We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Yorks "Hotel Costes"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The NoMad Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The NoMad Hotel
Ranked #47 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“New Yorks "Hotel Costes"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Lovely, classy hotel, which is a chip off the ole block from France's Costes!

Fantastic bar with nice eats and great service. Linens are exceptional and comfortable rooms although a little noisy if on street side, normal of course!

One last thing! Ask for JENNA at the restaurant, she is what hospitality is all about!!! Congratulations to who ever hired her!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glenn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    513
    220
    36
    8
    6
See reviews for
84
360
51
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

The decor in this hotel is lovely and very homey. Hardwood floors, first class prints and other drawings on the wall. Claw footed bathtub and separate shower and toilet compartments. A comfortable chair and lamp for reading. Free wifi that truly is high speed. The public spaces are quite pretty. Highly recommend the atrium for breakfast as staff is friendly and surroundings are a great way to wake up. The library space is also quite pretty and a good place for a drink and light food. The staff will reserve a table for you. Staff lacks that "I'm cool and you are not attitude" too common in NYC boutique hotels. For size of room, comfort, good staff, and feeling well taken care of, price is worth it. Would also recommend the hotel's restaurant. Food is delicious and service excellent; inventive food, not like normal hotel restaurant. Ask concierge to reserve for you well in advance. I've stayed in many hotels in NYC and rarely leave one feeling so well-taken care of and eager to return.

Room Tip: Suggest one of the atelier rooms for size and wonderful tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Think hardwood floors, French milled soaps, separate lavatory/shower a la European with white linens and comfortable beds and you've got the NoMad. While much higher price than some of the chain hotels, I'd say its worth the extra money. Let me describe my stay, which was on business travel, but I'd return for personal time as well.

At first you enter the NoMad through a non-descript black awning on Broadway near 27th. Greeted at the door, a confusing layout to find the front desk to check in. I arrived in the morning and was on my way to the office when they told me they actually already had a room available for me. Bonus.

Room was neatly appointed with pictures and postcards all framed depicting various towns in France - I stayed on the 12th floor which gave a good vantage point to the city. Layout included a separate toilet on one side of the room (right after entering) with shower and sink on the other side. The bed was the centerpiece I the room with a desk facing the window.

I enjoyed the amenities the next morning - the soaps and shower goods are great, not too overpowering on the scent and you feel clean and refreshed. Breakfast from room service was great, tried the oatmeal, mushroom omelette and breakfast sandwich on consecutive days and enjoyed them, though honestly I couldn't eat the entire breakfast sandwich as duck sausage is certainly an acquired taste early in the morning.

I lived having drinks in the library, where tables are reserved for VIPs and hotel guests.

I did have issues with the internet on my various devices and the room phone, but the hotel's staff and contracted IT firm got it sorted out after about 30 mins and two phone calls. I loved the personalized touch with follow up from the staff after my visit.

Looking forward to staying here again and recommend that other travelers give it a try. You won't be disappointed - if you are, just tell the staff, I'm sure they'll do their best to make sure you have an enjoyable stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank AlphaBravoCentauri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san juan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Really enjoyed the stay. The salon king room is very spatious, even with a twin rollaway. When you enter the room you do not feel you are in a cold, homogeneous hotel room, instead I felt as if I was in my own apartment room in NYC. Bathroom toiletries by Argo, loved them. The bed sheets were very rough! Would have liked to have drawers, a coffee maker and an extra luggage stand since I had to place my luggage and clothing on the chairs and sofa. For me the hilight was the restaurant! Divino!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blancapu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
107 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We had before a dining experience at the Nomad and we were enchanted by the decor and ambiance. Staying at the Nomad is a little bit different. Yes the food is still good and the staff atentive. Now the location is not the best neither for shopping or attractions. Madison Square Garden is 10 minutes walking but the streets surronding the hotel not very fancy. You have subway just in the hotel corner, you should use if you stay there. Rooms are nice and spacious but lacking amenities and a pool. The Gymn has about 6 elements and is small. Could be crowded in the morning. Our room temperature were difficult to stabilize so the first two nights we have to complain the reception. staff was candid and offered help but still it was not fixed at the first chance. Street noise at night could be disturbing. Somehow overpriced for the value you will be getting.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjfm1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

NOMAD

This is a hotel of the moment. Saunter into its moody lobby and you immediately know you are in with the in-crowd. The international flavor of the reception staff; the shades of grey and black on the arriving guests; the prices on the breakfast menu. But don’t be put off. This is a classy and a comfortable and a chic place to be. Door staff welcome you warmly. Reception is swift and polite – if a little lacking in charm. That would be uncool.
My room, on the 10th floor, owed a deal to the Belle Époque – claw-footed bath in the room, dark furniture, glass-shaded lights – and it feels like a touch of luxury. Big and quality bed. Cleaning efficient and crisp. The space itself bigger than many New York hotel rooms, it feels good value too. The location is terrific, with a view from my room to the Empire State Building towering above me, you could not dream of a more New York place to be in New York. Room Service is quick and reasonable and polite. Downsides? Well - breakfast is a bit of a fuss. The restaurant is high on the list of places to meet for social or business in NYC, just now, so even hotel residents need to queue. And then the menu – well it’s all a bit fussy. Depends on your taste, but if what you crave is a classic stack of pancakes and bacon then just round the corner is the Ace Hotel, which offers a wide ranging breakfast menu at a great price. And that is the way to use the NoMad – a great place to stay, a lovely bar to come back to at the end of the evening, and chic and helpful staff. Indulge the space, I understand the dinner is very special – just be happy to breakfast out.
Ask for rooms that look towards the Empire State and preferably on a higher floor.

Room Tip: Choose a room that looks to the Empire State, and on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FilmTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
144 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Very popular bar and restaurant with the locals so make sure I reserve a table for dinner if you are a hotel guest. Arrange tube staff and great food and service in the restaurant. Great penthouse rooftop space for private functions.
Rooms are small ( it's an old building) but decor is great with original wooden floors. Generally the lighting in public spaces is very dim but that is part of the vibe.
Very cool. Will be back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bevis6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#49 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
TriBeCa
Greenwich Hotel
Greenwich Hotel
#111 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#45 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#4 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#258 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The NoMad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The NoMad Hotel

Property: The NoMad Hotel
Address: 1170 Broadway & 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The NoMad Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NoMad Hotel is housed in a turn of the century Beaux-Arts building that has been fully restored to its original grandeur with interiors by French designer Jacques Garcia. The hotel is intended as a fresh take on the classic grand hotels of Europe with a distinct New York sensibility. The design of the hotel was inspired by the Parisian flat of Garcia’s youth. The 168 rooms are residential in feel and decorated in his classic, timeless style. Each room is appointed with hand-selected, richly textured custom-designed furnishings and original artwork. The soaring ceilings throughout the public spaces provide a fine gathering place to enjoy dining, drinking and socializing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotel.de, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your The NoMad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing