We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mandarin New York , A Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Ranked #51 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
130 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Mandarin New York , A Great Experience”
Reviewed 1 September 2008

Just few words to say and rate our great experience at the Mandarin Oriental New York. Have been there for a couple of nights at the end of July 2008. Booked a simply superior room with a main Hudson view. The room was not huge but very nice with a lot of useful tech advantages and features. The bed was very comfortable despite of some really soft pillows. Bathroom perfect in size and very nice. Service absolutely fantastic, very nice view also if it not was not a Central Park room view. Enjoy a wonderful breakast ( also if is the service it was a little bit too slow ) at the Asiate Resturant. Unfortunately did not use the Spa or other services. So , one if the not the best hotel in New York right now , also if it was expensive. I really like new and High Tech hotel and this Mandarin it was in my opinion a true perfect layout . Additional to this , check in and check out were perfect and very quick , as well room service . Bravo Mandarin !

  • Liked — Service and overall Quality
  • Disliked — Size
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BlackNote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    967
    279
    109
    50
    27
See reviews for
254
542
89
282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2008

Last weekend, I proposed to my girlfriend and we stayed two nights at the Mandarin Oriental.

This is by far the best hotel we have stayed in New York. We received a complimentary upgrade and all the staff were absolutely perfect. I was considering other hotels where I have previously stayed including the Four Seasons, Waldorf Astoria, the Meridien, the Hudson or Alex and am absolutely delighted to have decided on the Mandarin Oriental. It is expensive but they do have special weekend offers and for such an occasion really lived up to expectations. I could not fault the hotel or staff in any way as it made this day very special. I think we will be coming back here for our important anniversaries. Absolutely worth spending a bit more to stay in a very special place with magnificient views and bedrooms, complete peace of mind in a relaxing setting and get what is probably the best service in New York.

  • Liked — Rooms, views, service
  • Disliked — Nothing all perfect
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GACC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montigny-le-Bretonneux, France
Level Contributor
83 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2008

Mandarin Oriental NYC is a fantastic hotel. We stayed in an executive suite facing the Hudson river (view from the living room) but we still had a view of Central Park from the Bedroom/Bathroom.

The suite has a tremendous woaw factor, this is the best city suite we ever tried, even if not the biggest. However please note that service is not at the same level as it is at Oriental Bangkok (flagship of MO group). Small details have to be improved (butter was missing at breakfast once, trash can was not emptied every time at night service). Fortunately these small issues did not tarnish our experience.

We used the Concierge services many times:
- magical private helicopter ride booked through him with Helicopter Flight Services, Inc.,
- reservation of one of the best table at Del Frisco's Steakhouse on 6th avenue,
- transfer with limousine from/to the airport (205 USD from JFK and 180 USD to JFK => nice and helpful chauffeurs knowing the city to avoid traffic),
- etc.

We also tried the swimming pool & the Spa (on 36th floor). Therapists were smiling, very professional. Use of the VIP Spa suite is delightful. It allows you to enjoy time in your private steam and bath, finishing with a light dinner. You feel completely taken away from the city bustle.

Regarding the location everything has already been said. You have direct access to the shops at Columbus Circle (with Whole Foods Market at the basement where you can have lunch/dinner at a fair price until 11pm). Many subway lines stop at Columbus. AMC Loews Cinema with IMAX is 15 minutes away (by walking), just like boutiques on 5th avenue and Times Square.

  • Liked — the suite itself, free internet wifi, spa & pool
  • Disliked — service could be improved a little
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Cedric&Pierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona del Mar, CA
Level Contributor
423 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 645 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2008

OK, so how is this hotel the 45th best hotel in NYC? You can argue over what is #1 and the Mandarin Oriental will always be in that conversation.

The staff is impecable and attentive. I had lost some luggage on the flight from LAX and the concierge made sure American had it and got it to me promptly, I didn't need to do a thing.

My room had an amazing view of Central Park and the meal at Asiate is as good as I have had in NY. YES, the property is pricey, but what in Manhattan isn't?

For a business trip, especially on business with Time Warner, this place is hard to beat.

  • Liked — Location and setting.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank scottca075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2008

Just stayed at the Manadarin this past weekend. We celebrated our 25th Wedding Anniversary and the staff at the hotel created an exceptional expericance. From the moment we were greeted by the doorman to the moment he said goodbye on our last day, we were catered to as royalty. The staff was pleasent. caring and very accomadating. the location is the best in Manhattan, the hotel was beautifull. Very well organized , situated and very classy. The rooms were fabulous, we stayed in the Hudson River View room,, everything from bathroom, bedding to view was perfect, just like images on theweb site. The Lobby Bar was a great relaxing spot after our dinner & theatre evening.
All staff were excellent and the class & service was the tops.

  • Liked — The rooms & service
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanremo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2008

I've stayed at many luxury hotels both in NYC and around the world including the luxury masterpiece "Burj Al Arab" in Dubai.

The Mandarin Oriental is superb. Above and beyond style and accessibility, the most important factor in considering the rating of a property is SERVICE.

The service at the Mandarin is Superb. One of the best only rivaled by my time spent at the Four Seasons.

If you're going to NYC, do NYC right, and stay at the Mandarin, where your every whim is addressed and you can focus on only your task at hand whether it be pure pleasure or business.

  • Liked — The view, large accomodations, and service.
  • Disliked — I have nothing negative to say.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetset7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caribbean
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2008

Had a great stay at the Mandarin Oriental... but might prefer the Trump Towers next time.... Why? Because I like an unobstructed view and Trump Towers obstructed the CP view big time... so I prefer to be on the first row next time.
Sure the Mandarin Oriental is a 5-star... but somewhat overpriced.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — royal
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fivestartraveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Upper West Side
Trump International Hotel and Tower New York
Trump International Hotel and To...
#102 of 468 in New York City
1,233 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#16 of 468 in New York City
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#33 of 468 in New York City
1,055 reviews
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#34 of 468 in New York City
679 reviews
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#19 of 468 in New York City
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, New York

Property: Mandarin Oriental, New York
Address: 80 Columbus Circle at 60th Street, New York City, NY 10023-5800
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in New York City
#14 Business Hotel in New York City
#45 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#46 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#75 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning fusion of modern design with stylish Oriental flair, Mandarin Oriental, New York features 244 elegant guestrooms and suites - all with breathtaking views of Manhattan and Five-Star hospitality. Luxurious amenities include Asiate, the hotel's elegant restaurant; MObar created by noted interior designer, Tony Chi; the Lobby Lounge with dramatic views of Central Park; a 14,500-square-foot, Five-Star Mandarin Oriental Spa; and a state-of-the-art fitness center with a 75-foot lap pool. In addition, there is premium meeting and event space, including a 6,000-square-foot pillar-less ballroom with three walls of windows overlooking Central Park. Located in Columbus Circle's Time Warner Center, Mandarin Oriental, New York is in an idyllic location just steps away from world-class dining, shopping and entertainment, including the Broadway Theater District, Lincoln Center, Central Park, Jazz at Lincoln Center and the Time Warner Center's collection of upscale retail shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, New York Hotel New York City
Mandarin Oriental New York City
Mandarin New York City
New York City Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing