We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Ranked #161 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Very reasonable price for NYC. Two subway lines are within 1 block and a few others within 2 blocks - great location for getting around NYC. Convenient location without being in a super busy area. The rooms are small, but clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank michaelmQ7562MQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyson W, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your review! We are very happy that you found our hotel convenient during your recent stay in NYC. Please come back to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    849
    695
    161
    49
    27
See reviews for
530
490
149
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I very much enjoyed my stay. We felt safe there. The breakfast food was always well prepared and the hot foods were hot and cold food were cold. The staff knew their stuff and were very helpful. Very pleasant and accommodating people.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Joan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyson W, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your breakfast and felt comfortable here. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

The hotel and staff were very nice...Complimentary freshed baked cookies every evening for the guests. The rooms were comfortable and clean. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and recommend it to my friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyson W, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your kind words! The cookies are always a big hit with our guests, and I am happy you agree! Please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conway, Arkansas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

I needed a hotel for the Javits apparel show and we have come to like this Chelsea area. The Hampton was convenient to some nice local restaurants and not too far to walk uptown or get a low cost cab to lower Manhattan. The room was well designed but small as we expected. Wifi was included along with a decent breakfast. The staff was very nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mlefler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyson W, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your review! We are very happy that you stayed with us and enjoyed your time here while in town for the Apparel Show. We hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Pros:
-The location was excellent for what we needed it for (major attractions) but not overly congested. Whole Foods and Jamba Juice are at the corner and good for something quick and healthy.

-Price was reasonable for the location and type of hotel.

-The room was pretty much clean. Contemporary/Modern styled was decent.

Cons:
-Very small hallways. If you had a corner room, you could hardly get the luggage rack in your room without tearing up the walls. That's not the workers fault but it's good for people to know. I know it's NYC but if they took away one room on the floor when they built it, it really wouldn't have been that big of a deal.

-The breakfast area is very tight and not layed out correctly. A simple rearrangement of some items is all it will take. Also, the waffle iron needs to be cleaned more. I stood there watching several people allowing their kids to make waffles and they were not being very sanitary. Adults either for that matter.I think the staff needs to stand guard at the waffle maker area to ensure sanitary conditions. I took it upon myself to clean it with some hot water from the coffee area and some napkins.

-The one gentleman (don't remember his name) at the front desk was a little snobby. You ask him a question and basically answered with a sarcastic remark. Just stick to basic customer service and leave the sarcasm out.

-Elevators were extremely slow and it didn't seem as if it was because of how many floors they had, it just seems like it needs to be upgraded/serviced.

Overall, there was nothing special about the place. It wasn't bad. I would stay there again, if the hotel I really wanted wasn't available basically it was nothing to call home about. Because we only stayed there one night, I was ok with being there. But any more than one or two nights, I would have started to get irritated.

Room Tip: Stay on a higher level for a better view but be prepared for a long wait on the elevator or just tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyson W, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your honest feedback. We are constantly looking for ways to improve our hotel and guest experience, so the comments you shared are very helpful. Please be ensured they will all be looked into and hopefully improved upon. Please let us know if you will be staying with us again soon so we can make it a more enjoyable, memorable experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I recently stayed at the Hampton Inn Chelsea for a girls weekend and it was an amazing experience. The staff were exceptional and went above and beyond fulfilling all of our requests. You can beat the location as it's 20 blocks to Times Square or 20 blocks to Soho and never more than a $12.00 cab ride to mid-town or down town. Also, the complimentary breakfast was fantastic, truly a great value for the room rate we paid. I will definitely be recommending this hotel to friends and family and will be back myself for many stays...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyson W, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your awesome review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us during your girls' weekend. Please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

The room smelled. The staff were very personable to everyone except for me. I was completely ignored and required to wait until exactly check-in time, even though several people were simply put into upgraded rooms and allowed to check-in early.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank chadewick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyson W, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
I am so sorry you were not happy with your experience here at our hotel. We do our best to accommodate each and every guest as soon as a room is ready. Please feel free to contact me directly at alyson.white@hilton.com to discuss your concerns and see what we can do to fix it. I hope you hear from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#172 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#173 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#160 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#52 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#213 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
Chelsea
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#303 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Address: 108 West 24th Street, New York City, NY 10011-1902
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Green Hotel in New York City
#67 Family Hotel in New York City
#146 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#153 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 20-story hotel located in the trendy Chelsea neighborhood between Sixth and Seventh Avenues provides the perfect location for travelers looking to stay in the city. Start your day early with our complimentary breakfast then head out to famous attractions like Madison Square Garden, Times Square and Central Park. Enjoy world class shopping with a visit to Macy’s or family fun at the Chelsea Piers Sports and Entertainment Complex. Dine at world famous restaurants, catch a Broadway show or browse the neighborhoods numerous art galleries.After a day of taking in the sights and sounds of New York City, relax in a comfortable Hampton bed® and watch your favorite shows on our 32 inch LCD HD TVs while you send photos to your family using our free high-speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea Hotel New York City
Manhattan Chelsea Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Chelsea
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing