We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply great! location,service, spa, roof top bar and pool...everithing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Ranked #206 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
“Simply great! location,service, spa, roof top bar and pool...everithing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We really loved our stay at the Gansevoort Meatpacking! From the reservation to the check out the service was fantastic!! Perfection. we travelled from London to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we found chocolates and a lovely bottle of Malbec in our room. Thank you. it was a very nice touch!!

The hotel is perfectly located in a very interesting part of the city. The Cobblesone streets and the old slaughterhouses and meatpacking building converted in fashionable boutiques give a unique charme to the area. The hotel is new, modern and clean and very well kept. it doesn t give you an impression of luxury to start with but it is actually beautiful!
We were a bit worried as we were travelling from Europe and wanted to experience New York day and night but still needed to rest somehow. We knew the area is very lively at night but this hotel is just perfect! There are very good restaurants around, night life if you wish till morning and you can reach any part of the city very easily. You can spend your night out without having to go far and take a cab as everything is here! The area is safe, and the atmosphere great at any time of the day and night.
We didn't use the underground but it s very close . Any place is at an easy cab ride and we didn t really got stuck in traffic. You can walk to Chelsea, West village, Soho very easily and nobody stops you from walking even from Central park or Brooklyn bridge if you are up to, we did it it was great. And of course you are just so close to the highline!
The hotel has a beautiful pool on the roof top. It is small ,but for Manhattan is great. We didn t use it as it s late october and the wind was chilly but still it is worth going up just for the view or sit in the sun!
The bar on the top of the hotel is also really great with beautiful people, music and of course amazing views!
Our room was just in front of the elevators, but we couldn't hear anything at all! The rooms are quite simple, but really clean and everything you need is there is there. Maybe it would be nice to have a coffee machine. The beds are very comfortable with excellent quality sheets, mattress and pillows.
During the week end the streets are very noisy at night and you can hear a bit, but nothing too bothering really.
The gym is small but well equipped.
Finally the spa. This is great, a piece of heaven. Again, it doesn't seem luxurious at first sight but it is actually very, very good. The therapist are exceptionally knowledgeable. Worth trying also the core fusion classes! What can I say? Everything was great. you can slip in one of the fantastic bathrobes that are in the bedroom and take the lift to the spa.
All the staff is really very good and professional and they would help you at any time.
Cannot wait to go back! The hotel is fantastic with the service and professionalism of a 5 star hotel, but it is unpretentious and you feel free and relaxed.
Beautiful experience. I'm really glad we choose this hotel and we cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: High floors offer a better view. elevators do not cause any noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Sa C,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We’re blushing with your sentiments and will pass them along to our hard-working team. It’s great you made the most of our bustling location as well as our hotel amenities. Did you know our rooftop pool is heated year-round? A dip on a chilly day is quite the experience. Since you enjoyed Exhale spa, perhaps next time you’d be interested in our special “Head to Toe” offer. Re-energize and renew with rooftop drinks, a continental breakfast, a fusion massage or facial and more. We look forward to helping you create even more Manhattan memories together!

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    844
    452
    185
    130
    96
See reviews for
233
549
82
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for the first time and could not have been any more thrilled with my experience. The location was fantastic and the service was impeccable. It's walking distance to so many great things to do, places to shop and places to eat - but you wouldn't even need to leave to eat because the restaurants in the hotel are fabulous as well. When I made the reservation, a month in advance, I casually mentioned we were celebrating a birthday and didn't think of it again. When we got to the hotel there was a birthday cake and bottle of sparkling wine (compliments of the hotel) waiting for us. Wait a nice gesture to show they value your business. One day, when I wasn't feeling well, the doorman even ran an errand for me. I will definitely be coming back here!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Natalie M,

Thank you for the great review. It was our pleasure to provide a memorable experience during a special birthday celebration – we aim to provide the royal treatment. On top of treating yourself with complimentary cake and wine, it sounds like you took advantage of the many Manhattan opportunities. Did you get a chance to check out any of the renowned dining options downtown? For a trendy scene with delicious food try Buddakan – their deviled tuna tartare and scallion pancakes are delightful. Next time, we’ll be sure you get around to our favorite hot spots in the city! We look forward to seeing you again.

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We were in NYC for the Global Festival in Central Park in September. But we wanted to stay where there were plenty of restaurants and cool places to go within a few blocks and the Meatpacking District definitely fits that bill. The Gansevoort Meatpacking can be whatever you want it to be. Looking for a quiet getaway - and a spa - this is a winner. The front desk staff treated us like VIP's but we were simple guests. We arrived before check in and were invited to enjoy the rooftop pool until our room was ready. When our room was ready, a staff member came up and introduced themselves and took us to our room. Modest in size but furnished perfectly, we were given a room across from the elevators which is normally a potentially loud placement. But not here - I think the modern building has accounted for that issue. It was absolutely quiet though virtually at capacity.

Each morning we felt like the reception staff were old friends - greeting us coming in and out of the place each time. At night, the rooftop bar is definitely a scene. The line up is well out on the sidewalk in front of the hotel. But hotel staff seem to know who is a guest and who is not, allowing you to quietly slip in either to one of the restaurants or the uber scene on the roof without any delay.

There are many great hotels in New York. And not everything is always perfect. But how you are treated accounts for much of your experience and the Gansevoort just seems to know how to treat people right. The new Chester restaurant looks right over the street scene like watching a movie set, the free wifi is unusual in NYC and for value, we got five star service. The Chelsea Market is 500 feet up the street and you can get just about anywhere pretty fast. Using the subway and catching Uber - it all worked perfectly and frankly, we had the feel of having a private little apartment in the area. Not all my reviews of hotels are glowing and our RYOT team has stayed in many around the world. But Gansevoort just felt good. It really did. Sure it's hip and sure it has location. But it won us over by simply being great.

Room Tip: Lower floors on the Hudson side might be noisier late at night - the 360 view is from the roof. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Gareth S,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We truly value your sentiments and are thrilled you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. It sounds like you made the most of your time in New York City exploring the trendy downtown scene and taking in the views from our rooftop. If you stay with us again, we’ll point you towards even more Manhattan opportunities! Stroll along the Highline for extraordinary city and Hudson River views, or indulge in the tri-level Meatpacking restaurant, Manon. There’s never a dull moment in the city that never sleeps and we hope to see you again soon.

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Agreed with other reviewers that this hotel has a fantastic location for access to the Village, Chelsea, SoHo, and best of all, the Highline, which is literally steps away. Getting out to the west side highway via cab is also incredibly quick and easy. Service was phenomenal and as a former New Yorker I was struck by the feel of small-town friendliness of the front desk staff and door(persons). There is a great roof bar and pool with amazing views, perfect for bringing friends and colleagues back for a nightcap. Loved staying in the meatpacking district, which is now completely gentrified (there is a Sephora across the street, Coffee Bean to the north!) but still retains old details like the cobblestone streets and old haunts like White Horse Tavern. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want views, those would have to be any direction other than the east side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salamander P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Pequot,

Thank you for the lovely review. We’re delighted you thoroughly enjoyed your experience with us as well as what our location offers. The downtown vibe is bursting with renowned eateries and stores – you can’t possibly explore it all in one trip. Next time, we’ll point you towards places you didn’t have a chance to check out to expand your Manhattan memories! We strive to provide a home-away-from-home experience and welcome you back with open arms. Hope to see you in the near future.

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

The hotel was a perfect location with great service. Shopping and restaurants were very convenient. The only challenge we had was the air conditioning was a bit suspect. Oh, and John the Doorman was fantastic.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Stephen T,

Thank you for the positive review. We apologize again for any inconvenience with your air conditioning unit and are taking extra measures to prevent technical difficulties from arising in the future. Next time we’ll lead you towards top options to make your stay even more enjoyable. Head to Chelsea Market to find places to eat and shop. Check out sample sales for designer deals and dine at renowned restaurants, such as Cull and Pistol. John and our doorman will be pleased to hear of your kind sentiments! We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

The rooftop pool area was the best place for watching the NYC 4th of July fireworks. The staff was friendly and helpful. We were there with our kids and they were very accommodating.
The rooms were comfortable. I would say 3-4 start quality. There were some cosmetic things that could get repaired but overall very nice.
The area is great and is in walking distance to many restaurants and attractions.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank E P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear E P,

Thank you for the review. We’re delighted you spent the festive Fourth of July holiday with us – we have one of the best views of the fireworks over the Hudson. As you mentioned, our downtown location puts us in an ideal spot for restaurants and city activities. If you choose to stay with us again, check out our newly opened eatery, The Chester, for fresh American cuisine. Enjoy an alfresco breakfast experience – the raised waffles with maple ice cream and blueberry syrup will satisfy any morning sweet tooth. We hope to see you all again soon!

Sincerely,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

Half way through the stay, so far so good. Very friendly staff from the door staff to the reception team.
Nice size room with good view, and a pool on the roof with an even better view. May try the gym before dinner as I hear that is well fitted out.
All in all a good hotel in a great city.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Mark E,

Thank you for sharing your experience so far. We’ll pass along your kind sentiments to our team and will continue to provide seamless service throughout your time here and during future stays. Definitely check out our gym featuring state-of-the-art Life Fitness cardio equipment and more. Another way to get exercise is by taking a stroll along the famous High Line, where you’ll also discover breathtaking views of the city and the Hudson River. We hope the rest of your stay is lovely!

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#77 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,193 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#96 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,418 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#151 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#129 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#108 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#109 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Property: Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Address: 18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014-1202 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in New York City
#108 Business Hotel in New York City
#143 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#179 Family Hotel in New York City
#182 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC Hotel, with breathtaking 360 degree panoramic views of New York City and sunsets over the Hudson River, is the first and only luxury, full service resort in Manhattan’s vibrant Meatpacking District. Gansevoort Meatpacking offers a chic retreat from the urban metropolis that redefines the world of luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelbag, Expedia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TravelUp and Ebookers so you can book your Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing