We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Midtown 45

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Wyndham Midtown 45
Ranked #292 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
184 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Great location. Very modern. We had a suite on the 17th floor. All new high end appliances, fully stocked with dishes and silverware. The hotel staff could not have been nicer - A+++ on customer service cross the board. We had a problem with a bedroom light - within 30 minutes someone was up and it was fixed.

Very Reasonable price for midtown NYC hotel room suite, especially on NYC marathon weekend. Only issue we had was minor, on the 17th floor, they seemed to have a slight issue with hot water pressure - fluctuated quite a bit, but still able to take showers. Would stay again in a heart beat.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Hi Allan,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We appreciate your kind words and will share them with our staff. We are so glad you enjoyed the property location and unit amenities. We appreciate the feedback regarding the hot water pressure and will be sure to look into this matter. We hope you come back to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    284
    156
    88
    77
See reviews for
258
300
33
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Level Contributor
136 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

We originally stayed in this hotel about 5 years ago. We came back because it is in a great location and was really well appointed with style. Ideal for Grand Central, 5th Avenue and Broadway. All within walking distance.

We also came back because the 2 bed roomed suites have space, a living area, kitchenette and 2 bathrooms. Great if you need to relax and great if you want to self cater any meal.

Staff are friendly and helpful.

But, it is tired and needs renovating. Things that were good 5 years ago are now worn out, showing signs of wear and tear. The place was stylish and had a quality feel, now it feels faded.

Two gripes are the wifi and the lobby/atrium bar.

The wifi is patchy in the rooms, $15 a day for something that doesn't work and when it does is slow is not good. The only place it works well is the lobby and Atrium Bar. But they are cold.

The door onto the street means that the lobby is constantly subject to blasts of cold air.

The Atrium door is kept open to encourage people to use it, yet it is cold as a result with guests sitting there having a drink or snack in their coats and it is only the beginning of November. Goodness knows cold it will be in winter! By the way when sorting out the heating and cooling in the lobby and Atrium don't forget to sort out the rooms too.

Hopefully the new owners (and Wyndham) will invest a bit of TLC into making the place as quality as it was when it was The Alex of 5 years ago.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank fedupphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We appreciate your kind words and will share them with our staff. We are so glad you enjoyed the unit accommodations and location. We appreciate your suggestions in regards to renovation as we are always looking for ways to improve. We hope you come back to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpelier, Vermont
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

I stayed here on business; the location near Grand Central is great and the room was clean and quiet. That said, one would expect a) the shower to work, and if that doesn't work, the bath water to be clear, not gray; b) the main TV to work; c) all the plugs in the room to work; d) the clock to be set to the right time; e) if stuff doesn't work, for the repair person to show up quickly; f) a copy of my bill on departure. Am expecting too much?

Room Tip: check everything to make sure stuff works first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bfryer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are so sorry to hear you had to spend even a minute of your vacation dealing with unit maintenance issues.We know this provided many inconveniences for you during your stay. We will be looking into these concerns to ensure this is not an issue for future guests. We are sorry for your experience and greatly value your feedback. Again, thanks for reaching out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed at the hotel November 2-6, 2013. Originally booked through Chase/ LHC when it was the Alex Hotel. Very pleased that Wyndham honored the daily breakfast included that was a benefit of booking through LHC. Also we were able to check-in early at 11:00am.
Service by Front Desk, Doormen and Housekeeping was excellent, very helpful and friendly - do not understand some of the negative comments made by past guests.
We ate breakfast every morning in the restaurant and the food and service was very good.
Location at East 45th and 3rd is great, walking distance to Times Square, Theater District, Madison Avenue, Park Avenue, etc. (if you don't mind walking !).
Room was fine, although we agree with past guests that say rooms need more lighting. Very good maid service.
Understand that hotel is now part of Wyndham's time share program and they will be renovating hotel. although we had no complaints with condition of property.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Hi Chris,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We appreciate your kind words and will share them with our staff. We are so glad you enjoyed the daily breakfast and housekeeping services. We hope you come back to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Having booked this hotel eleven months ago and read the very mixed reviews over the last month we were a little apprehensive about going but had pre paid to get the best price so couldn't change it.
The hotel is on a quite street for New York which was great and the location could not have been better, it is so central for everything you could wish to do.
We were upgraded to one bedroomed suites which were lovely, yes like some of the previous reviews say it is being renovated and some of the doors on the TV units etc had been removed, but it was clean, comfortable and it was great having a fridge and the extra sofa to sit on, to be honest you spend so little time in your room you don't need a lot of extras. The bathroom was clean, lovely soft white towels everyday as well as some nice toiletries. In room safe was useful as was iron and ironing board.
Every one we encountered were polite, friendly and helpful.
I would stay there again if going to New York.
As with previous reviews the Irish pub next door had great food and one night when we were exhausted we just went across the street to the Amish market and got freshly made pizza which my daughter loved and was a fraction of the cost eating out.
We did all the usual sight seeing and the top of the Rockefeller was spectacular, we went on the free statern island ferry and got amazing pictures of the Statue of Liberty, Ellis island and the New York sky line. The only thing we thought to be a rip off was almost $75 to ice skate at the Rockefeller ( should have gone while in Central Park).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback including some great area activity suggestions for future guests. We are so glad you enjoyed the property location and comfortable unit. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

I seriously don't know what people want/expect from a hotel in Manhattan, you're in New York City, why are you spending so long in your hotel room?! Yes this is a review site, but come on!

Anyway, rant out of the way, we found this hotel to be more than acceptable. Our suite was located on the corner of the building, 23 floors up, giving us an amazing view of the Chrysler Building. It was very spacious by NY standards, the kitchenette meant we could store drinks (drawer full of fresh ice in the freezer too!) & grab a quick bowl of cereal if we wanted, before heading out TO ENJOY THE CITY (which is why we were there.)

The room was clean - yes there were a couple of small marks on the carpet, we personally didn't care. There was a wardrobe door missing, again, so what. The bathroom was very modern, looked pretty new, & everything was in perfect working order, plus the towels smelled great, like baby powder!

Housekeeping made the bed immaculately each day & washed any glasses or plates we had left in the dishwasher, amongst their other many duties.

The room was quiet, it got really warm during the day whilst we were out, but soon cooled off once we opened the window. The lifts were located right outside our door but did not disturb us at all.

The staff were friendly, polite and helpful; and the location of the hotel was great, we walked or used the subway for the whole five days, and we saw/did a lot! The Wyndham was a fantastic base, and we would definitely return - in fact we have already recommended it to someone!

Thank you for a fabulous, memorable trip!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Hi Joanne,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed the unit accommodations and unit view during your visit. We appreciate your kind words and will share this with our staff. We hope you come back to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

New York is one of those cities where the concept of value for money is banned when talking about accommodation, or so I thought before checking into wyndham 45

As we were staying for a few days, we were looking for something slightly bigger than the usual room, maybe something with a kitchenette, and we came across wyndham, which for 320usd/night gave us a suite with a fully equipped kitchen, couch area and view on the chrysler building (yes, that was the cherry on the icing). Admittedly, 320 usd is not cheap, however we were asked similar if not higher prices for double rooms in not more glamorous parts of town

On the plus side:
+ the hotel is perfectly located for sightseeing on the 45th, close to
+ the traditional landmarks and the access to the grand central metro
+ station it's also very convenient when getting into town from jfk with
+ a taxi, as it's near the bridge and so you avoid any city traffic the
+ suite was very spacious, the kitchen even had a oven and a dishwasher,
+ albeit we had to ask for a kettle and pots and pans were quite lacking
+ the room is quite modern, the furnishings are not tired

On the other hand:
- the reception is made of a small desk usually manned by 2 people, but you will hardly see one of them when you get into the hotel as there is a huge colored glass wall that sits in the middle of the corridor/reception. As I say in the title of the review, don't let it put you off, most of the staff is actually nice and helpful
- if you want to really use the kitchen, be aware that there is only a small coffee table to put your plate and eat, I found that very odd given how well the kitchen is equipped
- both room and bathroom could have done with some TLC: three of the six (scrigno) wardrobe doors vere broken, one was missing as it would have been dangerous to leave it there, moreover the shower is clogged with limescale and sprays water everywhere
- as you can expect from any hotel, they offer you a number of services at an extra fee, eg they had a car service to the airport for 65usd+toll&tip, while NYCars (inserire numero) will charge you 51+tip

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silviaaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the property location and spacious unit. We appreciate your feedback regarding unit renovation and service suggestions. We are always looking for ways to improve and your feedback will help us to do so. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Mid...
#328 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#271 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,709 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#127 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#31 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#57 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,047 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#130 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Midtown 45? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Midtown 45

Property: Wyndham Midtown 45
Address: 205 E 45th St, New York City, NY 10017-3301 (Formerly The Alex Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Green Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Midtown 45 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly unique amongst New York City hotels, The Wyndham Hotel offers a stylish retreat in the heart of the city. Choose from suites with apartment style amenities including fully equipped kitchens and Manhattan skyline views. Located in Midtown Manhattan East neighborhood, just one block from Grand Central Station and within walking distance to the United Nations, Park, Madison and Fifth Avenues. The Wyndham Midtown 45 was designed by residential architect Costas Kondylis, with custom designed furniture by David Rockwell and state-of-the-art amenities throughout. The Wyndham is perfect for those looking to explore NYC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK) and Expedia so you can book your Wyndham Midtown 45 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Hotel New York City
The Alex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing