We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Ranked #205 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Bingham Farms, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I love this location. The hotel needs a bit of updating but the staff is very friendly and the rooftop pool and bar are fun to hang out in. We love Spice Market just across the street. If you go definitely make reservations there. We walk to Soho for shopping and love the nightlife in Meatpacking. Would like to send a special thanks to Monica their Concierge. She made an appointment for me at a salon for a blowout which was horrible. She immediately called another service to come to my room for another blowout and had the salon refund my money. She also sent a bottle of champagne to our room for the inconvenience. That was totally unexpected. Thanks Monica for making my stay at the Gansevoort so special. We love your hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Kimberly C,

Thank you for the lovely review. We're thrilled Monica and the rest of our team were able to make your experience special and we're glad you’re fond of the Meatpacking District. It offers a great deal of delicious restaurants and we're excited that you found one you absolutely loved. In regards to your initial blowout, we apologize you were unhappy, however we’re delighted that Monica was able to save the day and remedy the situation. It's the small details that make a moment extra memorable. It was a pleasure having you and we hope you return soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    849
    458
    188
    130
    97
See reviews for
237
555
82
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I am the first to let a company know if they have disappointed me, but on the other hand I always let companies know when they are doing it right. I am a mother and along with my teenager daughter and two 20 year old nieces we stayed together in the Gansevoort Meatpacking hotel. We were very comfortable and felt well taken care of. Our last evening though our car was tagged and towed - yes we did read the street signs, but sadly didn't read them ALL in their entirety. The hotel's front desk were amazing in finding our vehicle online with the government site, printed the important information and got us on the right track to retrieving our car. We were treated with kindness and compassion. As well, the print out they gave us actually really helped at the car pound and speed up the process considerably for us. And just as important to mentioned, Charles the customer care rep at the hotel's intake, was amazing and protected our car for a short while as we gathered ourselves in readiness for the long drive back to Toronto, Ontario Canada. He was wonderful.
I would stay there again :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotravel22222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Lovetotravel22222,

Thank you for the brilliant review. It's unfortunate that your car was towed but we're glad our team was able to help locate and retrieve it. We're always available to assist with any type of request or issue, no matter the size. We're pleased the rest of your stay was nothing short of amazing and we're thrilled you felt taken care of. We appreciate your kind words and truly look forward to having you and your family again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Really nice modern hotel. Room size was good (unlike some other Manhattan hotels!) with lots of space around the bed and a good sized bathroom with a proper bath. Good wifi. Service from the staff was really nice and friendly without being too over familiar. Everything I expect from a decent modern hotel!

However we arrived on a saturday evening and the bar in the reception was packed with trendy young things. The music was loud and thumping. The thumping of the music was distinctly audible still in our room on the 6th floor way past midnight and people were running up and down the corridors, shouting, laughing, slamming their doors etc after getting back form their night out.

On other days people were queuing up to get into the roof-top bar which meant you ended up sharing the lifts up to your room with party-people (some obviously drunk) which was a bit off putting.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Matt D,

Thank you for the lovely review. We understand the importance of a restful night’s sleep and we deeply regret that your slumber was disrupted by Plunge Rooftop’s nightlife scene. Our reservations team is always happy to provide a room that meets all of your needs. It is important to us that your stay is nothing short of flawless and we are confident that we can accomplish this on your next trip. Please feel free to contact Digital@TheGHG.com for any further concerns or questions.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Nice room, bad scene. Top floor bar is yesterdays news with average people. Annoying that if you arrive in the evening and you pay 600 dollars a night that you have to work your way past the bouncers every time and convince them that you are staying in the hotel. A seperate entrance for people wanting to visit the top floor bar might be an idea. Also they refused a late checkout, although I stayed in the hotel for a week and wanted to pay extra for the late checkout. Great area. Ground floor bar also not the place to be with terrible music. Indian restaurant across the road is excellent. The pool scene at the Soho House across the street is ten times better then the pool area at the Gansevoort, stay there if you want to chill by the pool as well. Go to the standard instead if you like a cocktail or two and enjoy the boom boom room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Tim K,

Thank you for the detailed review. We’re glad you enjoyed your room but deeply regret that you weren’t completely satisfied with the rest of your experience. We strive to provide our guests with a flawless trip from check-in to check-out and we apologize we were unable to accomplish that with you. With safety in mind, our team identifies all guests before heading to the rooftop, however we understand your frustration with continually having to show verification. Additionally, we regret that we were unable to change your reservation to a late check-out as we’re only able to accommodate this request upon availability. We’d love the opportunity to prove our dedication and ensure your next stay is nothing short of amazing. Please feel free to contact Digital@TheGHG.com for further questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Hi,

I checked in to the Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC on Sat, 05/31 - June 01/2014 for my Bachelorette Party and had a great time at the pool and the bar. I got comped for 2 drinks that was a killer! And I also got a complimentary cheese platter in my room. And I had an even better time at Plunge Rooftop at Midnight. It surely was a great Bacherlotte night with my friends. The staff was amazing and very accommodating to my friends and I. Also to note that Kenya in Reservations (located at the Park Avenue NYC location) checked on my reservations at all times just to make sure all the info was correct. She answered all of my questions everytime I called. I would love to thank her and the staff at the Meatpacking location.

Thank you, Thank you so much!

You made a Bacherlotte (soon to be a Bride) very happy!!

Janelle Revanales

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors give a great NYC view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Janelle R,

Thank you for the outstanding review and congratulations on your engagement! We’re thrilled you chose to celebrate such a special occasion with us and we’re glad we could help make it amazing. We strive to surpass our guests’ expectations and we’re pleased we accomplished that with you. We’ll be sure to pass your kind remarks along to Kenya and the rest of our dedicated team. We know it’s the little details that can make a big difference and we’re happy you enjoyed the complimentary rooftop drinks as well as the cheese platter. It's wonderful that you had a chance to visit Plunge Lounge and we hope you had the opportunity to check out the beautiful views of the Hudson River. We’re thrilled you enjoyed yourself and we're wishing you a blissful wedding. Until next time!

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Was in Manhattan for three weeks and this was one of the Hotels my husband and I stayed in. We absolutely loved it. We arrived after having checked out earlier from The Giraffe Hotel due to the noise at night/early morning. Originally I had booked this Hotel for 7 nights but having experienced the noise at The Giraffe and knowing there was a nightclub in the Hotel I changed it to 4 nights. In the end, we did not want to leave. When we checked in we were upgraded to a room on the 9th Floor. I can honestly say noise was not a problem. The Roof Top bar was great. This Hotel has everything. Very groovy with friendly staff in the best location. Loved the Gansevoort and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank australiamagpies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear australiamagpies,

Thank you for the brilliant review. We're pleased you chose to stay with us and we’re thrilled your experience was superb. It’s always our pleasure to upgrade our guests when possible, and we’re happy we were able to do so for you. Also, we understand the importance of getting a good night’s rest and we’re glad you were satisfied with your quiet room. We’re happy you enjoyed our lively rooftop bar and were able to retreat to your relaxing 9th floor oasis afterwards. In addition to our features and amenities, our location has a great deal of wonderful attractions and we’re elated you found the area to be amazing. We’re excited to have you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing time in this hotel, on of the best of NYC, the area is so nice and the staff was extremely polite, nice spa and great view at the pool, the lounge at night is awesome def a great time
We book the trip with Jonathan and was amazing so is Valeri at front desk

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Daniela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Daniela M,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We're pleased you had an excellent time and we're honored you consider us to be one of the best hotels in New York City. We're thrilled you found our services to be pleasantly helpful and we'll be sure to pass along your compliments to Jonathan, Valeri and the rest of our dedicated team. We offer a plethora of amenities and we're happy you had a chance to experience so many of them. We'd have to agree, our rooftop views of the Hudson River are stunning and our lounge is always a lively evening destination. It was a pleasure having you and we hope you return soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#76 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,211 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#99 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,438 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#141 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#127 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#116 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#102 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Property: Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Address: 18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014-1202 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in New York City
#107 Business Hotel in New York City
#143 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#178 Family Hotel in New York City
#181 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC Hotel, with breathtaking 360 degree panoramic views of New York City and sunsets over the Hudson River, is the first and only luxury, full service resort in Manhattan’s vibrant Meatpacking District. Gansevoort Meatpacking offers a chic retreat from the urban metropolis that redefines the world of luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelbag, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing