We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NYC gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Maritime Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Maritime Hotel
Ranked #118 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“NYC gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

This hotel is a little hidden gem in NYC. It was our second time staying here, and it was great both times. The location is perfect, you can walk to the chelsea market and the neighborhood is very cute. Everyone is very friendly and the service is great! I also love the restaurant! Dining on the patio is lovely and the food is awesome. The rooms are a little a small, but clean and comfortable, and the bathroom is nice. My kids got a kick out of the boat theme. We will return again soon.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAwestsidemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
LAwestsidemamma-Thank you so much for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor and glad to have gotten the chance to welcome you back for your second stay. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and your experience. Glad to know you were able to take advantage of some of the various venus in this great location and our restaurant. We hope to welcome you back in the near future making this your home away from home. If we can ever be of assistance please don't hesitate to ask.
All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    209
    46
    16
    5
See reviews for
74
206
56
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Very nice and original hotel. The room was small, but super nice and comfortable. I had a very good stay for 1 week. The position was perfect. All the staff was very friendly and helpful. The cost is medium high. Breakfast not included and a bit expensive.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyemi81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
lyemi81-Thank you so much for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor. Also, thank you for staying with us at The Maritime Hotel. We are glad to hear you felt The Maritime was nice and original. We appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If we can ever be of assistance please don't hesitate to ask.
All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

My siblings and I happily stayed at The Maritime for my brother's birthday bash weekend in New York City. The staff at The Maritime were incredibly helpful for us in organizing a private party and catering to our wishes to make the birthday guy's weekend a success. From the doorman to the front desk to the housekeeping staff, we were made to feel pampered and special as guests.

More importantly, though, the room itself offers an incredible view (ask for the southern side of the floor) and the beds are beautifully appointed and uber comfy. The room's details include an umbrella to use during your stay, fabulous toiletries and a very well-stocked minibar. We were even treated to a complimentary bottle of wine in our room, upon our arrival.

Bar none, the location is superb. Steps away from multiple subway stops, the High Line, Chelsea Market and the neighborhood feels friendly and safe to stroll for this mom of young kids. Free Wi-Fi was just an added perk to our fantastic experience overall.

Whether you're in town for business or pleasure, The Maritime is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the south side of the building for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WindyCityMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
WindyCityMama- Thank you so much for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor and choosing to stay with us at The Maritime Hotel. We are happy to hear your brother's birthday bash was successful. Your feedback about your stay, the rooms, and location is much appreciated and the entire staff gets a chance to read your kind words. We do hope that you will visit us again and please let us know if we can ever be of assistance in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime Hotel.
All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We just got married and spent the week prior using a penthouse terrace suite as our basecamp. Despite none of our visiting guests ending up booking there too, the hotel was incredibly gracious in their help all week.

We flooded their mail room starting two weeks prior to our stay, with tons of things for our wedding and they could not have been nicer about it. From the bell man to the front desk to the housekeeping and room service, the staff was incredibly professional and amazingly friendly. It was truly a world apart from the all too common aloof NYC experience (we can say that because we are ex-New Yorkers). They helped us with so many requests, from arranging and dispatching dozens of welcome bag messenger deliveries, to delivering bar stools to our room on the wedding day because the makeup artists requested it.

This hotel is an absolute gem. The space is super fun in a Wes Anderson but more elegant vibe and quirky enough to be unlike any hotel you'll ever visit, but with all the luxurious comforts of a "standard" hotel. We cannot speak highly enough about our stay and the staff. Bravo to whomever is hiring and training the staff because the service is top notch and stands along side some of the best hotels in the world. THANK YOU MARITIME! We will most certainly be back and send all our friends in the future.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelBugger8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
dabears600- Thank you so much for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor and thank you for staying with us. It is a great source of both inspiration and assistance to receive feedback from our guests and we do appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. Congratulations on your wedding!! We are very honored you picked The Maritime Hotel as your base camp! Every member of our staff has the opportunity to read your comments. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime. Let us know if we can ever be of assistance with anything.
All the best- Matt Moore General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Coast FL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

This isn't your typical New York City high rise hotel. The nautical theme is unique including the round windows that resemble boat port holes. The wood through out the room and deep blue furnishings really make you feel as if you are on a ship. Would stay here again when I need to be at Chelsea Piers.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestCoastFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
WestCoastFL-Thank you so much for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor and thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback and taking the time to share your kind words. Glad to hear you enjoyed the design of the hotel. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime. Please let us know if we can every be of assistance in the future.
All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We spent the 4th of July weekend at The Maritime! Fabulous, informative and friendly staff, very accommodating - they even offer large umbrellas to all hotel guests which, unfortunately, we needed on the 4th. This hotel has improved tremendously over the past two years. It is extremely clean, well-maintained, offering large, soft bath towels and bathrobes, along with super-comfortable beds, plus sound "shields" for the windows if you are a guest who prefers not hearing the noise of a busy city. There is plenty to do within walking distance or a short cab drive as this hotel is well positioned within the city. Plus, a quick trip to the nearby Chelsea Market was an added bonus. I have stayed at several big city hotels in both the US and Europe, and The Maritime is now on my short list of favorites!

Room Tip: Penthouse rooms are very spacious with huge rain showers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPHR1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
SPHR1952-Thank you for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor and thank you for staying with us at The Maritime Hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your 4th of July Holiday with us during your time in NYC. Thank you for pointing out a lot of the amenities and things we have to offer at the hotel. It's a great source of both inspiration and assistance to receive feedback from our guests and we do appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. Every member of our staff has the opportunity to read your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please let us know if we can every be of assistance.
All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Love the location of this property. Right across the street from Chelsea Market, the High Line and lots of great restaurants. Rooms are tiny but comfortable, great bath products, nice bathrooms with good lighting. The front desk and door staff were all friendly and helpful. Would definitely return.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julierose59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Julierose59-Thank you so much for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor and choosing to stay with us at The Maritime Hotel. Happy to hear you enjoyed your time, the location, and what we have to offer at the hotel! Your feedback is much appreciated and the entire staff gets a chance to read your kind words. We do hope that you will visit us again and please let us know if we can ever be of assistance in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime Hotel.
All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#101 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,440 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#116 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#141 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
#292 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#207 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,724 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#106 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maritime Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maritime Hotel

Property: The Maritime Hotel
Address: 363 W 16th St, New York City, NY 10011-5902
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in New York City
#75 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#94 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#146 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Maritime Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel resembles white cruise ship with portholes overlooking Ninth Avenue - West Chelsea neighborhood - 4 blocks to Chelsea Piers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Maritime Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing