We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprising” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of World Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
World Hotel
Ranked #447 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Surprising”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

This is a hostel. Forget you even see the world hotel, it is tight quarters and a shared bathroom. Not going to be a family destination but for college students and the ever flexible backpackers - this is perfect. The place smells of bleach so forget the "dirty comments" everyone leaves. The rooms are very small but guess what? There's a bed and a TV. What more do you need in the city? The location is central Chinatown with subways close by. If you're expecting the Ritz-Carlton you should probably keep moving but if you want a cheap, clean, semi-cramped place to crash while in the city look no further.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ibecaitlinmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    14
    50
    58
    220
See reviews for
31
76
102
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Location is good, but the personal does not clean the room after you left. My friends and I stayed five days,guess how our room look last day.
Also some guest were very annoying, I felt bad because was not fault of personal hotel.
Even is a cheap hotel, they make an advertisement to guest must being polite with other guests.


  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Aurora Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Simply avoid it...
The attached pictures show the stained bed sheets and pillows we were provided. You can also observe the humidity stains present on the ceiling which due to mold are a significant health risk. The bathrooms were abysmal and the hotel hall had a cleaning cart filled with cigarettes as it was apparently being used as an ashtray by the people smoking on the hallways.

We booked this via Hotels.com and paid $680.70 for our stay during a conference at New York. It all went vain as neither the Hotels.com or the hotel administration allowed us to cancel the reservation (even with a penalty).

Having seen the room we only spent few hours there (we were looking for another place to stay).

Advice friends too to avoid this...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Student_in_Miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdeburg, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

My friend and I stayed here for two nights and had one of the worst experiences that we ever could have. The room was barely the size of a closet and it was dingy. The light wouldn't work at first, we had to flip the switch on and off and least 10 times to get the light to turn on. Then when we shut the light off at night, we could see all the pipes through the missing ceiling tile above us.
The walls were so thin, we could hear a couple down the hall arguing and having loud sex, which was just plain vial. We arrived to find that the telly had only three channels, nothing like what we saw advertised.

We were okay with this, as we just wanted a place to sleep for the night, but when we saw the bathroom, we were in utter shock. It was disgusting! There were a pair of dirty women's kickers hanging up in the bathroom as if they were a kind of a wall accent. The shower was filthy and there was black mold on the sides of the shower, the bottom and even up the wall. The toilet had urine on it and was worse than public bathrooms in a third world bordello! My friend who has asthma suffered in the bathroom when she needed to take a shower. Even the average person, who has no sort of breathing or lung issues should not be exposed to this kind of danger. The place was dirty and is not fit for ANY human to stay in. It has to be the worst hotel experience I have ever had in my life.

Room Tip: Avoid this place like the plague.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anja891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Had to stay here for 1 night.

Was hot and sweaty when I arrived, and wanted a shower and head to bed.

Room was a glorified, converted wardrobe, with just enough room for a bed and that's it.

Went to use the communal toilet, which was blocked, so had to to the business in the shower. Just as well I didn't need to empty my bowels, otherwise I would have been in a pickle of a jam.

Very weary about sleeping on the bed, although it looked clean. Got about 3 hours sleep, fully clothed including my shoes. Didn't want to take any chances.

Got out of there early morning and on to my next hotel.

Is in a decent location in Chinatown and close to Little Italy, so can't complain there. Cheap compared to other accommodation, but still expensive when you consider what you get.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rudowm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

This was the most discusting closet of a room I have ever stayed in. No a/c or even a fan. I proped the window open with a water bottle.Not worth $20.00, never mind the $150.00. You share a bathroom with everyone on that floor. The toilet was broken have the time. You have to walk up five flights of stairs.NO elevators.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mailladymissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

Before booking for this hotel, I've spent a lot of time reading all these reviews saying ''Unclean, loudy, hellish hostel'' but I had no other choice, being only 19 years old. We went there knowing it wouldn't been paradise and we were very surprise. It was clean, the room was just fine. The walls were indeed thin, but if your neighboors are correct, this should not annoy you. Unfortunetly, in the 4 nights we slept there, only the last night did the neighbors stayed relatively quiet. Sometimes they would sing or talk really loud. We asked for staying on the first floor and had like the first room (the 203) on the right. The staff was fine, there wasn't any line up for the bathrooms, and these were clean. There was a ventilation trap just above the bed, which brought some annoying lights during the nights, but we could sleep relatively good, with some earplug. Good location and the best price in manhattan if you don't want to sleep in the same room of total stranger (even if sometimes it kinda look this way..).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#435 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#386 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#400 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#317 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#434 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#230 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about World Hotel

Property: World Hotel
Address: 101 Bowery, New York City, NY 10002-4900
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #447 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — World Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
World Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing