We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chelsea International Hostel
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hostel!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

After reading mixed reviews I didn't know what to expect, but for a hostel it was great. Perfect location! Room was clean - booked a single room - was at the front of the hostel, so a little noisy at night (sirens, road works and early morning garage truck), not sure if would be much different at the back. Had sink, locker (need own padlock), towel/linen and aircon. Shared bathroom and shower which were fine. No lifts so was hard work with suitcase. Breakfast was basic but free (bagel, cereal, fruit) & free pizza on Wednesdays! Would recommend & return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jt_2988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    233
    176
    77
    68
See reviews for
14
83
255
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I stayed there about one week while traveling through New York and I liked this place. The best thing is the location,just nearby 8th Avenue, metro, Train and Bus stations .Quite clean,with the big and all functional kitchen and free Wi-Fi almost at all the territory. Though it happens to meet there some rude stuff members or the locker that doesn't work, almost all the time it is full and has quite a considerable price,i still think that it is one the best hostels you can find in New York.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valeria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed in June in a single room with shared bath.
Absolutely no complaints about the price at all, and I think I got what I paid for, if not more! Definitely not disappointed with my stay!

The service from the staff on the front desk was fantastic, everyone was so friendly and helpful.
The hostel was quite clean, though because there was only one toilet on each floor, the toilet on my floor was blocked several times. Not too much of a problem, I just went to the toilet on the next floor, but a bit annoying. Not really the fault of the hostel though!

The rooms aren't pretty, or fancy at all, but for the price I wasn't expecting much. It was mustard yellow and very basic, but the bed was comfortable and the shelving and lockers gave me plenty of room to store all my things. It was also very nice to have the sink in my room.

Being June, the weather was warm, which meant the room got very hot. The air conditioner was fantastic, bit very noisy, and after being on for 10 minutes, the room was like ice. Of course, the air quickly heated up again when it was off. Hard to get the room to stay at an even temperature.

I stayed in a room facing the street and it was very noisy at all hours, which made it hard to sleep without earplugs. It was also very bright in the room, so I invested in an eye mask as well. Once I had these, I slept well, but the first night wasn't great.

I did get access to the wifi in my room which was awesome, though it was a bit intermittent. Of course, being as it was only supposed to be in the common areas, I was extremely pleased I have it at all!!

The cleaners were doing a great job every day, the place never looked dirty.

The location is amazing, only a 20 minute walk to Times Square! And I walked back every night and never felt unsafe at all.

I would not hesitate to stay here again!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I live in Boston and come to New York often, just because I love it! I always stay at the Chelsea International Hostel, in a private room with no bath.
It's a great value! The place is very clean, the people who work there are nice, and the location can't be beat.
You also get free breakfast! They have bagels, cereal, fruit, and coffee, and you can eat inside or in their courtyard at the picnic tables .
I really don't care about having a fancy room, as long as I have privacy and convenience, so this place is perfect for me!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

First, I stayed in a single room without bath. I have no experience with the shared dorm rooms here. But for $80 a night, including all taxes, I believe this is now the best value in Manhattan for a private single room. The rooms and hostel are extremely clean (cleaners were in the bathrooms at least twice a day and possibly more often). The bathroom/shower-to-room ratio for private singles without bath is excellent. Never ran out of hot water, no waiting. Amazing location, right smack in the middle of Chelsea in Manhattan with extremely convenient subway access to pretty much everywhere. Very quiet, gentrified neighbourhood.

Rooms may vary in size, because the place is a hodgepodge of separate buildings and weird layouts, but my room was actually huge, probably the biggest single room I've had in a hostel anywhere in the world. There is a sink in the room, and a closet (but no hangers), and an old gym locker that you can use to lock up your valuables while you are out, if you bring your own small-to-medium sized lock. In summer, each room has a window-mounted air conditioning unit that you can crank up for comfort, an absolutely essential feature in hot, humid New York City.

The downside? Beds are pretty firm, and if you're taller than 6 feet you may have a problem, because the beds are short, with metal headboard and footboard. As for hostel atmosphere, well, that's definitely not there...this is not a super fun, social hostel where it's easy to meet people, because of the scattered and very compartmentalized setup. It is a very quiet place, more like a budget hotel in nature. But if you are travelling alone and understand the concept of what a hostel single room without bath is meant to be (i.e. a basic, very private place to sleep and come and go as you please), and just want to do your own thing in New York City, I would certainly recommend a private single at Chelsea International Hostel.

Note also that you need a valid passport to stay here (even if you're American or Canadian) and that wifi is only available in one common area, not in the rooms.

Room Tip: Single private rooms without bath are the real value here. I had a room that was downstairs, with wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamblingGal42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed here as backpackers when traveling the East coast of the USA (we are from Australia). The rooms are TINY which you can see from the photos, the bathrooms are a bit grubby and it's fairly overpriced for what you get. The location is pretty central (Although a little sleezy), but what makes it good is the common area of the building in a little courtyard where everyone chats and exchanges stories and beers. Would probably recommend this is you're looking to meet people to hang out with, but not recommended for the actual premises.

Room Tip: A lot of the rooms are communal (We got a room for 4, because there were three of us, and half way t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I know ita manhattan,but paying 80 dollars a day to stay in a prison is imbarable!!beware that the rooms are small and dirty..that theres no wi fi in the rooms..that you ll have lots of stairs to climb..i wont be back,this place needs a reformation urgently

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramaral15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
#302 of 466 in New York City
1,206 reviews
Upper West Side
Hostelling International - New York
Upper West Side
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
#14 of 163 in New York City
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Jazz on Columbus Circle
Jazz on Columbus Circle
#15 of 163 in New York City
150 reviews
Midtown
The Vanderbilt YMCA
The Vanderbilt YMCA
#20 of 163 in New York City
1,305 reviews
Harlem
The Harlem YMCA
The Harlem YMCA
#23 of 163 in New York City
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea International Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea International Hostel

Property: Chelsea International Hostel
Address: 251 W 20th St, New York City, NY 10011-3501
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 163 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Chelsea International Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Chelsea International Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea International Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing