We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel”
Review of The NoMad Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The NoMad Hotel
Ranked #48 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
1 review
“Amazing hotel”
Reviewed 17 January 2013

The rooms were a fantastic French boutique. The claw foot bathtub was a joy to use. The room service was delicious, and the library bar area was probably my favorite thing there. Will stay again next visit!

Room Tip: I had a great view of the Empire State Building from my room which was only a few blocks away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Compbasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    226
    37
    9
    8
See reviews for
87
378
53
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Croissy-sur-Seine, France
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Located in the middle of all the action, near the flatiron building and Union Square, the NoMad is a trendy, v pricey, and very satisfying experience. My wife and I traveled there for my 40th birthday - a 5-day trip. Stayed on the 11th floor in a standard room.

Decor: The refurb that the French interior designer did is excellent, with great taste and amazing sourcing of stuff.

Food: the chef (Dec 2012) was fantastic. The food was pretty pricey, but definitely Michelin standard. Their speciality is roast chicken with some magic ingredients (truffles etc), which we didn't order. The burger from room service was excellent - much better than one of the top 10 NYC burgers that i tried earlier in the day, and not really that pricey. Defo worth going to the hotel to eat only. The bar looked beautiful but a bit cramped.

Location: It's not in the middle of everything, but half-way between downtown and uptown. Nice and quiet, and next to a subway stop so you can get up or downtown quickly.

Service: Shames the UK with its excellent customer service, as most places in NYC do. Not overly nice and too-polite but just right, with any info you needed immediately responded to.

In summary, an amazing hotel with perfect service, but be prepared to pay! A great experience...

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_EdVenture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orinda, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We were supposed to stay at a family member's spare bedroom in Chelsea for our trip, but my husband surprised me by whisking me from the airport by towncar to the Nomad Hotel. We entered the beautiful dimly-lit lobby and I instantly felt like I had entered the realms of a different era.
We were assigned a room on the second floor overlooking the glass rooftop of the resident restaurant and the exterior red brick walls of the other side of the hotel. There was plenty of sunlight to light up our room. I was really impressed with the details of the boutique hotel. Everything was designed to mimic the detailing of old design but was actually a modern fixture. For instance, the room access keys are tap cards; one step above the swipe card readers you might find at most modern hotels.
Once we entered the room, we took time to look at all of the beautiful touches such as the reclaimed hardwood floors, global art on the walls, antique-inspired push-button light switches with dimmers, expensive Persian(?) rug, furniture, drapery hangers (yes, seriously). The bathroom was spectacular with a modern octagon-shaped toilet with dual push-button flusher, marble hexagon tiles in the shower, dual shower heads, and handsome sink vanity with classy fixtures. The bathroom supplies were exquisite with Frette towels, pebbled goblets, Argan toiletries.
The bed was extremely comfortable with a plush-top mattress and down comforters and pillows. We declined the turn-down service so we didn't get to experience that.
We ate brunch/lunch at the in-house restaurant by the same people at Eleven Madison Park (one of the top restaurants in the city right now). The chicken sandwich on Brioche with Black Truffles and Foie Gras was to die for. We can't recommend it enough. The lobster salad was really good too, but too light on the salad portion.
Overall, this was an amazing experience and Nomad is my new threshold for boutique hotels. If you appreciate the details, definitely stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristiana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

We had a great experience when staying three nights at The NoMad hotel. The hotel is nicely located, it is very clean and the beds, sheets and pillows are awesome (one of the key things when you travel from the other side of the world... : )
The room pictures you see on the website matches the reality well. And I have to say we even felt that the room was even nicer than we thought beforehand.

The bar was also cool! Nice drinks and vibrant athmosphere.
Good job - will definately be back!
Travelled as a couple.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank selecta75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012 via mobile

I live in Asia at the moment, and when I say Asian standard, it's a compliment.

The NoMad is a normal hotel in most other ways - but there were several examples of really out-of-their-way service - including moving us when the room wasn't ideal. Luke was one of our heroes during our stay.

Other good bits ... Cool hotel with a quirky history, great location, good food.

Some thoughts ... In-room dining menu could be made a bit wider, and during our stay there were some noise issues (however management dealt with these really, well).

Room 414, or any of the 14s, is a good sized room for three people (two adults, one child).

Thanks

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank reklaw_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
just outside NYC
Level 6 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

We've already booked another night and we live 12 miles away which probably says it all. The NoMad is perfect if you grew up wanting to run off to Paris to write, read Rimbaud at a sidewalk cafe while sipping Pernod, and your idea of a perfect day was wandering the Left Bank searching for old photographs and antique post cards. It will conjure all that and more the second you step in the door. Yes, the doormen all look amazing because they're wearing suits by Bespoken. Yes, you should have thought about making a reservation for dinner when you booked your room, because it is Daniel Humm who conceived the casually perfect menu and the tables fill up early. But there's 24 hour rooms service to console if you just didn't know. Yes, it's dark. And dramatic. Just going to the public restrooms is going to feel like an adventure. Your bed is going to be heaven, the bath products divine (did you know that Argan oil comes from a tree so scarce it is protected by UNESCO?), and you'll probably start writing the Great American Novel from the little desk in your room (but on the iPad they'll lend you from the front desk, of course). Views outside as the sun sets remind you of Georgia O'Keeffe's NYC views as she was just warming up to what she would become. In short - this is a destination hotel - and is going to evoke all manner of things artful. The staff is suitably sublime.
My five stars are based on the hotel delivering exactly what it sets out to do. Is this the place to bring the kids? No. House your relatives from Schenectady? Not really. It will not be everyone's cup of tea, or latte which is just fine, or it would be come impossible to get a reservation. Which is just fine with me.

Room Tip: We had a suite and the bathrooms are truly spectacular. But we're going to try all the various r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jenskar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Visited for 10th anniversary stay in Manhattan. Conveniently situated between Macy's, the Flatiron building and the Empire State Building. The room was spacious and well laid out. Service was friendly and efficient and the hotel has a great bar area and other public rooms. Bell boys were prepared to move heaven and earth to get you a cap at the busiest times. recommended

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raymond H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Greenwich Hotel
Greenwich Hotel
#83 of 467 in New York City
524 reviews
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#202 of 467 in New York City
296 reviews
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#54 of 467 in New York City
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#80 of 467 in New York City
1,847 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#255 of 467 in New York City
774 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#68 of 467 in New York City
1,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The NoMad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The NoMad Hotel

Property: The NoMad Hotel
Address: 1170 Broadway, New York City, NY 10001-7507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The NoMad Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NoMad Hotel is housed in a turn of the century Beaux-Arts building that has been fully restored to its original grandeur with interiors by French designer Jacques Garcia. The hotel is intended as a fresh take on the classic grand hotels of Europe with a distinct New York sensibility. The design of the hotel was inspired by the Parisian flat of Garcia’s youth. The 168 rooms are residential in feel and decorated in his classic, timeless style. Each room is appointed with hand-selected, richly textured custom-designed furnishings and original artwork. The soaring ceilings throughout the public spaces provide a fine gathering place to enjoy dining, drinking and socializing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The NoMad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing