We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Ranked #208 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Scranton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I recently stayed at the hotel about a week and a half ago. I originally booked the superior room, but as soon as I checked in I was upgraded to a suite, which was amazing. The room was very clean and attention to detail were definitely there. My room had a door that opened out to the city. I was able to actually see the Empire State building. I was off to Alaska the next couple of days so I decided to just eat in the hotel at the bar and I got they're marinated skirt steaks, which was incredible. After me meal I went up to the rooftop bars and got amazing views of the city skyline. The next day I asked why I was upgraded to a suit and they said because it was my first time. I was very grateful and appreciative for the upgrade and I definitely will be coming back again and more frequently. Great place!!!

Sincerely,
Ron

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Hon2013,

Thanks for the wonderful review. It was our pleasure to provide an upgrade upon arrival – we want every guest to experience the “suite” life. We’re thrilled you noticed our attention to detail, from the décor to our personalized service. Next time, hopefully you’ll have more time to explore what the city has to offer. Our ideal downtown location is rich with renowned eateries and bars. For a trendy atmosphere paired with delicious cuisine, try the Asian fusion restaurant, Buddakan. The opportunities are endless in the city that never sleeps! We look forward to your return.

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    894
    478
    203
    136
    100
See reviews for
259
586
84
343
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Very quirky hotel. We were staying in new york for a long weekend as we had a wedding to attend. The hotel is very conveniently located for sightseeing around New York. It was my boyfriend's first time there so we did a lot of the typical tourist stuff. We suffered a bit with jet lag and as it was a weekend we wanted to pack so much stuff in. Due to the club in the basement and the bar on the roof it meant the sleep quality was not so good. I could just hear the music beat till the early hours.

Having said that the bar and the rooftop pool were awesome in the daytime. Was so relaxing up there and the views were good.

We did a boat trip round to the Brooklyn Bridge and Statue of Liberty and whilst on that we saw a driving range..I think it was Pier 64 (10 min walk from hotel). You could hit balls out into the Hudson river/into the net. That was really cool. I would also recommend the Chelsea market for breakfast as that is only 5 mins away.

Room Tip: There is a bar is on the top floor and a club in the basement so I would say try a middle room to av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola_stirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Nicola_stirling,

Thank you for the review. We sincerely apologize you were kept up due to nightlife noise. Our rooftop lounge is a hot spot with its panoramic views and signature cocktails, however we want to emphasize that our guests come first. It sounds like despite the less than ideal sleeping situation, you made the most of your trip. Next time you’re in the city, check out the Highline located right by us for unbeatable views of the city and the Hudson River. If you stay with us again, we’ll point you towards activities like this and will place you in a room that better suits your sleeping needs. Please contact digital@theghg.com with any questions or concerns. We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Meatpacking District are just the best and Rigth place to be, when you stay in New York, and Gansevoort Meatpacking Hotel are placeed just in the middle of this charming district. The hotel is nice, with good Space in the rooms, clean and modern. There are both restaurant and Roof Top bar, which are very fine, and a nice outdoor swimminpool on the roof.

BUT!! We had two very dissepointeed experiences on our stay at 5 nights. We have booked Night Owl Package for extra Price, which gives free VIP acces to Clubs in the area. We booked a night via the concierge, and it was promised that reservations will be at the room, when we came back. It was not, and we contacted concierge Again, WHO excuseed and promissed we just shoud pass him for picking up reservations later. When we came, he told it was to late (8.45 PM), which are crazy for a place closing at 3.00 AM. We never get any Night Owl VIP tickets, and no refunds ether. SO DON`T PAY EXTRA FOR NIGHT OWL, it is just fake.
The other bat experience was laundry send saturday night including accept for +50% payment on sunday. Monday morning - we checed out 12.00 o´clock - housekeeping phoned, and excuseed, but the laundry was not cleaneed, so she have to bring the dirty laundry back. Have never tryed that before at any hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2nicetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear 2nicetrip,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We sincerely apologize for your recent negative stay. We are looking into your incident immediately involving our “Night Owl” package. Additionally, we are disappointed with your poor laundry service and will contact those involved to prevent this from happening in the future. Again, we apologize for any confusion that occurred during your trip. If you give us another chance, we’d love the opportunity to provide a flawless stay. Please contact digital@theghg.com with any questions or further concerns. Thank you.

Sincerely,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We really loved our stay at the Gansevoort Meatpacking! From the reservation to the check out the service was fantastic!! Perfection. we travelled from London to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we found chocolates and a lovely bottle of Malbec in our room. Thank you. it was a very nice touch!!

The hotel is perfectly located in a very interesting part of the city. The Cobblesone streets and the old slaughterhouses and meatpacking building converted in fashionable boutiques give a unique charme to the area. The hotel is new, modern and clean and very well kept. it doesn t give you an impression of luxury to start with but it is actually beautiful!
We were a bit worried as we were travelling from Europe and wanted to experience New York day and night but still needed to rest somehow. We knew the area is very lively at night but this hotel is just perfect! There are very good restaurants around, night life if you wish till morning and you can reach any part of the city very easily. You can spend your night out without having to go far and take a cab as everything is here! The area is safe, and the atmosphere great at any time of the day and night.
We didn't use the underground but it s very close . Any place is at an easy cab ride and we didn t really got stuck in traffic. You can walk to Chelsea, West village, Soho very easily and nobody stops you from walking even from Central park or Brooklyn bridge if you are up to, we did it it was great. And of course you are just so close to the highline!
The hotel has a beautiful pool on the roof top. It is small ,but for Manhattan is great. We didn t use it as it s late october and the wind was chilly but still it is worth going up just for the view or sit in the sun!
The bar on the top of the hotel is also really great with beautiful people, music and of course amazing views!
Our room was just in front of the elevators, but we couldn't hear anything at all! The rooms are quite simple, but really clean and everything you need is there is there. Maybe it would be nice to have a coffee machine. The beds are very comfortable with excellent quality sheets, mattress and pillows.
During the week end the streets are very noisy at night and you can hear a bit, but nothing too bothering really.
The gym is small but well equipped.
Finally the spa. This is great, a piece of heaven. Again, it doesn't seem luxurious at first sight but it is actually very, very good. The therapist are exceptionally knowledgeable. Worth trying also the core fusion classes! What can I say? Everything was great. you can slip in one of the fantastic bathrobes that are in the bedroom and take the lift to the spa.
All the staff is really very good and professional and they would help you at any time.
Cannot wait to go back! The hotel is fantastic with the service and professionalism of a 5 star hotel, but it is unpretentious and you feel free and relaxed.
Beautiful experience. I'm really glad we choose this hotel and we cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: High floors offer a better view. elevators do not cause any noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Sa C,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We’re blushing with your sentiments and will pass them along to our hard-working team. It’s great you made the most of our bustling location as well as our hotel amenities. Did you know our rooftop pool is heated year-round? A dip on a chilly day is quite the experience. Since you enjoyed Exhale spa, perhaps next time you’d be interested in our special “Head to Toe” offer. Re-energize and renew with rooftop drinks, a continental breakfast, a fusion massage or facial and more. We look forward to helping you create even more Manhattan memories together!

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for the first time and could not have been any more thrilled with my experience. The location was fantastic and the service was impeccable. It's walking distance to so many great things to do, places to shop and places to eat - but you wouldn't even need to leave to eat because the restaurants in the hotel are fabulous as well. When I made the reservation, a month in advance, I casually mentioned we were celebrating a birthday and didn't think of it again. When we got to the hotel there was a birthday cake and bottle of sparkling wine (compliments of the hotel) waiting for us. Wait a nice gesture to show they value your business. One day, when I wasn't feeling well, the doorman even ran an errand for me. I will definitely be coming back here!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Natalie M,

Thank you for the great review. It was our pleasure to provide a memorable experience during a special birthday celebration – we aim to provide the royal treatment. On top of treating yourself with complimentary cake and wine, it sounds like you took advantage of the many Manhattan opportunities. Did you get a chance to check out any of the renowned dining options downtown? For a trendy scene with delicious food try Buddakan – their deviled tuna tartare and scallion pancakes are delightful. Next time, we’ll be sure you get around to our favorite hot spots in the city! We look forward to seeing you again.

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We were in NYC for the Global Festival in Central Park in September. But we wanted to stay where there were plenty of restaurants and cool places to go within a few blocks and the Meatpacking District definitely fits that bill. The Gansevoort Meatpacking can be whatever you want it to be. Looking for a quiet getaway - and a spa - this is a winner. The front desk staff treated us like VIP's but we were simple guests. We arrived before check in and were invited to enjoy the rooftop pool until our room was ready. When our room was ready, a staff member came up and introduced themselves and took us to our room. Modest in size but furnished perfectly, we were given a room across from the elevators which is normally a potentially loud placement. But not here - I think the modern building has accounted for that issue. It was absolutely quiet though virtually at capacity.

Each morning we felt like the reception staff were old friends - greeting us coming in and out of the place each time. At night, the rooftop bar is definitely a scene. The line up is well out on the sidewalk in front of the hotel. But hotel staff seem to know who is a guest and who is not, allowing you to quietly slip in either to one of the restaurants or the uber scene on the roof without any delay.

There are many great hotels in New York. And not everything is always perfect. But how you are treated accounts for much of your experience and the Gansevoort just seems to know how to treat people right. The new Chester restaurant looks right over the street scene like watching a movie set, the free wifi is unusual in NYC and for value, we got five star service. The Chelsea Market is 500 feet up the street and you can get just about anywhere pretty fast. Using the subway and catching Uber - it all worked perfectly and frankly, we had the feel of having a private little apartment in the area. Not all my reviews of hotels are glowing and our RYOT team has stayed in many around the world. But Gansevoort just felt good. It really did. Sure it's hip and sure it has location. But it won us over by simply being great.

Room Tip: Lower floors on the Hudson side might be noisier late at night - the 360 view is from the roof. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Gareth S,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We truly value your sentiments and are thrilled you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. It sounds like you made the most of your time in New York City exploring the trendy downtown scene and taking in the views from our rooftop. If you stay with us again, we’ll point you towards even more Manhattan opportunities! Stroll along the Highline for extraordinary city and Hudson River views, or indulge in the tri-level Meatpacking restaurant, Manon. There’s never a dull moment in the city that never sleeps and we hope to see you again soon.

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Agreed with other reviewers that this hotel has a fantastic location for access to the Village, Chelsea, SoHo, and best of all, the Highline, which is literally steps away. Getting out to the west side highway via cab is also incredibly quick and easy. Service was phenomenal and as a former New Yorker I was struck by the feel of small-town friendliness of the front desk staff and door(persons). There is a great roof bar and pool with amazing views, perfect for bringing friends and colleagues back for a nightcap. Loved staying in the meatpacking district, which is now completely gentrified (there is a Sephora across the street, Coffee Bean to the north!) but still retains old details like the cobblestone streets and old haunts like White Horse Tavern. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want views, those would have to be any direction other than the east side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salamander P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Pequot,

Thank you for the lovely review. We’re delighted you thoroughly enjoyed your experience with us as well as what our location offers. The downtown vibe is bursting with renowned eateries and stores – you can’t possibly explore it all in one trip. Next time, we’ll point you towards places you didn’t have a chance to check out to expand your Manhattan memories! We strive to provide a home-away-from-home experience and welcome you back with open arms. Hope to see you in the near future.

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#85 of 466 in New York City
2,295 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#123 of 466 in New York City
3,549 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#138 of 466 in New York City
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
#163 of 466 in New York City
1,406 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#81 of 466 in New York City
621 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#118 of 466 in New York City
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Property: Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Address: 18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014-1202 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in New York City
#106 Business Hotel in New York City
#152 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#174 Family Hotel in New York City
#177 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC Hotel, with breathtaking 360 degree panoramic views of New York City and sunsets over the Hudson River, is the first and only luxury, full service resort in Manhattan’s vibrant Meatpacking District. Gansevoort Meatpacking offers a chic retreat from the urban metropolis that redefines the world of luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing