We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dark Modern Boozy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Ranked #205 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Dark Modern Boozy”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I didn't realize that I was getting old until our group chose this hotel for a weekend in New York to celebrate our friend's 50th birthday. The decor is modern and tasteful. The room was not too small and well appointed. In the evening everything is dark. There are young people all over the meatpacking district and many trying to get into the rooftop nightclub at the hotel. Lots of alcohol flowing in the hotel bar area was not too attractive. The rooms are outfitted with a music player to attach your Ipod. This made for a late night for us with the group across the hall who made good use of this machine. What made matters worse for us was from our 9th floor room we heard the music from the rooftop, which lasts until 4 a.m.

The price was pretty reasonable and we enjoyed some great restaurants and shopping nearby.

Room Tip: Stay away from the 02 or 04 rooms to avoid the sound from the nightclub
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelling_Doodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear travelling_Doodle,

Thank you for sharing your feedback and happy 50th birthday to your friend! We're delighted you enjoyed the neighborhood and our room accommodations. The Meatpacking District is the perfect location for birthday celebrations, however, it does draw in a lively crowd at night. From your preferences, our reservation's team would be more than happy to provide a room that better fits your sleeping needs. We regret this was not done ahead of time, but are confident that your next experience with us will meet your standards. You might also enjoy our Park Avenue location that sits away from the heavier nightlife. For any further concerns or questions, please feel free to contact digital@theghg.com.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    861
    466
    194
    132
    97
See reviews for
239
567
82
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, PA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

With all the ultra-cool boutique hotels in NYC, there's no reason to choose this one. It's average at best. And given the higher prices, its below average. My wife and I stayed at the Ganesvoort in early January on a Saturday night. We pulled our car in front and got out. No doorman. My wife went inside and asked, the doorman could not be found. We unloaded and 10 min later he showed up while we were checking in. He was pleasant but obviously very busy (this is a management problem). Our room was fine. Clean and comfortable. The bottled waters by the bed were $10. Typical I know, but some places give these away. If you want to be outstanding, you have to stand-out somehow.

We went up to the club on the top floor. The first inside area smelled of mold and industrial cleaner. It was dark and not very crowded. We opted for a drink downstairs while waiting for friends. Coming back at the end of the evening we had to show our room key to even get in the hotel because the club entrance and hotel are the same. Not a big deal, but being hassled by a bouncer is just one more unpleasantry.

Checking out in the morning we called the valet for our car 30 min before leaving. After 50 min it finally arrived. Yeah that's right - 50 minutes. We got in, drove away, then got a call from the front desk that the valet still had our car keys. I guess my wife's keys in her purse kept the car running. They had to mail my keys to me the next day (which they did). The Ganesvoort should use a different valet company.

With all the choices in NYC, I won't be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Chris C,

Thank you for your detailed review. We sincerely apologize for the lack of attentiveness upon check-in. The doorman should have greeted you the moment you arrived and we regret to hear that wasn't the case. Moreover, we are looking into the miscommunication from our valet service to ensure the highest standards are met for guests. On another note, we are glad you found comfort in our room and hope to provide the same next time around. We would love the opportunity to exceed your expectations in all aspects, should you choose give us another chance. For any questions or further concerns, please contact digital@theghg.com.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Definitely for those wanting to paint the town red. Not for families with small children. There are various shopping stores, restaurants, and nightlife all within walking distance. The hotel itself has a bar, lounge, and restaurant. Love, love, love this place. I gave it only 4 stars because when I went it was all booked and so I didn't get a room with a balcony like I had originally wanted. But definitely will stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Jennifer A,

Thank you for the kind review. We’re thrilled you enjoyed your experience. Isn’t the expansive view from our rooftop remarkable? It’s a wonderful place to retreat above the skyline and make the most of the city nightlife. Hopefully you had the chance to relax in our heated pool as well. Next time, our reservations team will be more than happy to place you in the room of your dreams. Please contact us at digital@theghg.com with any further comments or questions. Thank you!

Best,

Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I've been meaning to write this review for, well, 18 months!

I was part of a group of 4 girls who stayed at Gansevoort in August 2012 and can happily say we had a AMAZING time! The rooms we stayed in were just the right size for us - pretty average with lovely finishing and great bathroom - kind of moody, romantic, sexy look going on. It was my friend's 30th & the hotel had left us a bottle of wine & a bottle of champers plus some truffles.

The hotel bar/club is one of the most happening in the MP and staying there means you bypass all the queues, experiencing the music and vibe whilst being able to sneak away for a quiet moment. It does get really loud up there and you bump into lots of sane/weird/drunk folks in the elevator that would lend itself to a great story.

The hotel buffet breakfasts were pretty average but you have so many places to choose from nearby. The lobby has a pool table and cool lounge chairs.

The pool and Ibizan style retreat over the rooftops of NYC is great. Slightly on the poser side (water bombs strictly prohibited) and apart from a small glitch (when this cow accused me of stealing her iPhone!) all service, ambience was great. Great hotels attract good looking people that's for sure and you'll get a eyeful of eye candy pool side!

What made our stay special was the amazing attentive attention we had from the concierge - specifically Keoni - who organised everything for us from the UK - dinners, tours, boat rides and the infamous trip to Woodbury Commons shopping outlet. We felt like the British Royal Family on tour!

I'd deffo recommend Gansevoort - especially as a group of friends, or couples. Even Solo to be honest as you would definitely get talking to people :)

Room Tip: Take it easy on the booze as their shots are massive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lou_the_londoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear lou_the_londoner,

Thank you for the detailed review. We loved having you and look forward to helping you create more Manhattan memories in the future. It was our pleasure to provide the utmost royal treatment. It sounds like you took full advantage of your time in the Big Apple and we’ll inform Keoni of your appreciation. We truly value your recommendation and look forward to taking care of you again!

Best,

Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2014

okay, i could give the hotel a break since i did arrive at the same time as the artic storm. hotel is fine. Chester's, the restaurant, won't stay in biz long with their poor service, lack of healthy menu options, and staff attitude. i was the only person dining for lunch and had to flag service down from behind a staff curtain. food was uninspired and overcooked.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Debbie f,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We’re glad you enjoyed our hotel, however it saddens us your experience at The Chester was not pleasurable. We will pass along your comments to restaurant management. We hope you’ll still consider our hotel for future visits. We’d love the chance to surpass your every expectation next time around. Please contact us at digital@theghg.com with any questions or further concerns. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedarhurst, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The staff at the Gansevoort were wonderful, the hotel was very cozy, my wife and I had the best time. We not only plan to go back, we plan on staying at all the Gansevoort hotels. The food was excellent the rooms were very clean. But I want to give a special thanks to one of the Hotels employee's Mr. John Dzakpa whom was so nice friendly caring man, he made us feel like we were family! We hope that the hotel management appreciate Mr. Dzakpa because I look forward to seeing him again when I return to the hotel and any friends I know I will refer them to the hotel through Mr Dzakpa.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANDREW O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear ANDREW O,

Thank you for the thoughtful review. We loved having you and your wife and truly look forward to your return. We bet you’d enjoy our Park Avenue and Turks and Caicos properties as well! John will be pleased to see you again and we’ll inform him of your appreciation. Did you get a chance to indulge in our rooftop views? Take in the city lights while swimming in our heated pool or lounging above the bustling streets. We’ll see you again soon.

Best,

Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed two night here at the end of January 14' over a weekend.

It's a good hotel, and the location is great. The room was fine, if a little small. The bars are good and the food is excellent.

Unfortunately we were kept awake on both nights until 3am, and we were also too close to the very loud elevators. It slightly ruined an otherwise good stay.

Next time we will try the Standard or somewhere near the park. More of a bachelor party venue than a couples hotel.

Nick

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NickAtherton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Nick,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We’re happy you enjoyed our food and beverage services. However, it saddens us to hear your sleep was disrupted due to the location of your room. Our reservations team is will happily move guests to a room that better suits their needs. Next time, be sure to make our team aware of your preferences and also check out our couple's packages. They are tailored for those that seek a romantic getaway with all the comforts of a home-awa-from-home. Please contact us at digital@theghg.com with any questions or further concerns. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#83 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#108 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,471 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#145 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#107 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#115 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#106 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Property: Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Address: 18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014-1202 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in New York City
#107 Business Hotel in New York City
#146 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#178 Family Hotel in New York City
#181 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC Hotel, with breathtaking 360 degree panoramic views of New York City and sunsets over the Hudson River, is the first and only luxury, full service resort in Manhattan’s vibrant Meatpacking District. Gansevoort Meatpacking offers a chic retreat from the urban metropolis that redefines the world of luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing