We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not miss Big Onion Tours!”

Big Onion Walking Tours
Ranked #33 of 643 Tours in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Since 1991, Big Onion has been leading informative, award-winning, and innovative walking tours of New York's historic districts and ethnic neighborhoods. All tours are lead by PhD candidates in American history or a related field. Big Onion has been called "The Best Walking Tour in New York" by New York Magazine; "Best Place to Take Out-of-Town Guests" by The Village Voice; and "One of the best urban walking tours in the world" by Forbes. Big Onion is an approved educational vendor for the NYC Department of Education and a Programming Partner with both the Brooklyn Historical Society and the South Street Seaport Museum. We are proud to be a 2012, '13 & '14 winner of the TripAdvisor "Certificate of Excellence". We offer public "show up" tours year-round and an advance calendar, accurate tour descriptions, meeting sites, etc. Most of our walks do not require reservations.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Metropolitan museum tour was fabulous! My second Big Onion experience, the first was Brooklyn Bridge. Both provided history and context. Tour guide Ted was great! Will take at least one every time it am in NYC. These tours are the perfect way to learn and get a little exercise. After Met tour stop at the Ukranian Cultural Center - building is worth seeing and exhibits enlightening.

Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigonion, Owner at Big Onion Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for joining two different Big Onion tours this past spring! I am happy to read that you enjoyed the Brooklyn Bridge walk enough to come back for another Big Onion adventure!
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Seth Kamil, President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

556 - 560 of 862 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

We took three tours this trip to New York, now we have taken eight total. We are always impressed with the knowledge and interest in the subject that our guides provide.

Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigonion, Owner at Big Onion Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for joining not one but three tours with us during your last visit! I hope that other TripAdvisor users notice the recurring theme - many of our walkers are not only returning but also taking multiple outings with us.
With 25 different offerings I hope we can keep educating and entertaining you for years to come.
Seth Kamil, President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We took two BO walking tours this time. Central Park and the Lower East Side Eating tour. Our guide was the same for both--Jessica. She was enthusiastic about the places, but also knowledgable.
She took us through the lower part of Central Park, telling us about the history. We stopped at various places like the Bethesda Fountain, Belvedere Castle, the Rambles, etc. I felt like we had a good mix of education, nature, interesting tidbits and humor.
On the Eating tour, we learned a lot and we had a lot of fun. Jessica really knew this area well, and she made it come alive. Her knowledge is deep and lively. I appreciated the information about her immigrant heritage. The food stops were fun and tasty.
Highly recommend both tours.

Thank Fleng2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigonion, Owner at Big Onion Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for joining two different Big Onion tours during your recent New York visit! I am very glad that you enjoyed them both - and got to spend 2X time with Jessica! She has been with us a number of years and can lead about a half-dozen of our outings.
We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the East Coast.
Seth Kamil, President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This was my first time on a Big Onion Tour , and it was a great experience. Seven of us signed up for the tour of the Financial District and were all glad we did. Ted was an excellent guide- knowledgable, interesting and entertaining. In addition to learning about the history of Dutch New York and the landmarks, Ted had plenty of stories that made the experience quite memorable.
Well worth the cost. We plan on taking another tour in the near future.

Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigonion, Owner at Big Onion Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Karen
Thank you for joining our recent Financial District tour. I am glad you enjoyed the walk with Ted. This tour was just recently revised & enhanced to talk more about the early history of finance in Manhattan. Very glad you noticed!
We hope to see you again soon.
Ted is one of our more active guides - he can also be found leading: SoHo/NoLiTa, Greenwich Village, Chelsea, Central Park, America's Museum, Harlem as well as Upper West & East Sides.
Seth Kamil,
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Jessica was a fun, well informed guide who made sure we could all hear her as well as answering all our questions in a timely manner. I loved all the foods that we sampled and felt it was a generous portion of our fee. This area of immigration is part of Jessica's dissertation. The early tenement era plus the rich History was so clear as told by Jessica! I search out this type of tour and it compares to tours by scholars that I have taken in Jaipur and Ahmedabad, India and in Rome. I did 3 separate big Onion Tours in 4 days and will do more on my next visit.

Thank SoloseniorMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigonion, Owner at Big Onion Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you not only for your praise of Jessica's recent tour but for joining three walks in four days! It means a great deal to us that you felt our walks were comparable to some of the tours you have enjoyed in far-flung places! As educators ourselves we do try to not only entertain but bring scholarship to the outings.
We hope to see you again soon.
Seth Kamil,
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Onion Walking Tours also viewed

 

Been to Big Onion Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing