We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chelsea International Hostel
Nearby Hotels
The Watson Hotel(New York City)
US$208
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$212
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$308
US$274
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$347
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$313
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$515
US$412
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
NYLO New York City(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$322
US$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$204
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$310
US$243
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$210
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (668)
Filter reviews
668 results
Traveller rating
81
251
184
81
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
251
184
81
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbagelssingle private roomshower and toiletshared bathroomfree breakfastwalking distancegreenwich villagesafe areaair consubway stationcleaned dailytea and coffeetimes squarethe high linearound the cornermadison square gardencentral park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
253 - 258 of 668 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Booked a private room from 9-12 Oct. I had carried some research prior to my trip, and found it to be one of the most value for money accommodation available in NYC. The hostel room exceeded my expectations, having read some of the poor reviews on this site. Everything is clean and no-frills, which met my needs for a private space to rest after a day of exploring the city. While there is no air con, opening the windows slightly provides comfort in the cool Oct weather. No problems with mosquitoes unlike the other visitor on this site though.

The breakfast, while no-frills, is really quite filling and packs you with enough energy to last you till noon for sight-seeing. Staff does not seem friendly and welcoming, though they are polite and will answer your queries. Really quite satisfied with the hostel, given the rocket-high prices you need to fork out for a room in NYC. Strongly recommend this for the budget conscious and those who know clearly what they want out of a hostel.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with heavy luggage, rooms on the ground floor will be useful.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chungfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

I have stayed in this hostel on 4 separate occasions. So it can't be all that bad. However, this is more down to being familiar with the Chelsea area, as well as the prices of rooms being a LOT cheaper on the first 3 occasions. This time around, Sept 2011, a single bed is now $70/night. For this you get a old, rusty, noisey bed in a room with no A/C so you have to have the window open and I ended up with a dozen mosquito bites from my first night. Granted this was due to the extraordinarily warm weather but A/C would have made for a mosquito-less, decent sleep.

Your complimentary breakfast is a good notion although by no means diverse!

The service from the staff is less than satisfactory overall. I will not be staying at Chelsea Int'l again.

Oh - one more thing, the free comedy show on a Tuesday night - depressingly awful!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolfpackmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

I stayed there for 4 nights in early September and I have a mixed review for this hostel.

This hostel is splitted into a few sections within one building and it is an advantage trying to find the room.

The room itself. I traveled with my buddy so i booked one room with two single beds in it. Also a small closet (no hangers just shelf), a sink, and two half lockers. The air conditioning worked very well and the room was very chilled after walking all day in the City.

Common areas:

Washroom --> the first night there wasn't any hot water but came back for the rest of the stay. For our section of the building, there was a bathroom each floor shared between 4 rooms (~8 people). It is (almost) always spotless clean and i had no problem using them.

Cafe and courtyard --> the cafe is petty small for the size of the hostel but it was enough. Kitchen was fully equipped and clean. The courtyard is kinda nice for having benches and meeting people from around the world.

Breakfast --> One bagel with Jam and butter, One fruit, and unlimited cereal, milk, OJ and coffee.

Lockers --> This hostel doesn't store your belongs for your but they have paid lockers in the basement - which i thought was somewhat expensive.

Reception --> I saw there were a few staff in the office area and i didn't quite like the services from the male staff. There was one lady there and she was super nice. For check in/out, everyone was cramped into a narrow and hot hallway to wait their turn.

THE BAD

I booked my room through hostelworld.com with a price. When i got to the hostel, they did not honor that price saying that was outdated and they only use their version of pricing scheme - which was $100 USD more than expected. Please call the hostel to confirm the pricing before actually booking it.

I would stay there again but the pricing thing i would really watch out for next time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Ok I got to the hotel the guy at the reception could of been nicer and kept answering the phone so it took awhile to check in (but he was the only one in the office). Made my way up three flights of stairs with heavy luggage to try and find room D17 found that i had to go through D18 to get to my room. Got in and was surprised at what i saw - other reviews had given such bad impressions that i'd prepared myself for horrible old brown carpet, dirty white walls and rickety old bunk bed. What i found was a nice wooden floor and clean yellow walls. the air con was noisey but at least there was one (and it wasnt as noisy as i thought it would be based on reviews) - i left it on during the day and turned it off at night. there wasnt a locker in my room as i thought, they were down stairs and had to pay $3-$5 a day. also quite random having a sink in the room - handy to get ready for bed or a night out, annoying when u go to the loo before leaving the hostel then have to unlock to get back into room to wash your hands. Bedding and pillow was provided also there was free wifi in the common room and breakfast was free too - 1 bagel and 1 piece of fruit then unlimited juice, coffee and cereal. there was a kitchen people could use too. the subway was only 10 minutes away too or if you're on a budget like me it look me 30 minute to walk straight up 7th avenue straight to times square. had no problems with neighbour as thought it could be potentially dodgey. Also this hostel uses go link shuttles so i could get to and from the airport pretty easily! It was pretty cheap too! I had nice people in my room too! some people say the rooms look like prison cells - what if they do as long as you can sleep, you and your stuff is safe and you can get about to see the sights what does it matter. you're not spending the whole time in the room!!

Heres a run down:
Positivies -
cheap
bedding included
breakfast included
free wifi
kitchen available
fairly good location
fairly clean for hostel
shuttles

Negatives (if u could call them that) -
Rooms dont all have on suites
lockers arent free and down stairs
staff could be nicer
air con is noisy-ish
there is stairs
rooms with interesting layouts
maybe a bit of noise at night (hardly any)
prison cell-ish (apparently)

Room Tip: Book online at hostelworld.com inadvance.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AmieCarebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

This is the fourth time we have stayed at the Chelsea Int Hostel and it gets better each time.Form the time we check in until the time we leave we have nothing but praise for the staff that run the hostel.The facilities are always clean and tidy and every effort is made to made people feel welcome

Room Tip: The room we were in was a little noisey (aircon unit)but not unbearable
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wardell22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews