We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tucked away, just off Canal St.”
Review of Pho Pasteur

Pho Pasteur
Ranked #2,741 of 13,743 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Neighbourhood: Chinatown
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Chinatown
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Tucked away, just off Canal St.”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

What a nice (small) spot. Family owned, hands on... love it. Lemongrass shrimp, shrimp wraps, noodle soup.
Tight and friendly here.. we will be back.

Helpful?
Thank Glen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    30
    12
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Authentic Vietnamese food”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Excellent food and great sevice!
If you are looking for real and authentic Vietnamese food this is the place. In the heart of Chinatown. Order the Alovera juice!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nati S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A little Vietnamese place in NYC Chinatown”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Pho Pasteur is a simple, unassuming Vietnamese restaurant at the southern outskirts of the Manhattan Chinatown. Clean interior appears inviting. The fare is typical for that cuisine, thoroughly familiar to me from my Windsor, Ontario years. Good lunching place for tourists sightseeing that part of New York City. My favorite appetizer - shrimp rolls wrapped in rice paper and served with peanut sauce – were as good as they come. That was followed by a portion of delicious Wonton soup – in spite of being ranked as “medium” in the menu – a fairly large bowl of it for one person. Main dish consisted of grilled pork served on the bed of rice noodles and very fresh bean sprouts, accompanied by a slightly acidic dressing containing shredded carrots. Service is a bit on the casual/informal side, but in that price range this is acceptable. For fans of inexpensive oriental foods - one cannot go much better.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janek777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always enjoy our NY trips..”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

As always a delicious, reasonable lunch here.
Shrimp rolls, unfried followed by a seafood and rice dish and a shrimp pho soup. Tea of course, under $20.place was full at1pm.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hfettuccini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Photastic!”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I fell in love with Pho during the month I spent in Vietnam. Now I have to have my Pho fix. I made a list of Vietnamese restaurants in NYC with the goal of finding the best vegan Pho in NYC. This is the 3rd restaurant I have visited on my list and the Pho was delicious like I was back in Mui Ne. I gladly paid .75 cents extra for the vegetable broth which was superb. The tofu and veggies were fresh. All the add ons (sprouts, limes, chilies, basil etc) were there. I also had the fried vegetable spring rolls and they were delicious too. Meal tax and tip was $15 a great value in NYC. The only disappointment is no fresh coconut (can). Nonetheless I will be returning Pho sho!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sister_phobia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pho Pasteur also viewed

 

Been to Pho Pasteur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing