We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mandarin Oriental, NY is a must!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Ranked #52 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Plainsboro, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mandarin Oriental, NY is a must!”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

My experience with the staff was exceptional. They went above and beyond to make sure our meeting ran as smoothly as possible. Our group flooded their inbox with multiple requests (prior to the meeting and during) and each time the staff responded quickly and very professionally. I will HIGHLY recommend this hotel and meeting space to anyone.

Each and every person I came in contact with was extremely helpful and readily available. Excellent staff, excellent service, excellent hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mandarin Oriental, New York! We are thrilled your experience was exceptional and that we made your "musts" list! We are also appreciative that you took the time to share your thoughts about our location and property! Thank you!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    989
    286
    111
    50
    27
See reviews for
263
556
91
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Corona Del Mar, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We stayed in an Executive Suite that looked out on Central Park. We wanted an extra room because my wife and I were traveling with our toddler. It was truly unbelievable. I highly recommend this hotel! Great for families too.

Room Tip: Executive Suites are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Statt2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mandarin Oriental, New York! We are glad that you and your toddler had an excellent trip! We are appreciative that you took the time to share your thoughts about our location and property!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2014

This is a very fine hotel belonging to a great chain (especially throughout Asia) with some nice views of the city and the Hudson river. The service is good and the location (Columbus Circle) excellent. I find the rooms, while comfortable, to be very, very small and when travelling on business I seem to spend more time in my room than when on vacation. Have drinks in the lobby bar on 35 where you can enjoy some stunning city light views and breakfast in the restaurant on 35 is excellent. If you stay here be prepared to pay for the pleasure of doing so but be assured that it will be a pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mandarin Oriental, New York! We are glad that you enjoyed the views! We love them as well. We appreciative that you took the time to share your thoughts about our location and rooms! Thank you.

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Having scoured numerous hotels in New York for the best view of the city afforded by a hotel bedroom, I finally opted for the Mandarin Oriental, despite the eye-watering price. Fortunately, my package deal meant we were entitled to a free upgrade to a Hudson River View Room, on the 48th floor, and this was confirmed hassle-free with the hotel a couple of months before departure. I happened to mention at the time that we were celebrating my partner's 40th birthday, mainly because I wanted to find out the cost of having champagne left in the room on arrival. On learning that it would be $177, I politely lost interest. However, August came and some gifts were left in the room which really made the occasion special. It impressed me because the hotel was by no means obliged to do anything, but it eloquently demonstrated the personal level of service the hotel can provide.
The bedroom itself commanded fine views of the Hudson River and the immediate vicinity of the city (mainly domestic tower blocks) and, to our delight, we even spied a pint-sized Statue of Liberty in the far distance. The room was a generous size, as was the bathroom, which boasted a bath as well as a shower (three in fact: a hand-held one and a ceiling one, plus another hand-held one by the bath to rinse off the suds), plus two washbasins and, obviously, a toilet, which had a temperamental flush. Everything was clean and tidy, the bed comfortable and the air conditioning whispered rather than growled. In fact we had a very quiet time there, with only the occasional sound of guests' voices outside in the corridor.
We chose not to eat any meals there, preferring the cheaper option of the smart shopping mall, of which the hotel is a part and which has a number of eateries and places where you can buy food to take away (the Whole Foods Market on the basement is a gem). We had one drink in the Mandarin Oriental's lounge, simply because it has an amazing view over Central Park and Columbus Circle, but at around $25 a drink we couldn't afford to make a night of it there.
Location-wise, it's perfect for exploring Central Park, a gentle stroll away, but the subway station within spitting distance means the rest of the city is within easy reach too.
A perfect hotel then? Well, no...not quite. Two things irked me, hence my overall score. Firstly, the hotel charges a staggering $50 corkage fee for any alcohol you bring onto the premises to consume. Secondly, there is an extra cost for WiFi access in bedrooms. I have stayed at a number of cheaper hotels which offer WiFi free of charge, and having paid a not-inconsiderable sum to stay at an upmarket hotel, it felt like the hotel was purely money-grabbing and I admit this left a bitter taste.
Even so, I found it hard to fault much of the rest of what we experienced there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Excellent hotel with amazing personal service from every member of staff we met. Wonderful location with Central park on the door step. We had amazing views even in the skyline room which were the cheapest. The exquisite bathroom and walk in wardrobe added an extra touch of class. Thankyou

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AMilla2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mandarin Oriental, New York! HAPPY BIRTHDAY! We hope it was a memorable one. We hope to see you again soon (perhaps for your 22nd?)!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Let me first declare that I may not come at this with an unbiased opinion as our hotel of preference in NYC which we try to visit once a year on our anniversary is The Ritz Carlton which is more a home away from home. If the Ritz is comfort food & home cooking, the MO is sushi & sashimi. Modern with outstanding views over Central Park but you need to pay a premium which is worth it if like us its a treat for a special occasion. Spa was great. Pool is showing it's age. Room was lovely but again there was a TINY tint of room odour which I suspect could have been removed with oils. Lobby bar again overlooking Central Park is a hub of NYC activity and there is no doubting where you are. All in all its fantastic. We have stayed in the Mandarin in HK a couple of times and I wouldn't put this up there with it but it's certainly close. Notwithstanding that we would still opt for the home cooking on future trips but that's just taste. Staff were excellent and great concierge

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PatG657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mandarin Oriental, New York! We are appreciative of your candid words and taking the time to share your experience!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

What a gem! The suites are gorgeous, the staff is white glove superb. Great location to Central park, shopping, wonderful restaurant and lounges. The spa is one of the city's best. Amazing city views with floor to ceiling windows. Room service prompt and delicious.

Room Tip: Spend the extra cash and upgrade to a suite. The bathrooms are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mandarin Oriental, New York! We are so pleased that your suite! We truly appreciate your kind words about your stay. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Upper West Side
Trump International Hotel and Tower New York
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#19 of 466 in New York City
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#45 of 466 in New York City
1,081 reviews
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#42 of 466 in New York City
712 reviews
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#28 of 466 in New York City
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, New York

Property: Mandarin Oriental, New York
Address: 80 Columbus Circle at 60th Street, New York City, NY 10023-5800
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in New York City
#14 Business Hotel in New York City
#46 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#48 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#74 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning fusion of modern design with stylish Oriental flair, Mandarin Oriental, New York features 244 elegant guestrooms and suites - all with breathtaking views of Manhattan and Five-Star hospitality. Luxurious amenities include Asiate, the hotel's elegant restaurant; MObar created by noted interior designer, Tony Chi; the Lobby Lounge with dramatic views of Central Park; a 14,500-square-foot, Five-Star Mandarin Oriental Spa; and a state-of-the-art fitness center with a 75-foot lap pool. In addition, there is premium meeting and event space, including a 6,000-square-foot pillar-less ballroom with three walls of windows overlooking Central Park. Located in Columbus Circle's Time Warner Center, Mandarin Oriental, New York is in an idyllic location just steps away from world-class dining, shopping and entertainment, including the Broadway Theater District, Lincoln Center, Central Park, Jazz at Lincoln Center and the Time Warner Center's collection of upscale retail shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, New York Hotel New York City
Mandarin Oriental New York City
Mandarin New York City
New York City Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing