We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chelsea International Hostel
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

very well located. between three subway stations where you can go anywhere in ny (and easy to go to the airport).
you can walk easily to HighLine Park or Flatiron Building.
very secure neighborhood (the hostel is in front a police station).
The breakfast is simple, but ok (fruits, bread, juice, milk, coffee, corn flakes).
The bathroom is clean, a little bit small, but the shower is hot (i was there in the winter and i was affraid of take a cold shower).
The rooms are very simple, but ok to sleep (the room was to hot in the winter, that i could sleep with the window opened, but i don't know how it is in the summer).
The wi-fi reaches only the common areas.

My final review is: isn't the cheapest place to stay, but worth it for the location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    230
    173
    76
    67
See reviews for
13
82
254
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Paid $130 per night for a box room with 2 very old metal beds in it, a tiny sink and 2 lockers that you could pick up and take with you. The shower room was so small that you struggle to turn around in it, a shower was a real struggle!
The internet only worked in one aread of the hotel and they locked that up at 21pm at night so you couldnt get any wifi after that time!
There was one nice member of staff, the rest you felt you were putting them out just asking basic questions or asking for help.
It was extrememly noisy both from outside and inside the bedroom areas of the hostel, hearing police sirens all night from the police station over the road, which I know cant be helped but to add the loudness from the other tenants stayin there of a night is a real pain in the backside to get to sleep of an evening.
You basically pay for the area your staying in and thats all. I have paid less for better hostels.
Chelsea is a wonderful area and your basically within walkin distance to most things.
Love the area - NOT THE HOSTEL!
It needs a lick of paint, comfier beds, sound proofed rooms, wifi throughout, bigger shower areas and a basic overall revamp!
Also the kitchen area contains a 2-point hob (not a cooker) and only the front one works, 3 pans which the tenants tend to eat out of? (when there are numerous plates) No cuttlery and a few utensils... Extremely basic. Ah and only one fridge worked with NO freezer...
Would not stay again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Calmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I was warned that New York is expensive. I therefore chose this hostel as the advertised price fitted my pocket the best of all the other places I had looked at. The hidden costs killed me, though. The biggest "hidden" cost is all the various taxes you have to pay. These almost doubled the initial price. It would be so much easier if New York included all taxes and tips in the advertised price!

As for the accommodation: The hostel is clean, the staff quiet but effective and the neighbourhood is one of the nicer 'burbs of lower Manhattan (in my opinion at least). There are many eateries and grocery stores very close by as is a police station. Access to public transport from here is very easy too. The building is old and thus so are the amenities. The common area where guests can watch telly, gain access to the internet and where breakfast is served is cramped. The outside seating area (quad) consists of steel table and bench combos.

I booked a single room and must state that it resembles a cell more than a room. Thankfully there was a working air-conditioner, but in these tiny confines it became a rattling disturbance. The bed was fine, the linen clean and the room was swept almost daily. Included in the price was a "breakfast". This consisted of a bagel, a fruit, cereal and the most disgusting substance passed off as coffee.

All in all I did not spend much time in the room, but I am extremely disappointed at the price vs value for money. I am sure I could have checked into better facilities for that price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WindhoekWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

After travelling for a fee months and staying in various accommodation types I found that this hostel was one of the worse. We stayed in a twin private for 4 nights at a cost of $470; a room that consisted of cramped space, no curtains, the smallest shower/toilet to share with the whole building and no TV or Wifi in the rooms.
The breakfast was very basic and only ran from 8am-10am, the common areas are small, unclean and nowhere decent to relax along with being closed off at 11pm. Due to the Wifi access only being in the kitchen area and outside yard which again is closed at 11pm it can be difficult to keep connected or even socialise with others.
The staff behind the desk were at times rude and I felt when asking for fresh bedding and so on, they had to get of their backsides and do something.
The atmosphere in the hostel is stale, there is no interactions from the staffs and when you think you may have a nice time here from trading their website, you will be disappointed.
The only good thing of this hostel is the location, however with the subway being cheap enough and easy to use I would advise other travellers to book else where!! I never normally give a very negative review however this place really left a negative memory on my trip and a huge hole in my pocket with what could have been spent in a more friendly, clean and happy hostel!.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

As a couple travelling we wanted to stay at a hostel to meet other people and socialize. That's why we payed for a really bad room at this hostel when we could have gotten a room at a hotel for the same price.

The room had two simple beds, a sink and a locker. We also had our own bathroom. It was the size of a prison cell. This would have been ok if we didn't had to pay $130 per night to sleep here. It had aircondition that was located on the wall just above the one bed. We had to take turn to sleep in this bed because it was blowing cool air on the top of you the whole night and it was almost impossible to sleep because it made a lot of noise. Because of the warm weather we couldn't turn it off.

Wifi was only in the common areas and it was really slow. The time we were there we didn't see any activities by the hostel to get people to socialize. We thought we might meet some people at breakfast, but we stopped eating breakfast there after the first morning. You get a dry bagel, a piece of butter and jelly (that wasn't enough to cover the bagel) and an apple. There was also cereal and coffee. Of course you have the option to buy your own stuff and make a better breakfast, this again was a disappointment because of the price we payed.

This is probably an ok hostel for those who pay less to sleep in rooms with more people and shared bathrooms. It all comes down to this- the price we payed did not match what we got. All other hostels we have stayed at have been better.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathrine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here at the start of July for 4 nights. Ideal location, price although expensive for a hostel is reasonable in manhattan. The common area was great for socialising especially as I was there on my own. Breakfast was basic but did the job. Would definitely recommend to others and would revisit again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Scuz02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed here for 8 nights, and it was overall a great hostel. Located in the Chelsea neighborhood, there are a couple of subway stations and various convenience stores blocks away. The common area is spacious and allows meeting other people easily.

On the other hand, there were a couple of drawbacks: the facilities are a bit old and they could use extra maintenance; the staff was a bit rude, although they provided help and guidance whenever requested; and the hostel provides few activities to stimulate social interaction between guests.

Nevertheless, it's a good place to stay in!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camilo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
#292 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Upper West Side
Hostelling International - New York
Upper West Side
Jazz on the Park
Jazz on the Park
#23 of 166 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Vanderbilt YMCA
The Vanderbilt YMCA
#22 of 166 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Midtown
Jazz on Columbus Circle
Jazz on Columbus Circle
#18 of 166 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Harlem
The Harlem YMCA
The Harlem YMCA
#25 of 166 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea International Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea International Hostel

Property: Chelsea International Hostel
Address: 251 W 20th St, New York City, NY 10011-3501
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 166 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Chelsea International Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Chelsea International Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea International Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing