We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful hotel in Chinatown. Avoid it.”
Review of World Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
World Hotel
Ranked #450 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awful hotel in Chinatown. Avoid it.”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Well, I knew it had to have some tricks the fact that a hotel in NYC could be so cheap. And still I was shocked when I walked in there. I went with a friend and we got just one bed (we couldn't even fit both) in the 5th floor. Too many stairs and all of them smelled like crap. No cleaning and Wifi worked only in the mornings. Staff tried to be helpful but they hardly speak english, so it was worthless asking for something to them. Our room had a very bad smell everyday and the bathroom was very dirty and creepy. I would recommend to pay some extra dollars and get at least a clean room where you can sleep.well. Views from the broken window were awful too.

Room Tip: Better ask for a room in the ground floor if you dont want to walk up the stairs. Avoid this hotel i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Guillermo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    14
    51
    58
    224
See reviews for
32
76
103
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I was a little bit shocked when I got the key and opened the room. The room is so small. The bed is half the size of a twin size bed, no window, hit and miss wifi. For a person who will just spend a night in NYC on a budget yeah why not. Restaurants are all around the area which are cheap and good food. No heavy luggages for there is no lift. No phone inside the room.Only payphone on the hallway near the stairs. Bring your own toiletries including towel. They provide a medium size towel tooth brush, sachet shampoo, slippers, toilet paper. If you are staying in the shared bathroom, get up early. Yes holes on the walls. Noises can be heard. No air conditioning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clover74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

As expected, rooms are tiny but they aren't clean. They don't clean your room during your stay. I asked them to replace the towels and sheets, they did this on the first occasion, but not on the second.
Upon check in, it appeared the sheets had not been changed from the previous guest, appearing sweat stained and having hairs on them. The blanket supplied was threadbare-the replacement was the same. The quilt thing then given had the stuffing coming out and was double size for a single bed. Even the clean sheets had hairs on them! The beds are small, anyone taller than 5'6" will have to adopt the foetal position!
While the rooms are just about passable, marginally better than sleeping on the subway, noise levels in the hotel are unacceptable. The clientele didn't care about other guests-you will be awake by 7am-though it is essential to be up by this time to avoid queues for the toilets/showers. There are clearly not enough facilities for the numbers of guests
The toilets are absolutely grotty and piles of hair abound. Ladies shave their armpits and leave their hair around in the shower. I dreaded having to sit on the lavatory. It is essential to wear flip flops in the shower-I avoided trying to touch surfaces as much as possible.
Trash is left on the stairwell,-staff were unconcerned when I said this was a fire hazard and it was still there in the morning. Finally, people smoke in the building and the mop buckets are used as cigarette bins. Best to avoid this 'hotel'.
I'm amazed that this hotel hasn't been shut down by the City. In the UK, this place would be shut down immediately. I have never experienced anywhere as bad as this. I'm not picky-I just wanted somewhere to crash, but this place is filthy-you just want to get back as late as possible and get out as early as possible. I should have heeded the reviews!

Room Tip: A bigger room is still very small. You still have to share the grotty facilities which means a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

I am quite easily pleased when it comes to hotels, i just wanted a cheap hotel and a place to sleep, but this place is a joke and that bad that its funny, we paid extra for private restroom but the toilet was blocked, shower did not work and sink and bath had no plug! The lamp was a fire hazard as it melted shade, there was graffiti on the floor and holes in the wall, the floor was dirty, the rooms were like toilet cubicals whereby all noise is easily heard, had to buy ear plugs in order to sleep, the hotel dont police the noise, this place is terrible, avoid this place like the plague, the rooms are obviously not serviced and maintainaned, the rooms do have tvs and wifi and the beds were clean at least.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mark_R_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We werent expecting great things considering the price. We simply required a place to sleep, oh how wrong were we! I couldnt sleep for three days. The walls are paper thin, the ceiling tiles are rotten, we could hear all other guests talking all night even the ear plugs we bought didnt help. Previous guests had written "I can hear people snorting coke" on the floor! was more like a hostel, jail! The room was filthy, lamp melted and blew, toilet threw sewage up and was unusable and shower didnt work considering we paid extra for ensuite we werent happy. The communal toilets were infested with filth. Pay the extra and stay elsewhere!! Dont ruin ur trip with this hell hotel. Oh almost forgot the location is awful.

Room Tip: Dont stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jojo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Trip Advisor and Priceline should be ashamed of themselves for having this garbage on their site. Linens were dirty, hair on pillows, dirty stained bedspreads. No bathroom, no air conditioning, small fan on wall with no breeze. No window, TV that gives 5 stations, 3 in Chinese, the other 2 useless. Sharing bathroom. No closet or place to hang clothes. Horrible and worst experience of my life. $129 for a double bed in a 8x10 room. Prison cells are a 5 star compared to this. If I could put a negative rating it would be -10

Room Tip: go somewhere else. there is nothing good about this place. it is a waste of money. filthy dirty, gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ME124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#436 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#387 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#393 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#300 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#228 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#437 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about World Hotel

Property: World Hotel
Address: 101 Bowery, New York City, NY 10002-4900
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #450 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — World Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
World Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing