We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step back in history!”
Review of The Maritime Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Maritime Hotel
Ranked #161 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Randolph, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A step back in history!”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

I love the Maritime hotel. I feel I am back in the 1960's. The hotel architecture is incredible. The murals in the interior are from another age. I always have a great time. A must to sèe in NYC! It is in a great section of New York with plenty to do in the meat district and high line park. Lots of great restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Henry B- Thank you so much for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor and thank you so much for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback and taking the time to share your kind words. Glad to hear you enjoyed the neighborhood and the hotel. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime. Please let us know if we can every be of assistance in the future. All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    212
    47
    16
    6
See reviews for
75
209
58
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My girlfriend and I arrived at 3am after several flight delays and slow immigration lines at JFK. The front desk staff were polite, helpful..and cool. From the moment we walked up the entrance stairs we knew this was the right choice to mingle with the urban hipster crowd. Right in the heart of Chelsea, there is a great mix of culture within walking distance - though I wouldn't recommend walking to Times Square from the hotel like we did one night - a bit far. The hotel itself has a great retro vibe to it, the food was great in the restaurant, though I found the room service menu to be a little pricey - but that's NYC I guess. Though the rooms were small, they didn't feel crammed as it was done similar to a yacht cabin with large mirrors, exotic wood trimming and custom built furnishings. We loved the way the mini bar was integrated into the closet and the awesome amenities on offer. The thing we disliked the most were the marble floors in the bathrooms because they were shockingly cold to walk on and not a nice feeling for a morning shower. The service of the excellent staff made up for it though - I can't remember the name of the doorman but he was always very helpful taking our shopping bags from the sidewalk up to the elevator and telling us the cool night spots to hit. Definitely going back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vidal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
JSD_Travel- Thank you so much for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor and, indeed, thank you for staying with us at The Maritime Hotel. Thanks for pointing out in detail some of the great things we have to offer here at The Maritime. Glad to know after what seemed to be a very long travel day you were able to relax and enjoy. It's a great source of both inspiration and assistance to receive feedback from our guests and we do appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. Every member of our staff has the opportunity to read your comments. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime. All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joisey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The hotel was conveniently located next to the High LIne and ACE lines. The attached restaurant was good and reasonably priced which was great when we arrived around dinner time during a heavy downpour. The staff was helpful and friendly. Generally, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
72- Thank you so much for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor, and thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Maritime Hotel. Your feedback is much appreciated and we are so glad to hear you found the location to be convenient. Sorry to hear you got caught in a heavy down pour but glad to know our staff was helpful and friendly. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime Hotel. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance.
All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northvale, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I've now stayed here twice and the level of customer service is like nothing I have ever experienced. The manager of this hotel goes above and beyond to ensure that your stay is perfect. I have stayed in a regular Basic room which is a thousand times better than the tiny basic rooms you'll find around Manhattan sometimes even for triple the cost. I have also stayed in one of the much larger suites which was impeccably maintained, beautiful and totally luxurious. The staff is helpful, the location is incredible and I highly recommend the Maritime to anyone coming to New York whether for business, pleasure or anything in between. There is also a privacy and a level of quiet in the rooms unlike the majority of hotels in New York City.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Danielle S- Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor and thank you for staying with us at The Maritime Hotel. It's a great source of both inspiration and assistance to receive feedback from our guests and we do appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. Each member of our staff has the opportunity to read your comments and we thank you for the wonderful shout out to them. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime Hotel in the near future.
All the best, Matt Moore General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I've stayed here three times and the Maritime has become one of the few hotels I look forward to staying at when on the road. The decor is great: imagine Wes Anderson designed a hotel. The mix of art deco with a splash of humor is perfect. Books and low key lighting set a low key but fun mood. The staff are really, really great. In particular the front desk excels at email correspondence, which makes it a lot easier for special requests. The rooms are NY typical small, but the state room motif makes that seem cute with clever use of space and shelves. Love the Bigelow amenities. My only small complaint is that the main entrance is fairly underwhelming. That may be a plus in keeping the people from the Dream next door away. ;)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
William D- Thank your for your review on TripAdvisor and thank you for staying with us at The Maritime Hotel three times thus far. We appreciated your kind words about your experience with us and love that you enjoyed the design and ambiance of the hotel. Glad to hear you enjoyed the Bigelow amenities! Every member of our staff has the opportunity to read your comments. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope we can be your home away from home when in New York City. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance. All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This was a last minute business trip, so I wasn't looking for glitz and glamour, I was looking for convenience. It was a PERFECT location to walk to my meetings and enjoy Chelsea Market (which I love). I felt like I was on a boat...in a good way. It was clean, staff was friendly and there were definitely upper-crust amenities if you chose to partake (I had a travel budget to adhere to).

If you like "themed" hotels, this one is great. If you think it's cheesy and tacky, then, whatever, you're probably no fun anyhow. :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kauffdrops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Kauffdrops-Thank you so much for passing on your comments on Trip Advisor and for choosing The Maritime Hotel. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your FUN review. We always enjoy when our guest have fun and enjoy themselves. Every member of our staff has the opportunity to read your comments. We are glad to hear you took advantage of some amenities we offer and some sites around us like the Chelsea Market. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime. Please let me know if I can ever be of assistance on a future visit.
All the best, Matt Moore- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I stayed at the Maritime last weekend and I just loved the hotel. Everyone from the front desk staff to housekeeping were very friendly. This was a "stay-cation" for me as I live in NYC and I already love the area for walking on the Highline and window shopping. The bed was so comfortable that I slept 12 hours the 1st night! The CO Bigelow products in the bathroom were a nice touch and make sure to enjoy the technology made available to you all over the room. I would definitely stay here again for my next stay-cation. Oh and, brunch in Bottega was delicious. Breakfast pizza and bloody marys!

Room Tip: Treat yourself to one of the penthouses. Just do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samziar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
samziar- Thank you for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor and thank you for staying with us at The Maritime Hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your staycation!! Thank you for pointing out a lot of the amenities we have to offer. So glad to know you enjoyed the CO Bigelow products. It's a great source of both inspiration and assistance to receive feedback from our guests and we do appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. Every member of our staff has the opportunity to read your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance. All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#115 of 468 in New York City
3,490 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#116 of 468 in New York City
586 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#149 of 468 in New York City
2,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#211 of 468 in New York City
1,766 reviews
Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
#301 of 468 in New York City
1,193 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#81 of 468 in New York City
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maritime Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maritime Hotel

Property: The Maritime Hotel
Address: 363 W 16th St, New York City, NY 10011-5902
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in New York City
#75 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#122 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#146 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Maritime Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel resembles white cruise ship with portholes overlooking Ninth Avenue - West Chelsea neighborhood - 4 blocks to Chelsea Piers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Maritime Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing