We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy location and clean. We will return.”
Review of Windsor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Windsor Hotel
Ranked #442 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Handy location and clean. We will return.”
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We needed a place to stay to catch an early flight so we didn't want to spend a lot. I think my wife found the Windsor on hotel.com so we weren't sure what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised. The rooms are small - but that is to be expected in a big city - but they were clean and nice and the staff had a car waiting for us at 4:15 a.m. When staying in NYC, it's hard not to spend a ton on lodging. This place wasn't cheap but considering the horror stories of cheap hotels in the city, it was definitely nice! As for price, the walk-up price is quite a bit more than the online hotel sites quote so worth the extra effort.

Room Tip: Our room had a double and a single for three people, which was fine for one night and kept the price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArkansasAmtraker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    59
    76
    34
    62
See reviews for
69
64
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2012

After flying in from Australia via Seoul (24 + hours) we arrived at the hotel with vouchers in hand, eager for a bath and bed, only to be told that our reservations had been cancelled! When questioned, the staff member said 'someone' had called and cancelled our rooms twice, first on the 8th then 11th December. We did no such thing. And who would call twice to cancel? Dodgy hotel! When we asked if they could call a taxi for us the non-English speaking staff kept saying "hotel full, you go find other hotel" Never returning here!

Room Tip: Service was non existent except to tell us there was no room for us.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hasselt, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2012

A pretty basic hotel for that kind of money. Bed was ok, bathroom was tiny, faucet wasn't easy to operate, room was all in all pretty small, there's a desk there with a chair, but you could hardly sit on it as you were so close to the bed. Room was very clean though!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Davy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yukon
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We were very worried about this place, because of all the negative reviews, bugs, etc. We really had no problems here. It is a budget hotel, so do not expect more than that. The room was small, but the bed was comfotable enough. There was a November blizzard raging outside, but we were plenty cozy. Staff were helpful with restaurant picks. It is a decent location for lower manhatten. We walked to the World trade center location, ran to Battery Park, etc. Good subway connections within a few hundred yards of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldyuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Whatever you do, don't book here. Awful service, nobody listens to you. We got bitten by either bedbugs or fleas, red bites all over my hands and arms. Tried to tell the staff about it and ask whether it had happened before, but they just denied it. When we looked it up on internet, we saw several others that had been bitten at the same hotel, with management ignoring them.
Dirty towels and rooms, small spots everywhere. Don't come here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LiVidn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Three of us (Early 20's) were over at end September for 6 nights, we had a very enjoyable stay at the Hotel, no bed bugs or anything like that, room was very clean, serviced every day, lots of toiletries in bathroom (toothpaste, soap and shower gel)

The beds were comfy enough and the shower was excellent, plus our room had a view of the Empire State Building (Think you will need to get a room on the corner, number *02 dependant on what floor you're on (We had 2 double beds)

Anybody saying that the room was too small is talking nonsense. Three of us were in one room and there was more than enough room for us.

If I come back to NY, I will definitely consider to staying here, as will my friends. The staff were very courteous and polite and there are 2 subways stations within the area (Grand St is 1 minute walk, yes, 1 minute! and Bowery is 2-3 minutes.

Fantastic budget hotel that gets all the basics right.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a corner of two extremely quiet side streets, there were no noise issues whatsoever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Stayed one night on a business trip. Got there at 10:30PM to find that because it had been raining, there was a leak in a room which forced them to put me in a basement room with a shared bathroom - not what I wanted to deal with. The room seemed clean (I checked for bedbugs after reading another Tripadvisor review after I booked the hotel) and had a tile floor, which I was glad to have. But it was barely big enough to hold the double bed, chair and table (with a TV on it) that it had. No hooks on the wall, so nowhere to hang anything. The "bathroom" was a small room with a toilet, sink and shower head sticking out of the wall - fortunately there were disposable slippers that I was able to shower in.

I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#389 of 467 in New York City
631 reviews
Manhattan
Off Soho Suites
Off Soho Suites
#374 of 467 in New York City
267 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mimosa
Hotel Mimosa
#413 of 467 in New York City
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#439 of 467 in New York City
223 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#437 of 467 in New York City
838 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#430 of 467 in New York City
1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel

Property: Windsor Hotel
Address: 108 Forsyth St, New York City, NY 10002-5102
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #442 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Windsor Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing