We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time around: it's still good!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Ranked #219 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

What we've liked on the Gansevoort; the roof terrace, its location on buzzing Meatpacking, the closeness to the Village, the scenery of all these beautiful people hanging around on the streets. And the buzz during the night. Off course the hotel is not that hot anymore: we've seen complete families staying over at the G, the roof top bar was even quiet on a friday night, but the rooms are good, the bed was very good. The wifi was strong. We didn't use the breakfast service in the room, but used to have breakfast around the corner, in one of the many good places over there. Gansevoort might have lost some of it "hype & hotness", it is possibly more B&T then before... but who minds? It is still a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Repko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Repko,

Thank you for the great review and welcome back! It's always a delight having you and we're glad you enjoyed your experience. We're happy you loved our rooftop that overlooks the New York skyline and the lively Meatpacking District. It truly is a wonderful area filled with decadent dining, cultural attractions and luxurious shopping. We appreciate your feedback and your continuous loyalty. Until next time!

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,890)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

743 - 749 of 1,890 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

I think I am too old for this place.

The hubby and I scheduled a romantic stay at this hotel (which we have done at various hotels around the city). Romantic it was anything but....

The hotel is loud and noisy. It also had a weird smell in the lobby and hallways. The room service menus left much to be desired and they don't pick up empty food trays left in the hallway with any regularity. The rooms are small (which is fine and typical of a NYC hotel), but the artwork in a word is cheesy and tasteless. The rooms aren't properly soundproofed so you can hear EVERYTHING that is going on in the other rooms.

This hotel tries to be what The Standard is - classy, fun and trendy. The Gansevoort is garish, classless and smelly. If you are a 21 year old trust fund baby/Sex in the City wannabe with no experience with classy or tasteful hotels, you will have a blast. This Upper East Side mom will take a pass.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jaimee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Jaimee A,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We deeply regret your visit didn't meet your expectations and we apologize you weren't pleased with your room. If you choose to visit again, our reservation team will be happy to provide a suite that better suits your preferences. We'd love another opportunity to prove our commitment and offer a seamless trip. Please feel free to email Digital@TheGHG.com for further questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

A long weekend for a family function was infused with hip style by staying at this great locale. The room was very well appointed and had pretty good storage/closet by NY hotel standards. The front desk and doormen were very welcoming and concierge services were superb.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Annie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Annie P,

Thank you for the brilliant review. It was incredible having you and we're happy your family weekend was a success. We're pleased you enjoyed our ample-sized rooms and helpful team. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I ♥️ NYC ...almost every 2nd year I travel there for short stay, 3-4 nights. In the last 10years I tried different hotels in different areas but I always return with great pleasure to Gansevoort in Meatpacking. If you are looking for party time, city vibe, chic dressed people Meatpacking is the place to visit. Don't come to Meatpacking with the attitude of a retired person, wanting to enjoy a quiet walk in the park.

Gansevoort is located at the epicentre of lively NYC, has a great rooftop bar where you can always enjoy a drink, the scenery and pleasant conversation.

The room and especially the bathroom are spacious, bed is comfortable and ... you can even get your own Illy coffee machine in the room.

Come often enough to Gansevoort and you will be super pleased to discover your name embroided on a soft bathrobe.

Thank you Gansevoort staff for making my stay excellent as always.



  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DP_Bucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear DP_Bucharest,

Thank you for the amazing review and welcome back! It's always delightful having you and we appreciate your invaluable loyalty. We agree, our rooftop oasis is an ideal place to enjoy a cocktail above the skyline with great company. We're glad you continuously feel comfortable in our spacious suites and enjoy our in-room coffee machine. We’re also happy you loved our monogrammed robes. It's the little things that can make a stay memorable. We’re looking forward to another amazing visit.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I walked in to the hotel around 11am, was greeted by a sharp guy and best of all, he said my room was ready.

Got to my room, must say it wasn't out of this world impressive. The BEST part of the room is the bathroom. Very modern décor in the bathroom and the shower head provided great showers EVERYTIME. I was very happy with that.

When leaving my room and walking in the hall towards the elevator the hotel staff that I ran into wasn't friendly at all. No, "hello, good morning, how are you?" The only people who were friendly, were housekeepers, no surprise there. When I was in the elevator, it stopped on one floor, a hotel staff member got on, again, not even a "hello." What's up with that? Where's the basic etiquette?

Nevertheless, the hotel is perfectly located in the Meatpacking. You're at the epicenter of places to dine and clubs/lounges to pretend to be cool at (if you're in to that sort of thing).

I didn't like that when coming back to the hotel in the evening you have to deal with guys dressed in TJ Maxx black suits. They're bouncers and nobody likes them. They are annoying to deal with and need to understand the concept of "here's my room key, I'm a guest."

There is a rooftop lounge, meh, it's alright. Nothing out of the world.

Overall, the hotel isn't anything out of this world, the best part about it is that it is located in the Meatpacking. I could tell that the employees try really hard to pretend that they're better than you to keep appearances. I think this place would be MUCH better if the hotel staff were more hospitable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Omar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Omar L,

Thank you for the detailed review. It was great having you, but we apologize your overall trip didn't surpass your expectations. We strive to make our guests feel at home and we regret you experienced otherwise. We'll be sure to relay your comments to the rest of our team to ensure all future visits are excellent. On another note, we're glad you loved the Meatpacking District. It's a wonderful area filled with a plethora of decadent dining, lively nightlife and entertainment. We're also happy you enjoyed our bathroom décor and high-pressure showers. We'd love another opportunity to prove our dedication and provide an impeccable stay. Please feel free to email Digital@TheGHG.com for further questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Earlier this week I stayed at this hotel while I was in NYC for business. The location is great with plenty of shopping, great restaurants and the High Line within blocks. Also, the front desk team and valets were very friendly. That being said, there are a few things that made my stay at the Gansevoort a less than stellar experience...

Every evening there are partiers lined up out front of the hotel waiting to gain entrance to the club on the top floor. The partiers share elevators with guests and can be really obnoxious. When I attempted to get in an elevator on my floor, I was informed by the very drunk people in the car that there was "no room" and could then hear them laughing and heckling me as the car descended... Another elevator came and was also full. How about designating an elevator specifically for hotel guests?!

After my less than lovely elevator experience, I made my way to the lovely outdoor restaurant where I attempted to order a glass of wine. Unfortunately, they were out of the wine I requested. I then placed my dinner order and within a few minutes the waitress returned to inform me that the restaurant was out of the entree I ordered. Sigh...

While the room was clean, the bed comfortable, and the view a good one, my moderately decorated room felt more like a store than a place to sleep. Want to buy the little stuffed animal on the bed? $10. Fiji Water? $10. Shave kit? $20. Royal blue thong underwear? $22.

I have stayed in plenty of great hotels that also house very popular nightspots and lovely boutiques... I know it is possible for all three to coexist without sacrificing service, ambiance or credibility.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators full of drunk revelers... Their voices carry in the elevator shaft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank shefdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear shefdesign,

Thank you for the detailed review. It was a pleasure having you and we're glad you enjoyed the Meatpacking District. It's a great location filled with a variety of delectable restaurants and luxury shopping. We're also happy you found our team to be friendly and we'll be sure to inform them of your compliments. On another note, we apologize you for your elevator incident. We understand your concern and appreciate your feedback. Next time, you might enjoy staying at our Park Avenue location with a dedicated elevator for hotel guests. We would love a second chance to provide a seamless trip in NYC from check-in to check-out. Please feel free to email Digital@TheGHG.com for further questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I had a great experience at the Gansevoort. I had my three grandchildren 16yr, 13yr, and 12 yrs old.
They went to the hot tub and the pool in the evening after our outings during the day. We went to the Restaurants near the hotel and one in particular they loved was The Diner and we even had take out one evening to our hotel as it was late. It was a wonderful suite with balconies in each room. I must say it really is a fun place in the evening for the younger crowd like 25-40yrs group. I had to take all the fun toys and liquor out of the room and they did it right away. Everyone was great there. Thanks from all of us my family has wonderful memories of NYC. OH yes Taxi is the way to go from there to everywhere. ONly cost $50 to go to Coney Island with all 4 of us and $2.50 back via Subway each.

Room Tip: It was quiet where we were but I had three kids having a wonderful time in the evening in their room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Eva154995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Eva154995,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We're thrilled you and your family had a memorable experience in Manhattan. We strive to accommodate all special requests and we're glad our team was able to make your family trip seamless. Additionally, we're happy you loved our balconies that overlook the hustle and bustle of the Meatpacking District. New York has much to offer and it's great you had a chance to visit Coney Island. We appreciate your kind remarks and we'll be sure to relay them to the rest of our dedicated team. It would be our pleasure to have you again. Until next time!

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#147 of 473 in New York City
2,985 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#128 of 473 in New York City
3,715 reviews
Manhattan
Royalton Park Avenue
Royalton Park Avenue
#92 of 473 in New York City
2,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#140 of 473 in New York City
686 reviews
SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
#203 of 473 in New York City
1,456 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#90 of 473 in New York City
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Address: 18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014-1202 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in New York City
#105 Business Hotel in New York City
#154 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#176 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £195 - £461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC Hotel, with breathtaking 360 degree panoramic views of New York City and sunsets over the Hudson River, is the first and only luxury, full service resort in Manhattan’s vibrant Meatpacking District. Gansevoort Meatpacking offers a chic retreat from the urban metropolis that redefines the world of luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing