We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A room of my own ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The NoMad Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The NoMad Hotel
Ranked #60 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A room of my own ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Excellent experience in NYC. Newer hotel designed by famous French designer and one of the most comfortable rooms ever. Claw foot tub and great shower, perfect after a long day of sightseeing and lots of walking. Did not feel like a typical hotel room and the bed was wonderful. Loved this place.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    224
    37
    9
    9
See reviews for
85
366
53
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We went to travel around America with few business partners, we decided to try out all the Michelin three mission stars restaurants in whole August(New York only)!! Because we are all big foodies! This hotel comes out is the our favorite ever! we loved chatting to waiters, loved their professional attitude for service. And very good knowledge of food and wine!
Their signature dish truffle chicken for two is just beyond amazing!!! I loved every single dish I had! Cocktail list is pretty average, so skip that.
Did i mention how amazing this hotel looked?! Great location too~
In the end, this hotel is combination of awesomeness!!! LOVE IT!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StevenM77_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
106 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for seven nights with our five year old daughter. The staff are very accommodating and helpful. The hotel is beautifully designed. Food was delicious. Location was slightly disappointing. We often found it difficult to find food nearby for our daughter especially as the hotel didn't offer a child menu...

We had to request extra coat hangers and our main criticism is that the hotel is really set up for people who are staying for one or two nights. We were travelling for part business and part pleasure and for seven nights there wasn't enough space for us to keep all our clothes.

In summary we really enjoyed staying here. However in future I would probably go back to staying in Greenwich Village or Soho due to more going on in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed at the Nomad during a honeymoon trip to NYC. Part of our criteria when searching for a hotel was that we wanted to avoid somewhere so popular as a bar/restaurant venue, that as staying guests we felt sidelined. Although the Nomad did have an extremely popular and oversubscribed restaurant (and the bar was packed on busy evenings) we were always given some preferred treatment when booking, which was really appreciated.

This was particularly valuable because the area surrounding the hotel is very much an "up and coming" district (as we'd call it in London), and isn't exactly surrounded by upmarket restaurants. You will find great pizza and lunchtime food, but for every restaurant there are about a dozen "wholesale only" costume jewelry stores. This doesn't strecth far though; the flower district is a few blocks away, and there are three different metro lines within a ten-minute walk (one being right on the junction where the hotel sits). The flatiron building is a few minutes' walk.

We had an "atelier" room. It was beautifully decorated, with a varnished wooden floor, flowing curtains (plus blackout shades), a huge clawfoot bathtub and separate WC. It was by no means a very large room, but had a high ceiling and large windows overlooking the neighbourhood so felt spacious. There was (of course) a large TV. One of the only things I felt a bit lacking in the room was that the LG TV has such naff built-in speakers that the volume has to be constantly adjusted depending on what you're watching, and even at almost full volume, the sound quality means a lot of the effect of a film, for example, is lost.

All the staff gave us impeccable service. The dark, chic decor and layout of the hotel give it almost a mysterious atmosphere; there are no fluorescent-tube lines corridors here, but rather dark hallways with twists and turns, with the gym accessible through a practically unmarked door. Even the housekeeping staff walk around with what appear to be designer tote bags. The desk staff are a suave blend of formal and witty, with thin ties and thick rimmed glasses. Walking off the street into the hotel, you definitely feel like you are staying at a luxury place.

We would definitely go back here (it would definitely have to be for a special occasion!) and recommend highly to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YourLocalGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont-Ferrand, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We spent 3 days in NYC for our honeymoon. The Nomad hotel made our stay magical.
We particularly loved the view, the general style, the bath in the middle of the room and the location (next to the Empire State Building).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I stayed at the Nomad during a recent three day business trip. No one will mistake 28th Street for Fifth Avenue, but the location is fun (transitional might be a better term) in addition to being convenient to midtown. The Nomad is one of the few chic hotels that combine a great lobby/bar/restaurant with really good accommodations. The Library, Atrium Restaurant and bar are one of the best combinations in NYC. The lobby is simply a blast. It is the rooms that set the Nomad apart from its ever so hip competitors. I got a salon which was a great size (not huge) with nice finishes, hardwood floors and a big bathroom. I really like the Parisian apartment theme. The staff members were all excellent and accommodating. Those who do not like 28th Street will think that the price is very steep and will want to run back to Midtown. But this is NYC, 28th Street is funky fun, the rooms are great and the lobby/restaurant is one of the best scenes in town. I had a great stay.

Room Tip: I got an interior room. Lower rooms that face the street are going to be loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drew5353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We ate the truffle-stuffed chicken in the restaurant and it was the greatest chicken I've ever had in my life. Truffle-stuffed, with like, some other crazy stuff involved - they bring it table-side, and then they take it away and cut it all up and plate it. Amazing.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#47 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#43 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,309 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
Greenwich Hotel
Greenwich Hotel
#78 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#25 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,862 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#68 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The NoMad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The NoMad Hotel

Property: The NoMad Hotel
Address: 1170 Broadway & 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The NoMad Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NoMad Hotel is housed in a turn of the century Beaux-Arts building that has been fully restored to its original grandeur with interiors by French designer Jacques Garcia. The hotel is intended as a fresh take on the classic grand hotels of Europe with a distinct New York sensibility. The design of the hotel was inspired by the Parisian flat of Garcia’s youth. The 168 rooms are residential in feel and decorated in his classic, timeless style. Each room is appointed with hand-selected, richly textured custom-designed furnishings and original artwork. The soaring ceilings throughout the public spaces provide a fine gathering place to enjoy dining, drinking and socializing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Agoda, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The NoMad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing