We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hip, modern and right in MPD”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Ranked #207 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
374 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Hip, modern and right in MPD”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great rooftop for drinks and an evening. Rooms are average NYC size (so, bit small elsewhere) but they are well fitted out. Views from rooms are great too. Feel the city buzzing. Near everything in MPH (Market, High Line, shops). Only warning is that if you are in a North facing room, it can be very loud after the bars close at 3, so get a high floor or go to the other side.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Damian C,

Thank you for the great review. We're pleased you had such a wonderful experience and we're thrilled you truly enjoyed the Meatpacking District. The area has so much to offer from its vibrant nightlife to delectable restaurants and luxurious shopping. When you weren't exploring our neighborhood, we're glad you had a chance to head to our rooftop to take in the beautiful panoramic views and tasty cocktails. Being a part of the hustle and bustle can be exciting but sometimes it's nice to relax and look down at the chaos from above. We appreciate your feedback regarding the noise. Our reservations team always does their best to accommodate each guest's preferences. It's been a pleasure having you and we hope you return soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    861
    466
    194
    132
    97
See reviews for
239
567
82
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is very fun and a great place to go and drink with the roof top hotel being excellent. There are plenty of restaurants and bars near to the hotel and I would recommend trying a few out rather than being confined to the hotel. Though only negative is the rooms are tiny and pokey, though I guess this is just NYC hotel rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FBrown1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear FBrown1980,

Thank you for the lovely review. It was a pleasure having you and we're thrilled your time spent with us was enjoyable. The Meatpacking District is filled with delicious restaurants as well as bars and we're glad you tried out the various options it offers. We apologize you found your room to be on the smaller side. Our accommodations range in size and our reservations team is always happy to place a guest in a suite that matches their needs. We'd love for you to return for another memorable trip.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntersville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This was a very nice hotel but someone had hyped it up and I don't think it met all those expectations. Room was beautiful and modern, with a few quarks. Staff was professional but not overly friendly. I would definitely stay there again but don't feel it really exceeded in anything in particular. The nightclub was fun tho.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristak6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Kristak6,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay but deeply regret it didn’t exceed your expectations. Our team works to provide all of our guests with an outstanding experience and we can assure that your next visit will be nothing short of amazing. On another note, it's important to be comfortable in your surroundings, and we're pleased you found our rooms to be gorgeous and modern. We're also thrilled you had a great time at Provocateur. The Meatpacking District's nightlife is filled with vibrant entertainment as well as restaurants and is often one of our guests' favorite features. We look forward to providing an exceptional trip next time.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We just got back from two nights at this hotel and were totally unimpressed. The hotel caters to club kids and twenty somethings, and the service reflects that. Be forewarned that you will be forced to share the elevator and lobby with drunken, scantily clad folks on weekend evenings, so if you are traveling with kids, or not into witnessing trashy behavior, it is not a pleasant experience. To be fair, the location is good, our room was quiet, and there is a small but adequate gym on the lower level. However, there is zero attention paid to the guests at the hotel, because clearly the money is being made in the club on the roof and that is where the emphasis is put. When we arrived, our room wasn't ready, we gave our cell number, and never got a call. Finally at 5:00 we called, and were told it had been ready for at least an hour. We called housekeeping at 4 to ask for a roll away bed, and never heard back. Finally we called back at 6 and said we needed it by 7. At that point we gave up. The phone then rand and we were told that it would be hard to locate a crib...sigh. We had only every been asking for a roll away. It finally came late that evening. We went to have brunch at the restaurant one day, it was empty, part of our party was on their way down in the elevator, the host would not seat us until the party was complete, we complained that we were hotel guests, and they would be down in two minutes, can we please sit and order a drink...he said we couldn't. Finally the waitress realized this was ridiculous at sat us. There was nobody waiting for a table and the place was empty, it was commons sense and courtesy to seat us. Also, we went to the pool one morning, which has very little seating. Most of the chairs were claimed although there were very few people actually in the pool. One woman had towels on three chairs for over three hours, and while the lifeguard told her there was a policy that you could not hold a chair for longer than an hour, this rude guest argues loudly with her an kicked a pregnant woman and a mom and her kid out of the unused chairs - and yet there was nobody there to enforce the policy and no system to ensure this kind of terrible behavior did not take place. Furthermore, the decor of the rooms is dated, with pictures of "sexy" men and women making out or in "alluring" poses. Most people there seemed to be celebrating bachelor parties, or 21st birthdays, or other events that require Kardashian-like attire. So, I'm not sure who this hotel is for, but it's not for us. We will not be going back.

Room Tip: I would not stay in a room above the 6th floor due to the club on the roof. That said, there is a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear momgal,

Thank you for the detailed review. We deeply regret your experience was not up to par and apologize for the inconveniences you encountered. You should have been immediately notified when your room was ready. We've followed up with the appropriate team members to ensure similar situations don't occur in the future. We understand your frustration with the roll-away bed, but unfortunately we only have a limited amount and aren't always able to immediately provide them. Regardless, all of our guests deserve impeccable service and we truly apologize we couldn't supply it earlier. All customers should be treated with respect by our team, as well as others staying at our hotel, and we appreciate you informing us of your morning at the pool. Additionally, we will pass your comments along to The Chester management as we know they'll be thankful to learn of your remarks. We are glad you enjoyed your quiet room and the exciting Meatpacking District. We are dedicated to surpassing our guests' expectations and we hope we have another opportunity to prove that to you. Please feel free to contact us at Digital@TheGHG.com for further questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Super location, close to chic boutiques and restaurants. Make sure you eat at the catch across the road. The staff was very helpful.

The rooms were very nice, especially the bathrooms, unlike most NYC hotels. The boom box was awesome. Pricey but worth it!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Fahad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Fahad A,

Thank you for the outstanding review. The Meatpacking District has a plethora of delicious restaurants as well as luxurious shopping and we're thrilled you took advantage of both. We're also glad you enjoyed our spacious rooms as well as our Curious Provisions bluetooth sound system. It’s important to us that guests listen to tunes in style. We hope to have you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent location and service with a very big thanks to manager Valerie for an amazing room upgrade....greatly appreciated, especially as they were at capacity. The room had an excellent view of the river and as a former new yorker it made me feel home again. The hotel is known for its rooftop bar which I had been to on several occasions, but this was first time staying at the hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank AdenTravelsALot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear AdenGlobalTraveler,

Thank you for sharing your experience and welcome back to Manhattan. Your kind remarks are incredibly appreciated, especially coming from a former New Yorker. As you know, the city offers a vast array of hotels and we’re honored you chose to stay with us. We're glad Valerie could upgrade you to a room facing the beautiful Hudson River and we'll be sure to inform her of your compliments. We're glad you had a chance to visit our rooftop bar as a hotel guest and hope you had a chance to enjoy our heated pool as well. We hope to have you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Great location, hip rooftop, and room upgrade had a fantastic view of the river. Special thanks to manager Valerie who was very accomodating to change rooms, even when the hotel was nearly full. Really enjoyed the service which was fast , friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdenTravelsALot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear AdenTravelsALot,

Thank you for the fantastic review. We're thrilled we were able to upgrade you to a room facing the Hudson River. We hope you were able to take in the setting sun over the river from the comfort of your suite. Valerie will be delighted to know she helped make your stay a flawless experience. We’d love to have you again for more wonderful New York moments.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#82 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#107 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,471 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#145 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#121 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#114 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#106 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Property: Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Address: 18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014-1202 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in New York City
#107 Business Hotel in New York City
#147 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#178 Family Hotel in New York City
#181 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC Hotel, with breathtaking 360 degree panoramic views of New York City and sunsets over the Hudson River, is the first and only luxury, full service resort in Manhattan’s vibrant Meatpacking District. Gansevoort Meatpacking offers a chic retreat from the urban metropolis that redefines the world of luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing