We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Deal”
Review of Wyndham Midtown 45

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Midtown 45
Ranked #284 of 470 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 January 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank jjfortier
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (958)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

690 - 696 of 958 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

I travel a modest amount for personal and business (10 times last year for reference) and my stay at the Wyndham Midtown was one of the worst on recent memory. Two stars for location only -- just a short walk from Grand Central Station -- but just about everything else was terrible.

* Room was small (which is fine) but totally without any charm or amenities to compensate. There was a bulb burned out in the bathroom, peeling wallpaper in the room, a fold-out desk that was unstable.
* TV remote worked the first night of my stay but not the second. No clock in the room (good thing I always take my travel alarm clock). No information about NYC -- no guide about what to see/do/eat, no subway map -- not even a menu for their own restaurant.
* WiFi didn't work and when I called the front desk for assistance was redirected to the customer service phone queue for their WiFi provider. Spent about 30 minutes on the phone with no success troubleshooting. Two more calls to the front desk got me an ethernet cable but no offer to waive the cost so I still paid $15.

NYC has plenty of hotel options at this and every other price point. Stay elsewhere. I will be in the future,.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimF_Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are truly sorry for any inconvenience we may have caused you during your stay. We hope you come back to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

First, a caveat: we visited during the transition of the property to a Wyndham and things were not quite there yet; it could easily receive an "excellent" rating when transition is complete. The location near Grand Central Terminal is convenient, and cabs are readily available. (Don't bring your car.) Being on the East Side it is nice and quiet, and the neighborhood feels quite safe. The room was a nice size and well appointed, but some of the cabinets (which is to be replaced) had doors missing. There were a lot of electronics -- at least three TVs in a one bedroom unit, video players, audio players, but there was a fee for WiFi, which should never be the case. The elevators were readily available, which is nice. The staff was universally pleasant and helpful. The restaurant and bar looked nice, but we didn't take advantage of them. That will have to wait for our next visit, which is sure to happen. I think we've found our NYC hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goety911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

We appreciate your kind words and will share them with our staff. We are so glad you enjoyed the property location and unit amenities. Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We hope you come back to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Bennie J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 January 2014

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Ramon R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The room was very large for NYC standards. Bathroom was huge and had a TV and large shower. The shower leaked, badly, and the drain was not properly constructed. There were cabinets in the room that obviously at one time had doors. It would have made the entire room seem more "finished" had the doors still been attached. The room was fairly clean, could have been cleaner in the bathroom. Overall, I enjoyed the stay and location. The room "view" was horrible. Nothing but rooftops and A/C units.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinamcclelland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We hope you come back to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Ali helped us at the front desk and was AMAZING. So helpful and happy to help us. Rooms were nice and reasonably priced. TV wasn't working originally but they sent someone upstairs to fix it within 5 min. Atrium bar is connected and has great drinks and ambiance.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeShannon88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We appreciate your kind words and will share them with our staff. We are so glad you enjoyed the property location and unit amenities. We hope you come back to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 470 in New York City
11,797 reviews
Midtown
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Mid...
#345 of 470 in New York City
2,235 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flatiron District
Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel
Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel
#297 of 470 in New York City
2,240 reviews
Chelsea
Hyatt House New York/Chelsea
Hyatt House New York/Chelsea
#123 of 470 in New York City
298 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#124 of 470 in New York City
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Midtown 45? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Midtown 45

Address: 205 E 45th St, New York City, NY 10017-3301 (Formerly The Alex Hotel)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Green Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £141 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Midtown 45 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly unique amongst New York City hotels, The Wyndham Hotel offers a stylish retreat in the heart of the city. Choose from suites with apartment style amenities including fully equipped kitchens and Manhattan skyline views. Located in Midtown Manhattan East neighborhood, just one block from Grand Central Station and within walking distance to the United Nations, Park, Madison and Fifth Avenues. The Wyndham Midtown 45 was designed by residential architect Costas Kondylis, with custom designed furniture by David Rockwell and state-of-the-art amenities throughout. The Wyndham is perfect for those looking to explore NYC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Midtown 45 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Hotel New York City
The Alex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing