We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maritime is excellent”
Review of The Maritime Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Maritime Hotel
Ranked #163 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I have had to travel to NYC for work almost every month for several years. The maritime hotel is always my first choice. The accommodations are comfortable and the location is convenient.

What truly distinguishes it for me is the hotel staff. Informed, respectful and a joy to interact with. Steffie Tuan and Kimberly made feel so at home during my last stay I felt obligated to write my first hotel review ever.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhrneverthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Mhrneverthere-Thank you for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor and thank you for staying with us at The Maritime Hotel. It's a pleasure to welcome guests back and we love that The Maritime is always your first choice. It's a great source of both inspiration and assistance to receive feedback from our guests and we do appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. We appreciate the individual shot outs to Steffi and Kimberly and I'll be sure they see your review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance with anything. All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (667)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 668 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Our first stay at the Maritime Hotel confirms the good reviews: great comfort, cosy atmosphere, caring staff, good and affordable restaurant for brekfast and dinner. We could not hear the party noises many complain about.
We would definitelu recommend this hotel and will provably

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thomas G- Thank you so much for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor and thank you so much for staying with us at The Maritime. It's a great source of inspiration and assistance to receive feedback from our guests and we do appreciate you taking the time to share your nice review with us. We are glad to here you found the hotel to be "nice,cosy, perfectly located" We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance with anything. All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Close to the High Line, across the street from the Chelsea Market, a long block from the subway, and convenient to West Village and Greenwich Village, this is a very good hotel in terms of location and value.

The rooms are small, but cozy. I stayed there with my husband and teenaged son, and on Booking.com they advertised a “superior Queen” room for three people. I was disappointed at check-in to find out that our room would have only one bed (as I was assured all the rooms had) and no sleeper sofa, or single.

However, the Maritime Hotel rose to the challenge and exceeded my expectations nicely—they made up a bed against the wall and under the port hole shaped window; my son even had a lamp above his head. They describe it as an “air mattress” but it feels much nicer—more like a memory foam mattress.

Our bed was very comfortable, and we slept very well. Built in shelves on either side of the bed serve as night stands and really make you feel that you are in a room on a ship. The small space (250 sf) is utilized very well.

There was plenty of room in the hall closets for all seven pieces of our luggage, (3 rollers, three carry on sized pieces, and one bag for the food we bought at the Chelsea Market) so we never felt cramped.

Our room was stuffy when we arrived--we called down after fiddling with the thermostat, and a staff member arrived within 10-15 minutes. He agreed there was a problem and fixed it by changing the settings for the floor. We were very comfortable after that.

The lobby is very cool, with a fireplace, books on a myriad of subjects, and in the bar, a pool table.

On the Maritime Hotel’s website, it says they have “complimentary bikes,” for guests. Inquiring about this, I was told there would be a $6 charge per bike. Well, that is a fair deal, but please, just say that.

Wi-fi was free and fast.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view (there won't be much) and a higher floor to avoid noise; the hotel also has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

LauraRW- Thank you for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor and thank you for staying with us at The Maritime Hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us during your time in NYC. Thank you for pointing out a lot of the amenities we have to offer and the decor of the hotel. Regarding the bike program we think of it as a complimentary program because it does cost about $30dollars if not higher to rent a bicycle in New York City. The $6.00 charge is a service charge for our bellman. I will be looking into making sure this is explained thoroughly.

It's a great source of both inspiration and assistance to receive feedback from our guests and we do appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. Every member of our staff has the opportunity to read your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please let us know if we can every be of assistance.
All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Maritime for 3 nights a few weeks ago while attending a wedding in the city. I'd been there before and loved it. This was my husband's first time staying there. We both felt very comfortable and really liked the location. The staff was warm and welcoming at every turn. I wanted to bring home some New York bialys. They were delivered to the hotel from a local deli. I talked with the staff at the front desk and they were great about it. The bialys arrived while we were gone and, as promised, they were put in our room. What service! We had a room on an upper floor where we could see a bit of the Hudson River. The room was comfortable and roomy. The bathroom was equipped with all the lotions and shampoos you could want. The fragrance is wonderful. We had those plush white robes you sometimes get in the nicer hotels. They came in handy. We hadn't made any dinner reservations for the night of our arrival. We were tired and hungry after an all-day flight from the LA. The staff at the front desk recommended the hotel restaurant, La Botega, where I'd eaten on my first trip and loved. After we settled into our room, we went down to the restaurant and told them we were guests of the hotel and we were promptly seated. Dinner was delicious and the staff very accommodating. The hotel is in Chelsea, a wonderful area of the city. It's right across the street from the Chelsea Market, which is definitely worth a visit. The lobby of the hotel is large and very comfortable, with the steamship motif that the entire hotel has. It's interesting and works well. One hint - if your room is noisy, ask for a window plug. Someone will bring to your room and put it in for you. It's a big cushion sort of a thing that completely fits the round steamship windows and did a great job of blocking the noise. You can remove it when you don't need it. Although the rooms have earplugs, the window plugs work great. We've already recommended this hotel to friends and will be back again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side may be quieter. All rooms face west, so upper floors may give you a view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

DanaG-Thank you so much for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor and choosing to stay with us at The Maritime Hotel. Happy to hear you and your husband enjoyed your time, the location, and even the experience of getting New York bialys! Your feedback is much appreciated and the entire staff gets a chance to read your kind words. We do hope that you will visit us again and please let us know if we can ever be of assistance in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime Hotel. All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Great location. Right across the street from Chelsea Market. Really good restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, as well. The service at this hotel was really good. The staff at the front desk is more than accommodating. Upon check in, they were aware that my wife was bringing me their as a surprise birthday gift. We had a bottle of really nice champagne in hand while checking in. The service staff noticed it and sent up the same bottle with a birthday card from the General Manager, as a gift later that evening. Very nice touch. They were able to recommend great places in the area and were genuinely happy to accommodate requests. One of the better service experiences I have had at a hotel and I am a pretty well travelled person.

The rooms are pretty standard NYC rooms. Small but functional. I have slept in better beds but it was fine. Hotel is clean. I did not eat at the hotel, so I cannot comment on the food.

I would for sure return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoomzoomToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

zoomzoomToronto-Thank you so much for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor and thank you for staying with us at The Maritime. We appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. Every member of our staff has the opportunity to read your comments. We are happy to hear you had a nice Birthday surprise gift and enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime Hotel. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance with any future reservations.
All the Best, Matt Moore - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Everything was good but a bit discomfort their beds & room service was not satisfactory, complain attended after multiple reminder for fixation of bath tab & no room clock was provided even after request. room size was not good enough for 2-person. No sitting chair & table in the room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

AngelinaN- Thank you for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor, and thank you for choosing to stay at The Maritime. You review is somewhat puzzling and confusing since all of our rooms offer two sitting chairs and table as well as clocks. As this review is annoymous please feel free to reach out to me as I'd like to know a little more. It's a great source of both inspiration and assistance to receive feedback from our guests and we do appreciate you taking the time.
All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We often visit NYC and have stayed in hotels all over the city. We chose the Maritime because of its location, so I will begin there. Unless you just want/need to be uptown, this is a fabulous location for visiting the most interesting parts of the city. The hotel is situated right across the street from the Chelsea Market and a block from the High Line. It is an easy walk to Greenwich Village and Union Square. If you enjoy walking the city, you can stroll through interesting neighborhoods to reach Washington Square, NYU, Soho, Little Italy, and the Flatiron area. Of course, the hotel itself is located on the edge of Chelsea, with all its great shops, restaurants, and art galleries.

The staff at the Maritime could not have been more friendly and helpful. The hotel lobby is warm and inviting with a fireplace and plenty of comfortable seating with bar service throughout. We enjoyed the food and drinks at La Bottega, the lobby bar and restaurant. As is the case with most rooms in NYC, the room was not huge, but it wasn't tiny either. The attractive ship cabin-style set up is nice with plenty of space to unpack and store luggage. The Bigelow bath products and plush robes provided added comfort. The bed was comfortable, and we had room to sit as well. The large port hole window was cool, and the hotel supplies a padded "pod" to block out noise and light. With or without the pod, we found our third floor room to be very quiet. All and all, the is very pleasant, well-situated, well-run hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

BBJones-Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor and thank you for staying with us at The Maritime Hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Every member of our staff has the opportunity to read your comments. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the convenience of the neighborhood and the service we have to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance. All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#133 of 469 in New York City
3,624 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#81 of 469 in New York City
656 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#162 of 469 in New York City
2,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#222 of 469 in New York City
1,849 reviews
Chelsea
Innside by Melia New York NoMad
Innside by Melia New York NoMad
#107 of 469 in New York City
1,929 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#56 of 469 in New York City
2,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maritime Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maritime Hotel

Address: 363 W 16th St, New York City, NY 10011-5902
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in New York City
#74 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#123 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#142 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £173 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Maritime Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel resembles white cruise ship with portholes overlooking Ninth Avenue - West Chelsea neighborhood - 4 blocks to Chelsea Piers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Maritime Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing