We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dramatic, Gorgeous and Unique”
Review of The NoMad Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The NoMad Hotel
Ranked #56 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Dramatic, Gorgeous and Unique”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The NoMad has a dramatic, classy and timeless feel. It's old Parisian yet so fresh and updated. In the rooms, its rich, dark leather headboards and dark wooden tables contrast beautifully against the luxuriously plump, snow white linens. The gorgeous bed blankets are saturated in rich hues. The hardwood floors look and feel like the authentic, antique planks you'd find in old European hotels. On the floor is a beautiful rug (again) with a special antiquity about it. In the bathroom are white and gray marble counters, shiny faucets and mosaic floors all throughout. The website photos are exactly as pictured but I've added a couple more. The Parlor Restaurant (and there are several areas to eat in this hotel) was outstanding!! This Swiss chef has to be one of the most acclaimed in NYC. I don't think I've ever had duck cooked so exquisitely ... yum. The four of us had a couple of meals there and everything was just great--every time.

Unfortunately, the NoMad's service was not that great--not terribly bad, but no where near what it needs to be. Some expert hospitality training would do wonders. One other minor, yet rather frustrating aspect of this hotel is that the lighting in the Lobby, The Library and The Atrium was too dark. We were not the only ones to notice this. Every other eating area was just right--intimate, private and very lovely.

At night we took a cab. During the day it felt pretty safe to walk everywhere, but it's in a run down area at 28th and Broadway. And though within just a few blocks you can be in some really great areas of Manhattan, the actual neighborhood itself is not desirable and it doesn't feel that safe. I really hope this area of the Flatiron District can rise up to the standard of this great hotel.

This is a perfectly wonderful and gorgeous boutique hotel (though too pricey for the neighborhood and the average service), but overall it was a treat for us to be guests for 4 days.

Room Tip: There are rooms with 2 queens (the salon rooms) that are not indicated on the website. Rooms facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    223
    37
    9
    8
See reviews for
85
367
53
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I've tried a few hotels in the city, but this one is for the moment my favorite!

We were there with my husband. From our arrival to our departure, everything was perfect. The interiors are gorgeous. You really feel at home. Service was superb, they were so polite, respectful, nice and so quick on everything. Asked for more hangers and scotch tape, 2 minutes later everything was in the room. The room was a decent size with a nice bathtub and a lot of nice outstanding amenities (like Argan products from Côté Bastide, a really nice and well stocked mini bar, and so on). We also tried the restaurant (where you can book a table if you're a client of the hotel), it was really excellent (I recommend the delicious chicken)!!! You can also book on the day a table on the rooftop terrace. Also loved the fact that the rooftop bar is only open to guests of the hotel!!!

Well just go there, you won't be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fashiontraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Words cannot explain the new found love I have for this hotel. I have stayed at more than 20 hotels in New York City and by far, the NoMad is at the top of my list. It’s like someone went into every section of the room and said, “now, what would someone need and want in this area?” and they made it a reality. I wish I would have written down names of the staff but literally EVERY SINGLE person we came in contact with was friendly, accommodating, had a smile on their face and really made you feel like they were glad you were a guest. Everything in the room was perfection – the dimmer switches on every light, the bountiful counter space in the vanity and shower areas, the perfectly sized desk, wonderfully comfortable beds (and massive pillows – love!), the clock next to the bed that lulled me to bed every night with piano tunes and lastly the clawfoot bathtub. What a luxury to have something so wonderful to soak in, especially after battling a thunderstorm while walking the streets of New York. Every need of ours was met. The food: We had three amazing meals (two breakfasts - get the pancake or eggs benedict) dinner (roast chicken for 2 like something from heaven), we ran around the corner to Stumptown for coffee (I have also stayed at the Ace) and room service prices at the NoMad were very reasonable, not sky high as in other hotels. The cocktail menus are well thought out and taste like a great novel: complex, revealing, inventive and are to be savored - preferably on the rooftop overlooking the Empire State Building. I would stay here again and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Book an Atelier room - the size is perfect and includes the bathtub and a spacious shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luxtravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Needed to be near a friend's hotel and found a great deal from NoMad on Jetsetter. I hope the neighborhood directly around the Nomad continues to improve because right now it doesn't offer much in terms of restaurants and shopping and, honestly, we did not feel completely safe at night (saw several prostitutes and pimps). Not sure I would recommend this hotel to single woman and families for that reason. The hotel itself is LOVELY - think small but well appointed, rich and dark design elements, very comfortable. Highlights for us were relatively large rooms, extra comfy beds, big shower featuring luxury toiletries and oversized, fluffy towels, and a wonderful gym. We didn't have a chance to dine or drink at the hotel but hear that's another plus. Bikes in the lobby to borrow are a fantastic touch! Several other posts mentioned the great service and this is one area that I thought was lacking. It wasn't bad but it wasn't great - just average and for a high-end botique hotel, average is not good.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikeindc1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

i was expecting a wonderful experience and glad to say the nomad lives up to it.Kiatlyn, the lovely front desk manager upgraded me to lovely room decorated lovingly with outstanding attention to detail.reminded me of a boudoir style Parisian hotel room.Silver clawed bathtub in the corner, Sferra sheets on the bed, toiletries from Aragan which smelt heavenly( stock up , refills are a plenty).overall service was par excellence.
Had dinner at the nomad restaurant, my best culinary expirience to date, the seafood is to die for. drinks late at night at the library bar was the perfect nightcap.
The nomad has transformed this run down area of town. having stayed at the next door Ace hotel where the rooms leave much to be desired, this hotel is a wonderful addition.

Room Tip: book in advance for the restaurant, hottest tables in town! go high the noise does permeate upstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josephadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Love the Nomad. Service was polite, respectful and quick. They accommodated our food allergies and the food was excellent. The interiors are beautiful. Would definitely stay here again. Central location makes it easy to get around.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtravellerstraut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2012

our attempt for a bargain night in NYC turned into a luxury stay we will remember for years. We booked a classic room for our family of 3 (parents and 11 year old child), and got the discount price advertised on the discount site. upon arrival, we asked for a possible upgrade and were upgraded to a Grande room w/ just a $40 charge for a "cot" which was really an extremely comfortable portable bed, not a cot at all. We were thrilled to be offered such a nice room worth twice what we paid. The cleanliness, the gorgeously lacquered wood floors and everything in the room was brand new and exactly as pictured on the website. Let's hope they can keep this property as spic and span as it is now, for years to come, and I will certainly return. Never stayed in a NYC hotel with such unique and gorgeous furnishings (and I've stayed in NYC a couple times a year for years). Felt more like a posh apt, than a hotel room. Great big big windows and the neighborhood is mellow. Have breakfast at Birch Coffee around the corner, and you are good to go.

Room Tip: The Grand room was grande and completely quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joeranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#48 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#41 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,327 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
Greenwich Hotel
Greenwich Hotel
#75 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#25 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,895 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#76 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The NoMad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The NoMad Hotel

Property: The NoMad Hotel
Address: 1170 Broadway, New York City, NY 10001-7507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The NoMad Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NoMad Hotel is housed in a turn of the century Beaux-Arts building that has been fully restored to its original grandeur with interiors by French designer Jacques Garcia. The hotel is intended as a fresh take on the classic grand hotels of Europe with a distinct New York sensibility. The design of the hotel was inspired by the Parisian flat of Garcia’s youth. The 168 rooms are residential in feel and decorated in his classic, timeless style. Each room is appointed with hand-selected, richly textured custom-designed furnishings and original artwork. The soaring ceilings throughout the public spaces provide a fine gathering place to enjoy dining, drinking and socializing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The NoMad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing