We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy spot but needs some TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Ranked #205 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Trendy spot but needs some TLC”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights starting mid week in June. The hotel seemed quite busy and the rooftop bar got busy at night, banging out overly loud tunes (it's not a nightclub in the middle of Ibiza)... Drinks were slightly overpriced, but I suppose thats what you get if you want to mingle with those who like to think they are trendy or too cool for school.... Was difficult to get a place to sit on occasion as I think it's used a lot as a regular place to drink which is not really great for the people staying there. We used the pool once to dip our feet in it wasn't the cleanest with lots of something dodgy looking building up around the side so we decided not to go in. Was a few posers lingering around the pool to top up their tans during the days when it's hot, but it's nice to sit and have a drink after a busy day sightseeing. The music from the bar upstairs is very noisy, we were on the 6th floor and we still heard it well until late. Also the hotel sells spare ladies knickers which are in the bathrooms for $22, not sure what this says about the sort of people the hotel attracts, but anyway.... The rooms were a decent size but some of the furnishings were starting to wear a bit and for the price of the rooms I wouldn't expect this.... Didn't eat there or order room service as the price for delivery was ridiculous so we ordered in instead at no charge. Not sure if i'd return to this hotel. I like modern and trendy places, but not sure if this place hits the mark for me.... Staff were very nice though.

Room Tip: Book through Magellan for better rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klh_110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear klh_110

Thank you for the thorough review. We apologize your trip was not up to par and that our rooftop nightlife was disruptive. If you choose to stay with us again, our reservations department will happily provide a room that better suits your needs. Our rooftop bar is a popular summer destination and we deeply regret you weren't able to easily find seating. On the other hand, we are pleased you found our pool area to be a great place to relax and enjoy a cocktail. We'd love a second chance to prove our dedication and to surpass your expectations. Please feel free to contact Digital@TheGHG.com for further questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    884
    475
    198
    135
    99
See reviews for
254
576
83
341
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We arrived to New York on a rainy Thursday prior to Memorial Day weekend. Our previous accommodations fell through and we came to the Gansevoort Hotel by recommendation of a family friend that was a local as well. Our experience started with the website. The website was impressive which instills confidence, I am always a little skeptical when the website looks too good but once we arrived we saw that everything was exactly as portrayed on website. That was very comforting. Even more comforting then that was the staff! We called the hotel to speak with reservations to see if it would be possible to find such a amazing hotel still available at 5pm on the Thursday before Memorial Day, we graciously were connected with Jonathan, a charismatic, articulate and extremely efficient employee, he booked us a 5 night stay that was unforgettable. , The moment we arrived out front in a taxi a gentleman named Eddie came to the cab with an umbrella for the rain then grabbed our bags. We were escorted inside to speak with Chris at the front desk. Chris was very charming as well as knowledgeable. He helped us daily with planning our adventures in the west village and the surrounding areas. We stayed on the 11 floor and it was really quiet. The accommodations were wonderful. The location was perfect. You could walk for miles and still never see enough. Close to bleeker and a block away from Christian Louboutin! We could be more perfect!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChillnGrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear ChillnGrill,

Thank you for the outstanding review. We're thrilled you chose to stay with us and we're elated your experience was nothing short of amazing. We're glad you felt well-taken care of and we'll be sure to inform our devoted team of your compliments. It's wonderful that you had a chance to explore the Meatpacking District as well as our surrounding neighborhoods. There's a plethora of sights to see and we're happy we were able to point you in the right direction. We're truly pleased your stay was fantastic and we'd love to have you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights and found little to fault with the hotel, our room on the corner of the 8th floor was large, clean and comfortable and we had great views. Staff were friendly and we enjoyed using the pool on the top floor although have to say we hated the music that they insisted on playing from loud speakers, whatever happened to peace and quiet when trying to relax?? The food was good and the location of the hotel in the Meatpacking district excellent with easy access to restaurants, shops, the subway and the High Line (loved walking along here on a warm evening). The hotel was busy and lively in the evening so if you're looking for peace and quiet perhaps not the best place to stay but we enjoyed it and would definitely stay again. Also appreciate good free wi fi.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Alison S,

Thank you for the fantastic review. We're elated you chose to stay with us and we're thrilled you enjoyed your experience. We’re glad your room offered a beautiful view of the cityscape to wake up to in the morning. Additionally, we're happy you had a chance to lounge by our pool, but deeply regret that you weren't fond of our music choices. Our rooftop management is always open to suggestions and we'll be sure to inform them of your feedback. We also have a Park Avenue location that's in a more low key area and may provide a quieter trip. On another note, we're glad you enjoyed the delicious dining, luxurious shopping and convenient transportation that the Meatpacking District offers. We look forward to having you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heide, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

A great place to stay in one of the hippest parts of town. The hotel is nice, clean, safe and well maintained. The staff is friendly and the breakfast was really good. The rooftop bar and pool looks better on the brochures BUT there is a lot going on at night, so yes, its good too!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jochen2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Jochen2011,

Thank you for the great review. We're pleased you enjoyed your experience and we're glad you felt safe and well-taken care of. We'd have to agree, our location is one of the most vibrant neighborhoods in New York City and we're happy you enjoyed the area. We apologize our rooftop décor didn't meet your expectations, but we're thrilled it's liveliness allowed you to have a wonderful evening regardless. We would love to have you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingham Farms, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I love this location. The hotel needs a bit of updating but the staff is very friendly and the rooftop pool and bar are fun to hang out in. We love Spice Market just across the street. If you go definitely make reservations there. We walk to Soho for shopping and love the nightlife in Meatpacking. Would like to send a special thanks to Monica their Concierge. She made an appointment for me at a salon for a blowout which was horrible. She immediately called another service to come to my room for another blowout and had the salon refund my money. She also sent a bottle of champagne to our room for the inconvenience. That was totally unexpected. Thanks Monica for making my stay at the Gansevoort so special. We love your hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Kimberly C,

Thank you for the lovely review. We're thrilled Monica and the rest of our team were able to make your experience special and we're glad you’re fond of the Meatpacking District. It offers a great deal of delicious restaurants and we're excited that you found one you absolutely loved. In regards to your initial blowout, we apologize you were unhappy, however we’re delighted that Monica was able to save the day and remedy the situation. It's the small details that make a moment extra memorable. It was a pleasure having you and we hope you return soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I am the first to let a company know if they have disappointed me, but on the other hand I always let companies know when they are doing it right. I am a mother and along with my teenager daughter and two 20 year old nieces we stayed together in the Gansevoort Meatpacking hotel. We were very comfortable and felt well taken care of. Our last evening though our car was tagged and towed - yes we did read the street signs, but sadly didn't read them ALL in their entirety. The hotel's front desk were amazing in finding our vehicle online with the government site, printed the important information and got us on the right track to retrieving our car. We were treated with kindness and compassion. As well, the print out they gave us actually really helped at the car pound and speed up the process considerably for us. And just as important to mentioned, Charles the customer care rep at the hotel's intake, was amazing and protected our car for a short while as we gathered ourselves in readiness for the long drive back to Toronto, Ontario Canada. He was wonderful.
I would stay there again :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotravel22222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Lovetotravel22222,

Thank you for the brilliant review. It's unfortunate that your car was towed but we're glad our team was able to help locate and retrieve it. We're always available to assist with any type of request or issue, no matter the size. We're pleased the rest of your stay was nothing short of amazing and we're thrilled you felt taken care of. We appreciate your kind words and truly look forward to having you and your family again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Really nice modern hotel. Room size was good (unlike some other Manhattan hotels!) with lots of space around the bed and a good sized bathroom with a proper bath. Good wifi. Service from the staff was really nice and friendly without being too over familiar. Everything I expect from a decent modern hotel!

However we arrived on a saturday evening and the bar in the reception was packed with trendy young things. The music was loud and thumping. The thumping of the music was distinctly audible still in our room on the 6th floor way past midnight and people were running up and down the corridors, shouting, laughing, slamming their doors etc after getting back form their night out.

On other days people were queuing up to get into the roof-top bar which meant you ended up sharing the lifts up to your room with party-people (some obviously drunk) which was a bit off putting.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Matt D,

Thank you for the lovely review. We understand the importance of a restful night’s sleep and we deeply regret that your slumber was disrupted by Plunge Rooftop’s nightlife scene. Our reservations team is always happy to provide a room that meets all of your needs. It is important to us that your stay is nothing short of flawless and we are confident that we can accomplish this on your next trip. Please feel free to contact Digital@TheGHG.com for any further concerns or questions.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#89 of 466 in New York City
2,279 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#122 of 466 in New York City
3,519 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#152 of 466 in New York City
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
#162 of 466 in New York City
1,394 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#100 of 466 in New York City
605 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#114 of 466 in New York City
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Property: Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Address: 18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014-1202 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in New York City
#106 Business Hotel in New York City
#148 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#176 Family Hotel in New York City
#179 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC Hotel, with breathtaking 360 degree panoramic views of New York City and sunsets over the Hudson River, is the first and only luxury, full service resort in Manhattan’s vibrant Meatpacking District. Gansevoort Meatpacking offers a chic retreat from the urban metropolis that redefines the world of luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing