We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fourth time here. Consistently good.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Maritime Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Maritime Hotel
Ranked #118 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Washington D.C.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fourth time here. Consistently good.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

We first stayed at the Maritime when it first opened in 2003 because we wanted to be in the Meatpacking District and the hotel was offering discounted rates due to the fact that it had literally just opened. We have come back over the years because it is a quirky but consistently good experience in a neighborhood lacking good hotels. The service is friendly and efficient; the restaurants are solid (especially Matsuri); and it is still relatively inexpensive. A comparable room in midtown would be a $100 more, at least.

As others have noted, the hallways are on the dark side, but that is true of a lot of "hip" hotels. The difference here is that the staff doesn't have the indifference to guests that many other "hip" hotels often exhibit. I think the nautical themed rooms are a great design device. Manhattan hotel rooms are always small. At the Maritime they made the rooms like ship berths so the design complements the small size. Rather than cramped, they feel cozy. The giant porthole windows (which actually open!) accentuate this quality.

We look forward to coming back again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ggw33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritime_Manager, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Hey GGW33

Thanks for the great review! We truly value our repeat guests, especially those who have been with us since the beginning. It's a unique property in the neighborhood and I'm glad you enjoy it.

We hope to see you again soon,

James Palmer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    207
    46
    16
    5
See reviews for
70
205
56
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cross River, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

This was our first time at The Maritime and next time in Chelsea, we will be back. It started off with convenient parking in a lot across the street that gives a 50% discount to hotel guests. Then we were warmly greeted at the desk and up to our room in a matter of minutes. the ship-like theme is very well done throughout and a lot of fun. Many good restaurants, not only in the hotel, but in the neighborhood. Room service was hot and delicious at 2:00 am.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritime_Manager, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Hey Colin

Thanks so much for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the design of the rooms and the warmth of the staff. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to NYC.

Cheers,

James Palmer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nakhon Ratchasima, Thailand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

dark corridors, may be a bit too dark, and then a very lovely room that i could mess it up as i liked. the bed so comfortable that made me indulge in my laziness, release the stress of the day, cuddling me against the discomforts of troubled nights. the personel so light in their behaviors to make you feel at ease in any situations. one day i found one red rose on the table.
the minibar so rich of the most odd things to make you feel living in a time faded away since so long.
i loved to stay there. thank you all.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 44PLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritime_Manager, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Hello Nakhon,

It's so nice to hear that you had such a lovely stay with us. While our current minibar is quite eclectic, we are in the midst of an update to include more locally sourced products. I'm sure you'll enjoy the new treats we'll be adding in the coming months if you're able to return.

I do warn people often that the comfort of the beds and the darkness of our blackout shades can make it quite difficult to get up and be productive! But sometimes it's good to snuggle up and forget your troubles.

We hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed for one night this past weekend with GF. We were placed on penthouse floor but with as standard room. We were concerned when the hallway smelled mustly and kind of gross but fortunately the room was fine. Bathroom was very nice with a open shower. Bed was amazingly soft and comfy. Otherwise room was spacious enough.

The lobby was a little dark and felt older. Now would I would expect from a $300 plus a night hotel. However, it was personable. People were sitting around drinking wine and talking. There was a gas fire place where we sat for a bit - so we did grow to like it. It was connected to a french brasserie type restaurant which had good coffee and dessert.

We saw a concert at the Hiro ballroom - it's a terrific concert venue.

We enjoyed our stay overal. Staff was nice and courteous.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathanls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritime_Manager, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Hey Jonathan

Thanks for your review of your stay with us. The lobby was actually designed to appear as if it's straight out of the 1960's, so the old vibe you picked up on is intentional. The restaurant La Bottega is our Italian restaurant. In addition to great desserts, I highly suggest trying the pizza on your next trip.

Insider tip: The Robiola pizza is my personal favorite. To make it even better, add Prosciutto to it! Delicious...

Cheers,

James Palmer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spennywa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We decided to spend an extra night in NYC with our dog, but the place we were staying was expensive and charged us an extra $150 for the dog! The Gansevoort, which we knew was dog friendly (had full water bowl outside - nice) was full, but they recommended the hotel we just came from and the Maritime, so we headed up the road to the Maritime and were charmed by their groovy 30's retro decor, no extra charge for the dog (just a damage agreement) and the restaurant, La Bottega, which had a garden room where we could find shelter with the dog (its February, after all), and have a nice meal. Great rooms for a great price, with wonderful woodwork, like cabin on a ship. Fab shower/bathroom and great bath products. Definitely our new go-to place in NYC. Good to be across the street from Chelsea Market, too!

Room Tip: We loved our rooms, low enough to enjoy the white lights in the trees in the courtyard. No noise is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spennywa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritime_Manager, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
We certainly don't try to gouge our dog loving guests who like to travel with their pups. Sorry to hear not all hotels think like we do. We're glad you found us and hope to see you again on another trip to NYC.

The Terrace of La Bottega is officially open for the Spring and the Magnolia trees are already in bloom! It's a great time to relax with a glass of Rose on the patio and soak in the sunshine.

Best regards,

James Palmer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I was in NYC for work and this hotel was perfect for getting some work done in the room and for a good night of sleep. I've stayed at many hotels in the city and none have been as quiet as this. The room was very comfortable and a decent size for NYC. The sushi restaurant downstairs was fantastic. My only wish is that they had a gym in the building.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Franz202011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Maritime Hotel has something for everyone. Cruise-like cabin inspired rooms, comfy beds, a huge window (it's a porthole) that opens for fresh air, soaking tub, luxury bath products in a location that has highlights the best of NY, including the Chelsea Market and Buddakan (an amazing space). Stay here! La Bottega has good coffee and excellent tea in the morning. The lobby features a funky library and fireplace. Staff is very helpful and Hiro dance club/live music venue is incredible. We saw an amazing New Orleans Jazz band here and danced all night long!!

enjoy!

Room Tip: higher floor rooms would offer a better view of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abigail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritime_Manager, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Hi Abigail

I won't disagree, the Chelsea/Meatpacking district of NYC is a great one to visit. With the Highline Park, all of the Galleries, shopping, and food choices, there is plenty to keep you entertained. In the future, we'll have the Whitney Museum a few blocks south as well.

Sadly, Hiro is closing its doors on March 31st. We're having a blowout party with the Bebe Buell Band headlining if you're in town.

Best,

James Palmer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#98 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,419 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#107 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#152 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#201 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
#275 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#68 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maritime Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maritime Hotel

Property: The Maritime Hotel
Address: 363 W 16th St, New York City, NY 10011-5902
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in New York City
#76 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#92 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#147 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Maritime Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel resembles white cruise ship with portholes overlooking Ninth Avenue - West Chelsea neighborhood - 4 blocks to Chelsea Piers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Maritime Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing