHiltonHotel, General Manager at Millenium Hilton, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Angela,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience you had during your recent stay with us. We do our best to ensure every guest and team member are respectful of each other so that all may enjoy their stay and we regret having dropped the ball. We have shared your concerns on guestroom appointment and service with our front desk and facilities teams so we may work to better preserve the comfort of our guests moving forward. We hope you will give us another chance to show you the quality hospitality you deserve, should you return to our area in the future.

Thank you,
Jimmy

Jimmy Sarfraz
General Manager
Millenium Hilton
55 Church Street
New York, NY 10007
Email: jimmy.sarfraz@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed in a King Bed Deluxe City View on the 43rd floor so can't comment on other rooms.
There where clear warnings about noise from local building works on the website but I did not hear any building noise, but I was on 43rd floor
The King Deluxe City View rooms are on the corner of the building so have windows on two sides, bedroom and separate lounge, en suite bathroom with bath & shower, iron, mini bar, safe, 2 big screen TVs with pay movies, coffee maker. Fantastic view over ground zero and new WTC towers, and memorial museum.
Several road closures still in place so not a lot of traffic. The subway E line terminates at the WTC station which is about 20 metres from hotel front door, (maybe no wheel chair access though) other subway lines within 2-5 minutes walk, hotel has taxis outside and can also book a transfer to airport. Room service not 24 hour but there is a 24 hour diner turn left out of front doors about 2 minutes walk next to Burger King, I recommend it, no problem bringing food back to hotel. 10 minutes walk to the historic Wall Street area, with bars and restaurants. Concierge can book show tickets. Have seen several comments about hotel looking a bit tired but the parts I saw where all 100% fine. Didn't use the bar or have dinner. Breakfast buffet is good quality, bacon, decent sausage, eggs plus pastries, fruit, cereal, juice coffee etc, but pricey at $30 inc tip, if you are on a budget give it a miss

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
1,095 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Several times a month I am a hotel guest x more adult years than I can say, and the bed in 2712 is an all-time low, not just for this hotel tier, but also in general. Like a marshmallow, including the box spring. So unless you can be guaranteed a new bed, stay away from this room.
Other negatives: don't dream of sleeping in either as the sun (yes, great view) shines through the thin non-blackout drapes; white dust decorates the room perimeter, behind doors and in the closet -- ah, housekeeping quality assurance -- must be on vacation. And the AC, well, if you like a constant roar, one might even say white noise, this is your place...but it did stay cool! And the usual...no water bottles, no bathroom night light and poor room lighting. Also, our TV wasn't working properly. Positives: friendly, helpful staff; great location; terrific view; magnifying mirror in bathroom.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank PlatinumHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billerica, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Every time my husband travels for business, he stays in this hotel and on two separate occasions, I have joined him and extended our stay. This hotel is right across from the 9/11 Memorial and Freedom Towers, therefore the location could not be better, albeit its view can be bittersweet as it is impossible to ignore what happened there not so long ago. It is close to many of NYC's attractions and it is surrounded by great restaurants, especially in the Tribeca area. The staff is very attentive and it is a very safe hotel. The bartenders are also very friendly and if asked, they will tell you all about how the hotel was affected by the 9/11 tragedy, which is a great way to appreciate what it was like to be there on that very day. Its updated look is due to the renovation they were obligated to undergo and it is certainly paying off, because the times I've stayed there, they are always busy. It's a beautiful hotel I would stay there anytime I were to stay in NYC.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laaia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Excellent hotel. Most people might start with the view (breathing-taking with the Freedom Tower across the way and sailboats in the distance) but our room was spotlessly clean and I think that deserves top billing. The hotel (and rooms) are modern and elegant. Even though we were there during a very busy week, the staff went out of their way to be welcoming, friendly, and helpful - even helping us navigate the subway. The subway is just across the street too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilleniumHiltonHotel, General Manager at Millenium Hilton, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Joyce,

We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful experience here at the Millenium Hilton hotel, and enjoyed everything about your stay with us from the moment you entered your guestroom! I am glad you found the accommodations to be spotless and appreciated the friendly and helpful service at the hotel, even during a busy time period for us. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you are in New York City.

Thank you,
Jimmy

Jimmy Sarfraz
General Manager
Millenium Hilton
55 Church Street
New York, NY 10007
Email: jimmy.sarfraz@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Absolutely loved this hotel from the moment we were greeted at the door to the moment we were hailed a cab back to the airport!! We visited this hotel for 5 nights a week before Christmas on our first trip to New York. The rooms are extremely spacious with a decent sized bath tub for soaking your feet after a day walking round NYC. We stayed in a King Size room overlooking the Freedom Tower which was stunning, with a generously sized TV. The rooms were a little noisy from the Freedom Tower site below and also TV noise from the room next door.
The location of the hotel is perfect for those that want to get away from the general tourist sites. A cab from the Empire State building was about $12 depending on traffic or the subway is right next door. On our first night we walked from the hotel to Central Park just to get a feel of NYC, if your feet can take it I'd definitely recommend the walk up Broadway calling at Union Square with some lovely shops and restaurants/ cafes on your way.
We had perfect stay in this hotel, the staff were friendly, rooms comfortable and location suburb for our needs. My only criticism which seems to have been mentioned by quite a few is the Wifi only being available in the lobby. We spent quite a bit of time sitting around trying to contact home.
I'd definitely consider this hotel again if we return to New York.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorna_0326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#277 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,119 reviews
Midtown
ONE UN New York
ONE UN New York
#204 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#271 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
Conrad New York
Conrad New York
#28 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,165 reviews
Midtown
New York Hilton Midtown
New York Hilton Midtown
#325 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9,967 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#147 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millenium Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millenium Hilton

Property: Millenium Hilton
Address: 55 Church Street, New York City, NY 10007-2939
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Green Hotel in New York City
#151 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#160 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#161 Business Hotel in New York City
#174 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Millenium Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 561
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Millenium Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millenium Hilton Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
Millenium Hilton New York
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing