We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,001)
Filter reviews
2,001 results
Traveller rating
991
518
227
160
105
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
991
518
227
160
105
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolchelsea marketmanhattan suitethe meat packing districtnew yorkthe high linewhitney museumhudson rivercool hotelgreat shoppingbottle of champagneamazing hotelstreet noisecentral parkhighlinehipnyc
Filter
Updating list...
875 - 880 of 2,001 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed at the Gansevoort as part of a large wedding party. The staff was quite helpful at check in. The hotel is in the trendy meat packing district and the surrounding area is quite cool.
Back to the hotel...we had a suite and the space was quite ample for NYC. The bathroom and all its amenties were impressive. The room could have been cleaner, we found some remnants of the previous guests Smore party......

The bar and top floor pool lounge seemed nice, yet we were not able to use it do to the wedding and rain. Our request to make up the sleeper bed after dinner was not honored. Arriving back at 1 am we found the bed not set up.....we had to call downstairs for a person to make the bed up at 1:30 am. It's the little things (execution) that make an average hotel superior.

I would stay agian, but insist on a room not facing the main street as music palyed until 4 am...rough nite for sure.

Room Tip: Get a quiet , clean room
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CharlesinCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear CharlesinCT,

Thank you for the detailed review. We're sending our well wishes to the newlyweds, but we sincerely regret your experience was not up to par. We strive to accommodate all requests and we apologize for any miscommunication that delayed your bed to be made. Additionally, our reservations department will happily offer a room farther away from the busy streets and energetic nightlife. We'd love the opportunity to prove our commitment in making your stay nothing short of amazing and we look forward to having you again. Feel free to email Digital@TheGHG.com for further questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This place is pretty hype, just opposite the Apple Store in Meatpacking. Nightclub on the roof and terrace downstairs. Good place to stay and smell the atmosphere of New York for a few days. Can surely recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MPH010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear MPH010,

Thank you for the fantastic review. We agree, our location is the perfect area to truly have a New York City experience and we're glad you're fond of it. We appreciate your recommendations and would love to have you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Without doubt one of the best hotels we've stayed in anywhere. The room was sensational, location to shops and the Highline perfect and overall experience terrific. My only critisism would be that of the bar staff on the roof top bar....a little more of a sincere approach to customers would be appreciated. We all understand tipping in the US is part of the cost however if a good tip is given early it would be good to have staff understand that the service level should follow. Didn't detract too much from what was a great experience and one l would highly recommend to friends and colleagues however get it right as the competition in a place like NY will be fierce!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Otto A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Otto A,

Thank you for the brilliant review. We're glad you had a great experience and loved the Meatpacking District. It's a wonderful location filled with a plethora of attractions and we're thrilled you had a chance to experience all that it has to offer. On another note, we apologize your visit to our rooftop did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and we'll be sure to relay your comments to the rooftop team. It was a pleasure having you and we look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We visited NYC, for just one night, with two adults and three kids. We absolutely loved this hotel! The service was impeccable, some of the best I have received in NYC. John, who worked in the front, was so accommodating and helpful! He's a gem! This hotel is definitely worth the money. We were worried that the hotel, and especially the rooftop pool, wouldn't be kid friendly, but it was! The lifeguard, even brought a child sized life jacket over for our 2 year old daughter. The kids loved the pool, and it was very enjoyable for adults. The room was perfectly cleaned and they even re cleaned it and brought us new towels, the same day as check in. When we asked for something, they were there within 10-15 min. I would definitely stay at the Gansevoort Hotel again!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Jessica M,

Thank you for the fantastic review. We're thrilled you had a wonderful time and plan on staying with us again. We work to provide seamless service and we're glad you felt well-taken care of. John and the rest of our dedicated team will be pleased to hear of your kind remarks. It's important to offer amenities that a variety of guests can enjoy and we're happy your family loved our rooftop pool. It was truly a pleasure having you and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Traveled with my husband to NYC in June for business in the Meatpacking District. The location of this hotel is amazing and we happily navigated the area with ease.

I never really know what to expect for a NY hotel. Although we were very comfortable at the Gansevoort, there were a few reasons I gave only a 3 "star" review. First of all, this IS a NOISY hotel. I found this out only after I booked. Not for families. We were not interested in the scene here nor did it bother us. We just were not "wowed" here as thought we might be.

When we arrived to our hotel room the first thing I had to do was call housekeeping to get some windex as all the counter tops (including the bathroom) and end tables were dirty! Bummed we also got a queen bed but since we asked for a somewhat quiet room, we stayed put. The rooms are good size but indeed in need of a makeover! Commen areas were nice but for the $ and reviews I did expect more from this hotel. Front desk not very friendly but doorman and bellmen cordial and pleasant.

The best experience we had was with Monica and Rebecca at the concierge. We wanted to reseach NY upscale salons and Monica booked my husband with a top stylist at Sally Hershberger salon. Monica was friendly and knowledgeable and very helpful the duration of our stay.

We also visited the Exhale Spa downstairs as the hotel offered a great discount for massage so we took advantage of it after we checked in, tired from our travel. The spa also needs updating however our service was excellent. PJ and Shirley were amazing!

Only ordered coffee from room service which arrived quickly within 5 to 10 minutes top - great! You also have to call to get ice every time you need it -fyi.

All in all, we may or may not rebook here - was comfortable but not impressed. Left the door open for me to try the Standard or another local hotel.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank italean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear italean,

Thank you for the detailed review. It was a pleasure having you and we're glad you enjoyed your time spent in the Meatpacking District. It's a wonderful location that offers a plethora of attractions, from decadent dining to lavish shopping and more. We're glad you had the chance to take advantage of our concierge and we're thrilled they were able to point you in the right direction. New York City can be overwhelming at times and it's always helpful to have a knowledgable helping hand. On another note, we apologize your room wasn't up to par when you checked in. We would love another opportunity to prove our commitment in making your experience impeccable and we hope to have you again soon. Please feel free to contact Digital@TheGHG.com for further questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews