We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liam Neeson”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Ranked #50 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed here with my husband for two nights and was amazed with the high security in this hotel... (All staff looks like secret service agents) Very clean and modern rooms.. of course its pricey ,but worth every penny... We ran into an Liam Neeson in the elevator where he denied it was him...(a little rude) but I guess it could be annoying to always be asked if you are who you are...lol.. years later I come across a magazine showing Liam Neeson in a Mandarin Oriental ad.. Thats when I wonder if he stays there for free? plus he gets to be rude, wow thats a major deal if you ask me... I think his only skill is being rude to fans...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Daniel1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

589 - 595 of 1,481 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Not normally a fan of large hotels but this the exception. We were booked in for 4 nights but due to delays only stayed for 3.
The staff here are friendly, knowledgeable and efficient which is what you would expect but don't always get.
The view of Central Park from our room on the 54th floor was fantastic and when we are next in New York would definitely stay here!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Yorkflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Mandarin remains one of the best in town but is loosing it a bit. Tv is not working properly, downstairs lobby is gloomy and uninspiring and decoration needs to be redone. Service and views are top of the bill. Be aware they are doing work on the breakfast dining room so this will be served in the upstairs lobby and they will not tell you while making your reservation.

Of course location and view on central park is top this compensates for a lot but price value is under pressure.

Lobby (like many us hotels) is freezing cold.

Room Tip: Try to be close to cnn building high enough at central park side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ArcoVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed at the Mandarin for a weekend trip and it was worth it. We enjoy traveling and many of the places we have visited have had Mandarin's, but we have never sprung for it. In my honest opinion the price is worth it. The views we had from our room that overlooked Central park were amazing. I would also say one of the highlights other than the amazing service you will receive is the bathroom. The rain shower was amazing and my wife thoroughly enjoyed the oversized tub.

Room Tip: Spring for the Central Park View room on the upper floor. Was worth it in our opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nuner112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mandarin Oriental, New York! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience and truly appreciate your kind words about your stay. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I was in NYC for work and lucky to be booked at an executive suite at the MO. The views were spectacular and probably one of the best suites that I have ever been in. Upon your arrival they provide a tea service which I thought to be a nice touch. The suite was high tech and I would happily live here if I could. Only disappointment was the spa. Had a massage with a lady with very bony fingers so not helpful. Otherwise perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mandarin Oriental, New York! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience and truly appreciate your kind words about your stay. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is a beautiful hotel in a great location. The views are spectacular and the rooms are amazing! A little pricey but well worth it if you have the extra money. I stayed at the Mandarin and attended a business event. The staff was very attentive and the room they had the event was very nice with great views as well. I look forward to staying there again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank MediaMom2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mandarin Oriental, New York! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience and truly appreciate your kind words about your stay. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have stayed at the Mandarin Oriental NY several times and we think it is clearly the best overall hotel in NYC. My wife and I stayed in May and the service was excellent(especially front desk and concierge) and the rooms are modern and have phenomenal views.

Key positives:

-consistent fantastic service
-amazing views from the lobby and rooms
-best breakfast in NY - great food and views
-well styled rooms
-great location for exploring mid-town and central park
-large gym with good equipment

Nothing on the negative side

Great Hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank twosquares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mandarin Oriental, New York! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience and truly appreciate your kind words about your stay. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Upper West Side
Trump International Hotel and Tower New York
Trump International Hotel and To...
#103 of 469 in New York City
1,305 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#23 of 469 in New York City
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#54 of 469 in New York City
1,109 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#94 of 469 in New York City
188 reviews
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#47 of 469 in New York City
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, New York

Address: 80 Columbus Circle at 60th Street, New York City, NY 10023-5800
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in New York City
#14 Business Hotel in New York City
#45 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#46 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#74 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £611 - £2,246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning fusion of modern design with stylish Oriental flair, Mandarin Oriental, New York features 244 elegant guestrooms and suites - all with breathtaking views of Manhattan and Five-Star hospitality. Luxurious amenities include Asiate, the hotel's elegant restaurant; the Lobby Lounge with dramatic views of Central Park; a 14,500-square-foot, Five-Star Mandarin Oriental Spa; and a state-of-the-art fitness center with a 75-foot lap pool. In addition, there is premium meeting and event space, including a 6,000-square-foot pillar-less ballroom with three walls of windows overlooking Central Park. Located in Columbus Circle's Time Warner Center, Mandarin Oriental, New York is in an idyllic location just steps away from world-class dining, shopping and entertainment, including the Broadway Theater District, Lincoln Center, Central Park, Jazz at Lincoln Center and the Time Warner Center's collection of upscale retail shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, New York Hotel New York City
Mandarin Oriental New York City
Mandarin New York City
New York City Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing