We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Ranked #161 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Skelmersdale
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in a good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2009

I`ve just returned from this hotel and I cannot recommend it enough. I had absolutely no problems whatsoever. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are very nice indeed and the breakfasts are complimentary and up to standard. It also had free wi-fi which was available from the room.
If I were to be hyper-critical I might point out the lack of a bar was slightly disapointing, but there are many bars within easy walking distance, as indeed were local attractions such as Madison Square Gardens, Times Square and Macys.
I have to say I really enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garry_Morgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    866
    706
    163
    50
    28
See reviews for
542
490
156
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2009

great stay here. good size room,spotlessly clean,maid every day.booked a king size bed which really was a king size. breakfast was included in price which saved us about a hundred quid.free internet is provided which made it easy for checking restaurants ,directions,tours etc.hotel is situated in a quiet area within walking distance of mid town,broadway,the empire state,madison sq gardens,greenwich and west villages.very little street noise in this hotel at night,not like other midtown hotels we have been in.overall had a great stay here which made our holiday

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greergrouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2009

Booked with Travel Republic for a stay in this hotel over Easter 2009. Two adults and two teenagers shared a twin queen bedded room which was was clean and quiet. The beds were extremely comfortable with the linen changed at least once in our 5day stay. Fresh towels every day. The extensive complimentary breakfast was a great bonus which avoided the need to seek breakfast elsewhere.
There were a variety of restaurants locally situated - Olive Garden and Outback Steakhouse to name two - as well as several fast food outlets so eating locally in the evenings not a problem.
Located about 1 mile from Times Square and 1/2 mile from Macys and Empire State. JFK to 23 Street Subway station ( two blocks away) took less than 1 hour using Air Train link and cost only 7 dollars each with staff at Jamaica Station to offer assistance. Not so good of course if you have large luggage.
Although not so close to the main attractions as some hotels the Hampton Inn Chelsea provides good quality, clean, quiet and comfortable en-suite family rooms (4 people), including breakfast, at a price little more than that charged by some of the budget hotels with shared facilities. Will definitely use again on our next visit to The Big Apple.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayBrits317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
145 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2009

Good price and good location in Chelsea/Flatiron district.
I can never get the wireless internet to work on my laptop, but the cable connection was fast enough.
Room was fairly small, typical for NYC non-suite. Clean and bed was comfortable.
Breakfast was good, eggs, sausage, cereal, etc.
Fitness room has no weights or cable machines, only stairmaster, cycle and treadmills.
Only a couple blocks from the 1 subway and the NRQW lines.
Madison Square Park is a block away and the famous Shake Shack burger stand.
Also, try Waldys pizza on 6th b/w 27th and 28th. Awesome wood-fired pizza.
Whole foods also on the corner.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjd50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2009

I´m from Oporto, Portugal, I went to this hotel with 3 more friends and were staying 5 nights, all in the same large room, in two queen-size beds, very confortable, with great city views and Free wireless internet in the room.
The Hot breakfast is very complete. Have always different types of coffee to choose from, fresh fruit every day, and several cakes.
This is a fantastic central Hotel!! Hampton Inn is a newly constructed twenty story high rise with a contemporary decor and high tech amenities. I have nothing negative to the point of this hotel…
The staff is friendly, courteous, always ready to help!!

I would like come back to New York City to this Hotel Again!! :-)

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Epifânio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, Lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2009

My Fiancé and I, together with two of our friends have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Hampton Inn Manhattan and I can honestly say that I have nothing negative to report. I cannot fault the hotel in any way - the staff were obliging, friendly, courteous and knowledgeable. Upon entering the hotel there was always a friendly face to greet us. They were happy to help with our queries as to where certain landmarks were and how to get to them; they even ordered our return taxi to the airport free of charge (the taxi also turned out to be a limo for the same price!)

The rooms are cosy with huge, extremely comfortable beds and brand-new televisions. They are maintained to a high standard and are cleaned daily, making them spotless. The soundproofing is fantastic and we hardly heard the hustle and bustle outside.

I believe that any complaints in relation to the free breakfast are completely unfounded, especially since it was free of charge. The variety was unbelievable - croissants, muffins, many varieties of doughnuts, eggs, omlettes, sausage, salami, toast, fruit salad, yoghurts and much more. The breakfast was constantly being replenished and was always fresh - for those who do not have the time to sit and eat breakfast, the hotel also provide complimentary breakfast bags in the lobby.

The hotel provided wi-fi free of charge and have two computers in the restaurant area for patrons to utilise. This was great for any last minute searches or the checking of emails.

The area is fantastic and is in close proximity to Madison Square Gardens, Macys and the Empire State Building.

Thank you so much to all at the hotel who made our stay absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MissRay3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Mass.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2009

Was willing to within a a few neighborhoods in New York on a recent trip. Went to Priceline and chose 2 stars or higher and they took me to this hotel. It was exactly where I wanted to stay. The room overall was very clean. Comfortable bed. The free breakfast the next morning was a pleasant surprise...plenty of selection, including Belgian waffles. The only downside was the fact that we were given a small room with one bed (but given that it was a Priceline room and a New York hotel, I'm not really going to be too upset about that). If you book directly with Hampton, I'd recommend ensuring what kind of room you want when you make your reservation. Overall, a good selection...even if it was made for me!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ManorSwim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#186 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#168 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,843 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#165 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#68 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#52 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#123 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Address: 108 West 24th Street, New York City, NY 10011-1902
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Green Hotel in New York City
#66 Family Hotel in New York City
#145 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#152 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 20-story hotel located in the trendy Chelsea neighborhood between Sixth and Seventh Avenues provides the perfect location for travelers looking to stay in the city. Start your day early with our complimentary breakfast then head out to famous attractions like Madison Square Garden, Times Square and Central Park. Enjoy world class shopping with a visit to Macy’s or family fun at the Chelsea Piers Sports and Entertainment Complex. Dine at world famous restaurants, catch a Broadway show or browse the neighborhoods numerous art galleries.After a day of taking in the sights and sounds of New York City, relax in a comfortable Hampton bed® and watch your favorite shows on our 32 inch LCD HD TVs while you send photos to your family using our free high-speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea Hotel New York City
Manhattan Chelsea Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Chelsea
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing