We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Wyndham Midtown 45

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Midtown 45
Ranked #279 of 470 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 May 2014

What a relief! After reading all of the negative reviews, I was extrememly concerned about our upcoming stay but the price just could not be beat for a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom hotel. It was nothing fancy but it was clean, spacious and in a pretty good location. I would recommend this to any family that needs space in a good location!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank reneecx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for your great feedback about the Wyndham Midtown 45. It's very important to us that we provide excellent service to our guest. I thank you again and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (959)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

633 - 639 of 959 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

Great location when visiting Manhattan whether on personal or business. Only 5 minutes from the Grand central terminal, and a short 10 minute walk to Rockefeller Center. Access to tons of stores and cafes for your early morning breakfast, daytime bottled water, umbrellas on a rainy spring day, etc.
This is definitely boutique style hotel and not a standard hotel. Size of room is small but adequate, many confusing shelves. Bathroom shower is very adequate and refreshing with powerful water pressure.
I parked next to the ICON facility leveraging the ICON app for discounted rate of $39 with tax, not bad for NYC. Checking out was a breeze...even with its tiny lobby and reception area.
On my last day, I left my luggage to be picked up later that night. Luggage are handed back through a door that opens to the sidewalk. If you pay $300+ a night, i prefer to get my luggage inside the lobby...not curbside.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeadowsValleyForge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for the feedback and I'm glad to hear our location was amazing for you and your family. It's important to us to serve you and your family. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank Camel2012
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Based on the reviews that I read on here, I had mixed feelings about making a reservation here. My husband and I needed to stay close to grand central and you can't get much closer than this hotel. Check in was a bit slow, but we did get one of the renovated rooms so that made up for it. We were on the 21st floor. No view, but the room was quite adequate for us. The only thing puzzling was the lack of a coffee maker??? You would think they would have one since people rent these rooms out as part of a time share.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjurban25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for staying at the Wyndham Midtown 45. It's always a pleasure to serve you, our guest and receive great comments. Please make sure to visit us again at the Wyndham.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

we stayed here during a trip of 4 days in new york actually it was just the 4 days before the hurricane sandy, we stay in one of the two bedroom apartments they were fabulous , great view and vey nice organized good beds and kitchen area which was for us important as we traveled with a Baby, breakfast was not included but there are some small bakery's next to the hotel or even within the hotel, service was excellent , during next trip we would stay again, btw the hotel was called the alex at this time...

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank Msteingr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback concerning the Wyndham Midtown 45. It's our pleasure to serve you, our guest. Please make sure you come and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank TimOBoston_Mass
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 May 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 470 in New York City
11,808 reviews
Midtown
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Mid...
#346 of 470 in New York City
2,236 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flatiron District
Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel
Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel
#301 of 470 in New York City
2,240 reviews
Chelsea
Hyatt House New York/Chelsea
Hyatt House New York/Chelsea
#119 of 470 in New York City
299 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#125 of 470 in New York City
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Midtown 45? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Midtown 45

Address: 205 E 45th St, New York City, NY 10017-3301 (Formerly The Alex Hotel)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Green Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £140 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Midtown 45 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly unique amongst New York City hotels, The Wyndham Hotel offers a stylish retreat in the heart of the city. Choose from suites with apartment style amenities including fully equipped kitchens and Manhattan skyline views. Located in Midtown Manhattan East neighborhood, just one block from Grand Central Station and within walking distance to the United Nations, Park, Madison and Fifth Avenues. The Wyndham Midtown 45 was designed by residential architect Costas Kondylis, with custom designed furniture by David Rockwell and state-of-the-art amenities throughout. The Wyndham is perfect for those looking to explore NYC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wyndham Midtown 45 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Hotel New York City
The Alex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing