We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nomad No Longer”
Review of The NoMad Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The NoMad Hotel
Ranked #47 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Park City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Nomad No Longer”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This is a great hotel in a great location. The rooms are on the smallish side but very comfortable. The service was friendly and efficient and overall our stay was nice. We had meetings downtown and uptown and it was easy to get to both from this location. It is also an easy walk to Union Sq. and to Times Sq. making it perfect for this trip. This is not the Four Seasons or as well placed as the Mercer but everything was very good to excellent. The bar is fun and very well designed. Overall we enjoyed our stay and will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VoxVolpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    225
    37
    9
    8
See reviews for
87
378
53
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Cosy cocoon to cuddle in the most comfortable quilted bed, riding freely Amsterdam bicycles by the silver Hudson River, Sipping Singapore Slings on the roof terrace feeling like the Fitzgeralds for one evening, Bathing in Argan fragranced foamy bath after a day of saturated senses in Chelsea, homely tasty breakfast served by the sweetest and most attentive staff in the opulent art deco Veranda, it makes me all gooey inside just writting about it; just like the best chocolate souffle; there is never enough of it.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NattyLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This hotel is flawless. Brand new and attention to every detail. The bed/sheets are incredible, TV setup is perfect, room service food is makes it hard to leave! I will stay here everytime until they price me out.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jason h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

I come in and out of NY on a regular basis - I need a reliable, friendly, high quality, upbeat but relaxing oasis when I get there and the NoMad has exceeded my expectations on every visit. I love that all the rooms are different - a little surprise every time you stay - but the service is always the same, impeccable. And the roof garden....I hear is being converted to a function space for the colder months, but their Mai Tai is the BEST. The NoMad is a trusted friend.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CER82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2012

I stayed at the NoMad for one night during the Labor Day long weekend, and I specifically chose this hotel after reading about its grand opening in April.

Right in the heart of Manhattan, the NoMad is a bit hidden but very conveniently located. Upon checking in, the staff was extremely kind and I was pleasantly surprised to have been upgraded from an Atelier to a Salon.

The decor is dark and sophisticated, using rich fabrics, wood, and leather. My room was gorgeous and extremely spacious, complete with polished wood floors, huge doors, love seat and reading chair, bathroom with separate water closet, plush queen bed with luxurious bedding, and tasteful artwork everywhere.

I didn't even have time to eat at the restaurant, but the beautiful bar features a long mahogany slab and sexy details everywhere, not to mention excellent cocktails.

Overall, it was was wonderful to enjoy the rush and excitement of NYC, and then retire to a quiet, elegant place so conveniently located. I'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amocny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Very elegant hotel with beautifully designed and well appointed rooms.
The staff were very helpful and made the stay a pleasure.
The restaurant and bar are amazing so be sure to check them out for at least 1 night of your stay -you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afropolitchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern US
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

From the minute you arrive at The NoMad and are greeted by arguably the best, nicest doormen/valets in NYC you know you have made a wise choice in where to stay. A nicely appointed, albeit compact, lobby and recption area exudes charm and style. The front desk staff is friendly and efficient and gets you to your room quickly. Our room was the Atelier level and it was spotlessly clean, beautiful, not gigantic but it had a big feel to it and it was plush, soft fabrics everywhere that nicely contrasted with the wood floors (yes, beautiful refinished wood floors, where else you going to find that in NYC?). Bed and bedding was, for us, perfect, definately the Goldilocks bed.

Everyone we encountered in the hotel was extremely pleasant, all in all just a wonder overnight stay. WOuld recommend to even out most decerning close friends.

Room Tip: The neighborhood is still in transition so higher floor rooms on the Broadway side will present a mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trektaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Greenwich Hotel
Greenwich Hotel
#94 of 466 in New York City
524 reviews
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#53 of 466 in New York City
966 reviews
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#206 of 466 in New York City
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#77 of 466 in New York City
1,845 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#252 of 466 in New York City
774 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#69 of 466 in New York City
1,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The NoMad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The NoMad Hotel

Property: The NoMad Hotel
Address: 1170 Broadway, New York City, NY 10001-7507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The NoMad Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NoMad Hotel is housed in a turn of the century Beaux-Arts building that has been fully restored to its original grandeur with interiors by French designer Jacques Garcia. The hotel is intended as a fresh take on the classic grand hotels of Europe with a distinct New York sensibility. The design of the hotel was inspired by the Parisian flat of Garcia’s youth. The 168 rooms are residential in feel and decorated in his classic, timeless style. Each room is appointed with hand-selected, richly textured custom-designed furnishings and original artwork. The soaring ceilings throughout the public spaces provide a fine gathering place to enjoy dining, drinking and socializing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The NoMad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing