We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,999)
Filter reviews
1,999 results
Traveller rating
990
517
227
160
105
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
990
517
227
160
105
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolchelsea marketmanhattan suitethe meat packing districtnew yorkthe high linewhitney museumhudson rivercool hotelgreat shoppingbottle of champagneamazing hotelstreet noisecentral parkhighlinehipnyc
Filter
Updating list...
881 - 886 of 1,999 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Thank you for making our stay at your hotel special and memorable. We really can not thank all the staff enough for their help and kindness . We could not have found a better hotel. What an amazing experience . From the moment we valeted our car to the moment we left first it was class all the way. Front desk crew was amazing especially Valerie. We want to thank the whole team there for making our "stay-cation " one we will always remember and treasure. Housekeeping was wonderful , what ever we needed was promptly delivered to us with a smile . We will definitely be staying at Gansevort Meatpacking again very soon. I am recommending your hotel to all I meet and hope that I am able to return some day. Thank you from Mio & Olivera

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meechkoo .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Meechkoo,

Thank you for the rave review. We loved having you and we're thrilled your stay-cation was absolutely flawless from check-in to check-out. We appreciate your feedback and we'll be sure to inform Valerie and the rest of our devoted team of your compliments. It is the little details that can make a significant impact and we're glad our team's friendliness as well as attentiveness helped make your experience memorable. We are looking forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We wanted to try something different but should have read the other reviewers before we booked it. The location is perfect. The suites are good sized. The decor is very trendy. The spa is very elegant and their staff is top notch. However, the hotel service is awful. For this price point we are use to helpful, friendly staff that is on the Ritz level. We stayed four days and the front desk staff acted like they were doing you a favor by answering a simple question. During the day when coming and going the doormen stand off to the side and talk among themselves, never once opening a door or giving any type of greeting. However, returning to the hotel at night we were very rudely told we had to show our room key to even enter the lobby due to the wait line of non guest for the rooftop bar. Once we got to the roof top bar for a drink we were asked to leave our table after 20 mins to make room for non guest. When we explained we were guest and would not leave our small 2 person table in the corner we talked down to with disgust and the staff demanded to show our room key again. When we once again proved we were guest he rolled his eyes and walked away without any apology. The price is on par for St. Regis, Ritz, The Mark, Bayan Tree, The Surrey, Trump, etc but the customer service is not on par for Motel 6

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Rebecca G,

Thank you for the thorough review. We're glad you enjoyed the Meatpacking District and our ample-sized rooms. On another note, we sincerely regret your visit was not completely up to par and we apologize for the misunderstanding on our rooftop. All of our guests deserve outstanding service and we're disappointed that you didn't experience that. We request to see room keys to ensure the safety of our guests, but we understand it can be frustrating and we apologize for the inconvenience. Additionally, we will be sure to inform our rooftop managers of your comments as we know they will appreciate your feedback. We would love another opportunity to surpass your expectations and we hope to have you again soon. Please feel free to contact Digital@TheGHG.com for further questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Great location…once you are in the Meatpacking District you really don't need a cab or subway---almst everything is within walking distance.
Love the rooftop pool and friendly accommodating staff.
Nice up to date rooms and best of all---location!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brandbridgeltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear brandbridgeltd,

Thank you for the rave review and happy birthday! We're thrilled you chose to spend your celebratory weekend with us and we're elated you had a wonderful experience. We will be sure to inform our team of your compliments as we know they look forward to having you again. We agree, the Meatpacking District has a plethora to offer and we're happy you found it to be a convenient location. We're glad you had the opportunity to visit our rooftop and we would love for you to return soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Considering Gansevoort? DO NOT HESITATE! We were late in making our reservation, NYC was busy and all the hotels we knew were sold out. Being from out of town we went through the AMEX concierge. Yes, we were very, very nervous - 2 ladies (my 14 y.o. daughter and I), unfamiliar with NY, staying in the old meatpacking district...????!!!! Once the cab pulled up, our fears began to be laid to rest. The grand entrance and the warm greeting were very welcoming. Enter - the concierge team...they gave us recommendations for dinner (which turned out to be excellent), made our reservation, printed our show tickets and gave us explicit train/subway instructions. We had an easy walk to Grand Central Station to do some shopping and sightseeing. Gansevoort will be even better when more shops open closer to the hotel. We found the room modern, clean, well stocked and room service was delicious. My only recommendation - put a sign at the back of the building where the Northbound train stops. When we got there at night, it was hard to know where we were. My daughter is going to start school in NY this fall - we will definitely be staying at the Gansevoort again and again!

Room Tip: Our room was on the, 6th floor, Southside, and we were very comfortable.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Sarah L,

Thank you for the brilliant review. We're glad you chose to stay with us and we're thrilled you had an impeccable stay. We appreciate your compliments and we'll be sure to pass them along to the rest of our dedicated team. New York City has many restaurants to indulge in as well as sights to see and we're pleased you enjoyed our concierge's recommendations. We're also happy you felt comfortable in our clean rooms and we're elated you enjoyed our delicious room service options. We're wishing your daughter the best of luck in her future endeavors and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Gabsevoort Meatpacking

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

There is no doubt about it The Gansevoort is a very cool hotel but, for us, this came a bit at the sacrifice of service. I know we are not the typical young, single and there to just party clientele that they are used to (we are still however under 40, well travelled and still like to party) as we were travelling with 3 children and there for a wedding. However, NYC is well known for its customer service and the least we would expect of any hotel is someone to take your bag, open the door and hail you a cab and a hello from the man at the lift but i would say these things happened maybe 25% of the time.
On organising for an additional rollout bed, suggested by someone on reception, then chased up when it didn't arrive some time later and then still not there when we arrived back from dinner with a very tired child and then being told it couldn't be done (it was in the end), its not really good enough.
I asked the lifeguard if he had any armbands etc for children, as i'd forgotten to pack them for my 4 year old, I was told they didn't but the next day was offered one by a different lifeguard. We tried to book the playstation 4 that is promised on the website but the reception staff didn't know what we were talking about. Trying to arrange an area for post wedding drinks on the rooftop bar and being bounced between bar staff and concierge and told different things each time. Even when we met friends at the downstairs bar we were charged twice for drinks.
The positives were the nice welcome bags left in the room for the children, the babysitting service arranged by the concierge and it was lovely to have a swimming pool on the roof, even if at times it was more like an MTV pool party (and i'm pretty sure not just hotel guests) as it is supposed to be. The staff did respond quickly when we were woken on the first day by road works outside the window at 5.30am and moved us to a higher floor on a different side of the building. Anyway, we still had a great time and I'm sure it is great for a certain market but I wouldn't suggest its somewhere to stay with a family.

Room Tip: Keep a look out for roadworks and if there are any ask for a room higher up and on a different side of the building. Road works started at 5.30 on our first night and woke our 4 year old (and therefore the rest of the family). The hotel responded quickly and moved us to a different position when notified.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anitaburns2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear anitaburns2010,

Thank you for your detailed review. We're pleased you found our hotel to be chic but we deeply regret your expectations weren't met. You deserve a seamless experience and we apologize you didn't feel completely taken care of. We appreciate your feedback as it will help ensure the highest quality of service for future visits. On another note, our rollout beds and PlayStation 4 are provided upon availability and we apologize we were unable to offer them during your stay. We'd love a second opportunity to prove our devotion and provide a flawless trip. Please feel free to contact Digital@TheGHG.com for further questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews