We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and Concierge!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Ranked #210 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Traveled with my husband to NYC in June for business in the Meatpacking District. The location of this hotel is amazing and we happily navigated the area with ease.

I never really know what to expect for a NY hotel. Although we were very comfortable at the Gansevoort, there were a few reasons I gave only a 3 "star" review. First of all, this IS a NOISY hotel. I found this out only after I booked. Not for families. We were not interested in the scene here nor did it bother us. We just were not "wowed" here as thought we might be.

When we arrived to our hotel room the first thing I had to do was call housekeeping to get some windex as all the counter tops (including the bathroom) and end tables were dirty! Bummed we also got a queen bed but since we asked for a somewhat quiet room, we stayed put. The rooms are good size but indeed in need of a makeover! Commen areas were nice but for the $ and reviews I did expect more from this hotel. Front desk not very friendly but doorman and bellmen cordial and pleasant.

The best experience we had was with Monica and Rebecca at the concierge. We wanted to reseach NY upscale salons and Monica booked my husband with a top stylist at Sally Hershberger salon. Monica was friendly and knowledgeable and very helpful the duration of our stay.

We also visited the Exhale Spa downstairs as the hotel offered a great discount for massage so we took advantage of it after we checked in, tired from our travel. The spa also needs updating however our service was excellent. PJ and Shirley were amazing!

Only ordered coffee from room service which arrived quickly within 5 to 10 minutes top - great! You also have to call to get ice every time you need it -fyi.

All in all, we may or may not rebook here - was comfortable but not impressed. Left the door open for me to try the Standard or another local hotel.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank italean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear italean,

Thank you for the detailed review. It was a pleasure having you and we're glad you enjoyed your time spent in the Meatpacking District. It's a wonderful location that offers a plethora of attractions, from decadent dining to lavish shopping and more. We're glad you had the chance to take advantage of our concierge and we're thrilled they were able to point you in the right direction. New York City can be overwhelming at times and it's always helpful to have a knowledgable helping hand. On another note, we apologize your room wasn't up to par when you checked in. We would love another opportunity to prove our commitment in making your experience impeccable and we hope to have you again soon. Please feel free to contact Digital@TheGHG.com for further questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,823)
There are newer reviews for Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

727 - 733 of 1,824 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

The location is great in the heart of the meat packing district. Close to both Chelsea and Tribeca. That is where the positives end. The room service and restaurant are terrible. They also have a club in the bottom floor that blasts music until 4am, even on weekdays to ensure a terrible night sleep. The lobby turns into a trashy club vibe post dinner that isn't really what I want to come back to. This was my second try for this hotel and my last.

Room Tip: Stay as high as possible in hope to avoid the music all night, and hope there is no party at the roo...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Trey D,

Thank you for the review. We sincerely regret that your experience did not meet your expectations and we apologize your stay was disrupted. Although the Meatpacking District is a wonderful area it does become quite lively in the evenings. We understand the importance of a good night's sleep and if you choose to stay with us again, our reservations team will happily place you in a room that meets all of your needs. As the saying goes, “The third time’s the charm." We'd love to have another opportunity to provide an outstanding trip from check-in to check-out. Please feel free to email Digital@TheGHG.com for further questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I loved staying here! The location is amazing with plenty to do and see within walking distance of the hotel and close to subway stations to get anywhere else you might want to go. After checking in, I wanted to find a sports bar so I could watch Olympic hockey and grab a few drinks. I asked the front desk staff for a good place to go and instead of recommending their on-site bar, they suggested my friend and I would have more fun at a place across the street. We had a great time (and great food) and made a point of visiting the Gansevoort bar that night, which was also a really great time. The room was very clean and spacious and had great views of the city. I definitely recommend the Gansevoort to anyone and I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SweetKeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear SweetKeats,

Thank you for the brilliant review. We're pleased your experience surpassed your expectations and we're thrilled you plan to stay with us again. We agree, the Meatpacking District is conveniently located near the subway and is filled with various attractions, lively bars and more. We tailor all suggestions to each guest’s preferences, and we're glad you loved our bar recommendation. We appreciate your compliments and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I usually take day trips to New York City, and so I have only occasionally stayed in a hotel. I got a good price on this hotel, which was a real bonus. It was an excellent location for my purposes, but an extra plus for me was that I really enjoyed the neighbourhood. I walked from Penn Station, popping into galleries along the way. It is well located for bus and subway, too. I walked along l4th Street for groceries, too. Breakfast was fantastic. The only weird thing is the dim lighting in the lift, but once you get used to it, it's okay. I think it's supposed to be romantic, which also goes for the choice of pictures on the walls in the room! I asked for a quiet room, and I had no problems at all with noise.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosaBonheur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear RosaBonheur,

Thank you for the amazing review. We're thrilled you chose to stay with us and we're glad you enjoyed our convenient location. Being able to take a quick subway ride to your destination is one of the many perks our area has to offer. We aim to accommodate all requests and we're pleased your quiet room suited your preferences. In regards to our lighting, our dim elevator is meant to match the rest of our décor, but we do appreciate your feedback and we'll pass it along to the rest of our team. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Thank you for making our stay at your hotel special and memorable. We really can not thank all the staff enough for their help and kindness . We could not have found a better hotel. What an amazing experience . From the moment we valeted our car to the moment we left first it was class all the way. Front desk crew was amazing especially Valerie. We want to thank the whole team there for making our "stay-cation " one we will always remember and treasure. Housekeeping was wonderful , what ever we needed was promptly delivered to us with a smile . We will definitely be staying at Gansevort Meatpacking again very soon. I am recommending your hotel to all I meet and hope that I am able to return some day. Thank you from Mio & Olivera

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meechkoo .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Meechkoo,

Thank you for the rave review. We loved having you and we're thrilled your stay-cation was absolutely flawless from check-in to check-out. We appreciate your feedback and we'll be sure to inform Valerie and the rest of our devoted team of your compliments. It is the little details that can make a significant impact and we're glad our team's friendliness as well as attentiveness helped make your experience memorable. We are looking forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We wanted to try something different but should have read the other reviewers before we booked it. The location is perfect. The suites are good sized. The decor is very trendy. The spa is very elegant and their staff is top notch. However, the hotel service is awful. For this price point we are use to helpful, friendly staff that is on the Ritz level. We stayed four days and the front desk staff acted like they were doing you a favor by answering a simple question. During the day when coming and going the doormen stand off to the side and talk among themselves, never once opening a door or giving any type of greeting. However, returning to the hotel at night we were very rudely told we had to show our room key to even enter the lobby due to the wait line of non guest for the rooftop bar. Once we got to the roof top bar for a drink we were asked to leave our table after 20 mins to make room for non guest. When we explained we were guest and would not leave our small 2 person table in the corner we talked down to with disgust and the staff demanded to show our room key again. When we once again proved we were guest he rolled his eyes and walked away without any apology. The price is on par for St. Regis, Ritz, The Mark, Bayan Tree, The Surrey, Trump, etc but the customer service is not on par for Motel 6

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Rebecca G,

Thank you for the thorough review. We're glad you enjoyed the Meatpacking District and our ample-sized rooms. On another note, we sincerely regret your visit was not completely up to par and we apologize for the misunderstanding on our rooftop. All of our guests deserve outstanding service and we're disappointed that you didn't experience that. We request to see room keys to ensure the safety of our guests, but we understand it can be frustrating and we apologize for the inconvenience. Additionally, we will be sure to inform our rooftop managers of your comments as we know they will appreciate your feedback. We would love another opportunity to surpass your expectations and we hope to have you again soon. Please feel free to contact Digital@TheGHG.com for further questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Great location…once you are in the Meatpacking District you really don't need a cab or subway---almst everything is within walking distance.
Love the rooftop pool and friendly accommodating staff.
Nice up to date rooms and best of all---location!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brandbridgeltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear brandbridgeltd,

Thank you for the rave review and happy birthday! We're thrilled you chose to spend your celebratory weekend with us and we're elated you had a wonderful experience. We will be sure to inform our team of your compliments as we know they look forward to having you again. We agree, the Meatpacking District has a plethora to offer and we're happy you found it to be a convenient location. We're glad you had the opportunity to visit our rooftop and we would love for you to return soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#87 of 468 in New York City
2,321 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#125 of 468 in New York City
3,568 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#154 of 468 in New York City
2,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#160 of 468 in New York City
654 reviews
SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
#174 of 468 in New York City
1,420 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#95 of 468 in New York City
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Address: 18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014-1202 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in New York City
#106 Business Hotel in New York City
#152 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#174 Family Hotel in New York City
#177 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £242 - £566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC Hotel, with breathtaking 360 degree panoramic views of New York City and sunsets over the Hudson River, is the first and only luxury, full service resort in Manhattan’s vibrant Meatpacking District. Gansevoort Meatpacking offers a chic retreat from the urban metropolis that redefines the world of luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing