We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Stay w Shockingly Great NYC Rate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Ranked #48 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nice Stay w Shockingly Great NYC Rate”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Let's start with the basics - hotels in New York City are outrageously expensive and notoriously small. However, we stayed at the Mandarin Oriental in a nice sized one bedroom suite for what I have paid at similar hotels in NYC for a standard room AND we received our fourth night for free! So, that put me in a great frame of mind should anything have gone wrong. The best news? Nothing went wrong! Our suite was outfitted in comfortable furniture with grey chenille and cream fabrics. The bed was so comfortable that I did not want to leave it the morning. The room was drafty when the curtains were open and the weather was chilly over NYE's, but we just adjusted the thermostat up two degrees when the curtains were open. The wood floors in the parlor and bedrooms were kinda odd, but I became accustomed to them after a few days. We had a generous supply of aromatic toiletries in our narrow bathroom in which one had to be careful and make sure the door to the water closet was closed before opening the bathroom door while entering in or exiting into the bedroom. Our traveling companion actually smashed his fingers into between the two doors in his suite. Ouch!

The service was impeccable. We must have had just the best cleaning staff. The fore mentioned wood floors never had a speck of dust on them and the women were as kind as could be. The spa staff was very accommodating and I would like to thank Nicolette and Fini for their superior massage and facial services. Also, the entire bell and doorman staff is to be commended for always being very helpful. Their smiles and pleasant words were appreciated.

On NYEs, we left our dinner and arrived back at the Mandarin to help down the party in the lobby lounge. So glad we stopped in for one final glass of champagne as dancing to the fun band and with the late night/early morning revelers was a great way to welcome in 2014.

Room Tip: Suites ending 40 are corner rooms, have views of the River and are away from the elevators. Request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DinLBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mandarin Oriental, New York! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience and truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    953
    278
    109
    49
    27
See reviews for
246
539
88
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Gorgeous hotel with beautifully appointed rooms overlooking Columbus Circle and Central Park. Incredibly comfortable beds and sheets. Black out drapes that cover the entire window. Shoe shine over night complimentary service.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words about your Mandarin Oriental, New York stay! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience and truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon! Cheers to a new year!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The rooms are nicely appointed, but made smaller to accommodate the larger bathroom layout, which is outstanding. Staff is very accommodating and friendly (front desk, concierge, bellman and valet) but housekeeping is not on the same page with the other departments (i should not have staff barging into the room when I am indisposed and unable to answer the door).

The promised amenity for my 7 year old was not provided on check-in, but was graciously delivered when asked for, as well as a second little gift for his friend at home.

Limited dining options and a less than attentive service at the lobby bar/restaurant are definite strikes. Also, notwithstanding the advertisement on the web site, the internet access is not free. when you sign into the the wifi, you must go to a web page and pick an option of of how you are going to pay for internet access. There are no free options.

notwithstanding the room appointments, there was an unexpected and unusually large amount of noise that interrupted sleep. we heard the toilets flush from other rooms and the acoustics do not stop hallway noise at the door. if there is one complaint that will kill a hotel faster for me than anything else, it is the inability to get a good nights sleep.

So, if you paid the premium for the view, and suffered all of the other indignities, you have to ask, is the view worth the price and ll of the other baggage? On balance probably not. it is a shame, as I had very high expectations for this hotel.

Room Tip: It seems that there are service compartments utilized by housekeeping located near rooms on some flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dttlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Mandarin Oriental for our engagement vacation. We booked through American Express platinum, who asked the hotel to "please do something nice." Instead we got aggravation, beginning with a room that was less than impressive at an average of thousand dollars a night. Expected to walk into a room at the Mandarin and say "Wow!" But we said "This is it?" The room was small, the furnishings worn and not upscale and the toilet area did not even have a real door on it, but a piece of see-through glass. When we expressed this to the manager, she had said they had no other rooms available to upgrade us to. After wasting nearly an hour on the phone with American Express who had to make several calls to the hotel, we were finally offered a slightly larger room on a lower floor. We were never sent as much as a nice note saying congratulations on your engagement, nevermind a glass of champagne or even a couple chocolates. Upon checkout, We gave plenty of notice that we needed a bellman and a cab to the airport. 20 minutes later no one had arrived and we called the front desk. We waited 8 more minutes and ended up taking your own bags out of the room and ran into the bellman in the elevator who said no one told him the first time. We expected better quality and better service from a Mandren Oriental.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank LoveToEatOutSRQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My husband and I visit NY pretty often and have stayed in lots of different hotels and hands down...this is our favorite! Try to ask for a view of the city and you'll overlook Columbus Circle or ask for a Park view and you'll see Central Park! It is pricey but it's the best view of NY! The rooms are clean, staff is friendly and the food was very good! They have a lounge where you can oversee the city as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RozanaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words about your Mandarin Oriental, New York experience!! We are so pleased that you enjoyed our views and truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We flew in from San Francisco on the Friday & partied here till Sunday afternoon when we left for Paris. Best NYC layover - ever‼️ Reception staff was excellent. Dinner @ Asiate was below par, we expected more (compared to The Mark for instance where the service, buzz, cuisine - everything is plain brilliant.) @ Asiate they tried, & there were a couple of exceptional staff but overall seems to be a top down management issue, where proper training is missing. Service disconnects were even more pronounced over breakfast which was beyond slow & vague but the manager set things right with a no charge. Spa is spacious, heated floors & beautifully decorated but offset by a cool professional staff who do not even greet you as they pass by. Had $500 competent facial but did not cone out feeling relaxed because of the overall lack of genuine hospitality. We would go back to this hotel, but not the spa or the restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoginii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your FANtastically kind words about your Mandarin Oriental, New York stay! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience and truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again in 2014!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hobyan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Of course its amazing. The views, incredible. The rooms are small, but everything is furnished expertly. The welcome treats are delicious.

The location is prime, whole foods downstairs. I stayed here for work, and while it's not my first choice, its stunning. For me, it's suited to an older generation. But it's quiet, professional and you wouldn't be disappointed.

The service is attentive, ringing our doorbell in the afternoon offering water and snacks, like a resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hobyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mandarin Oriental, New York! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience and truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon (and more than once!)

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Upper West Side
Trump International Hotel and Tower New York
Trump International Hotel and To...
#104 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#15 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#31 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#291 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, New York

Property: Mandarin Oriental, New York
Address: 80 Columbus Circle at 60th Street, New York City, NY 10023-5800
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in New York City
#14 Business Hotel in New York City
#41 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#46 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#75 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning fusion of modern design with stylish Oriental flair, Mandarin Oriental, New York features 244 elegant guestrooms and suites - all with breathtaking views of Manhattan and Five-Star hospitality. Luxurious amenities include Asiate, the hotel's elegant restaurant; MObar created by noted interior designer, Tony Chi; the Lobby Lounge with dramatic views of Central Park; a 14,500-square-foot, Five-Star Mandarin Oriental Spa; and a state-of-the-art fitness center with a 75-foot lap pool. In addition, there is premium meeting and event space, including a 6,000-square-foot pillar-less ballroom with three walls of windows overlooking Central Park. Located in Columbus Circle's Time Warner Center, Mandarin Oriental, New York is in an idyllic location just steps away from world-class dining, shopping and entertainment, including the Broadway Theater District, Lincoln Center, Central Park, Jazz at Lincoln Center and the Time Warner Center's collection of upscale retail shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, New York Hotel New York City
Mandarin Oriental New York City
Mandarin New York City
New York City Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing