We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for Times Square”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel St. James

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel St. James
Ranked #276 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location for Times Square”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

I went during november 2013 with my boyfriend. It's a great location for times square as it's literally around the corner.. Great for shopping like maceys, the threatres, Empire state building and the Rock..very near the subway to travel around the city as well :) clean large rooms & great value highly recommend :) with a lovely deli next door for breakfast at a reasonable price. Loved Nyc

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola11_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    1,281
    519
    150
    140
See reviews for
700
937
125
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We spent two nights in this hotel on our recent visit to NYC. Based on the reviews we had read, the hotel was what we expected so we were happy with our choice. If you are looking for amenities or luxury, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a nice small hotel to spend the night, this is a good choice.

Pros: nice hotel, great location, clean, good room size (I expect the rooms are not all the same size, ours was very roomy).

Cons: cheap mattresses (if you have a poor back this may be an issue), noisy heater a few times overnight (like someone clanging two pans), and cheap blinds with no room darkening window coverings.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CaitKel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, CT
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

If you are looking for pampering with all the amenities, the St. James is not for you. If you want a clean, comfortable room in a great location at a reasonable price, this is the place.

On 45th st. between 6th and 7th ave., it's less than a block from Times Square, two blocks from the TKTS booth and a short walk from all the Broadway shows. There are lots of restaurants and shops within a few blocks. For a weekend seeing a couple of shows, it was perfectly placed.

There are some minor flaws. First, there are three stairs up to the lobby; it's not handicapped accessible. Second, the room has no information on the hotel, and not even a listing of what the channels are on the tv. Finally, the heat is from steam radiators that will occasionally whistle, so if you're a light sleeper you might turn them off at night.

For my purposes, where a hotel room is just a place to sleep at night, this was a very good place. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BruceWallingford_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

I stayed here in January 2012 with family and cannot fault the hotel. it is perhaps a little run down (old carpets etc) but it was spotlessly clean, had very friendly staff and is right in the heart of times square so all of that overshadowed any decor issues.

There were three of us in a room with two double beds, a large wardrobe, two sets of drawers and a night stand. We had no issues with noise (though I'm not sure on which side of the hotel we were) and the towels/bedding etc were changed daily. as well as this there was also a phone available, a wall mounted tv and wifi which was free of charge (a huge bonus!) the bathroom was spacious and had both a bath and a shower and the temperature in the room was always fine - especially considering it was january and freezing outside!

As for the location - it is absolutely perfect. literally a two minute walk from times square, close to grand central, Rockefeller centre, central park, penn station and also the bus terminal. there are plenty of places to eat around the hotel (the cranberry cafe next door is very good for breakfast like many people have already mentioned!) as well as a variety of shops for almost anything else you could need.

one thing that was very useful were the lockers which are available to store luggage in after you have checked out - i think these cost $5? and we were able to fit two suitcases in to one which meant we could have one last afternoon in new york without dragging our bags around too.

i would definitely stay at this hotel again - the prices are excellent for the size of the rooms and the location, it's new york after all so you'll hardly be spending any time in the rooms anyway.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank katie-astles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
136 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed here last Feb. 7-10, 2014 and booked our double bedroom (with 2 full beds) from Hotels.com. I got a great deal from Hotels.com and got a discout of 49% from the hotel rate.

First of all, this is an old hotel. It was established in 1972 and has 144 rooms spread in an old pre-war tower with 12 storeys. However, it was just renovated and refurbished because the room we were given (Room 1104) has a flat screen TV, the walls seemed to be newly painted and the bathroom fixtures are all new and very clean.

The location is perfect. It is between 6th and 7th Avenues and located in 45th street. You can walk around and visit famous landmarks without having to take the subway. The Rockefeller is close by and so are the Grand Central Station, Bryant Park, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Broadway, 5th Avenue shops/malls and Times Square. It is also right beside a nice delicatessen called Cranberry. The food is great!!! Nearby shops (Jack's World, Duane Reade) and a bookstore which sells super cheap books/e-reader gadgets and Japanese manga (Book-off) can also be found within walking distance. Delis are also everywhere and there are nearby eateries like McDonald's and Magnolia Bakery. It is also near the Port Authority bus station so if you want to visit nearby states, you can easily walk there and purchase your bus tickets.

The room is quite big for a family of 3 and there is a separate closet where you can stash your luggages so they are out of the way. There is a fake fireplace in our room which gave the antiquated look with a dash of modernity. The beds are comfortable and we have 2 full-szied beds so there was no need for an extra bed or roll-away.

There is 1 vanity between the beds and the flat TV is hung on top of the fireplace mantle. A coffee table with 2 chairs sit perfectly in front of the fake fireplace so we had place to put our food from the delis nearby.

The bathroom is small, almost the size of the bathrooms in Tokyo, Japan but I have to give this one a thumbs up because the bathroom fixtures were new and clean, including the bath tub.

There is a small radiator/heater in the room which you can switch off if you want to cool the place. One thing that concerns me though, I didn't see any air conditioning unit in our room or I may have just not noticed it.

The lobby/concierge area is narrow but we didn't see any big crowd while we checked in and out. Checking in and out was a breeze. It didn't take long for the front desk to give us our room even before the check in time. We were already happily resting around 11 a.m. inside our cozy room when the proper check-in time was at 2 p.m. Check out was fast as well. I just had to tell the front desk of my room number, he checked some stuff in the system and in less than a minute, we were checked-out.

Staff in the front desk were all helpful and courteous.

There are only few concerns I have which I think I have to share: the housekeeping, the very slow lifts and the blinds in our room that is not the right size for the window.

Housekeeping was substandard, service wise. Although they cleaned our rooms daily, I had to leave a tip in an envelope which they left in our room even before we checked in. However, even if I left tips in the envelope, they didn't fix the bed properly, leaving a bunch of small blankets on top the fireplace mantle and forgot to take it out.

They didn't vacuum the carpets too. I saw the small pieces of paper that fell from our shopping bills in the same place day after day.

The window blinds doesn't go all the way down. There's a gap of about 2 1/2 inches from the base of the of window sill to the end of the blinds.

Being an old property, the lifts are also very slow. We were billeted at the 11th floor so it takes a while to reach our floor and to take a ride all the way down.


All in all, I find the hotel a good place to stay despite of the shortcomings from the housekeeping side. I will still book this hotel in the future because of it's perfect location. I recommend this place for families and business travelers as it is near everything every tourists can dream of.

Room Tip: Not considering the slow lifts, take the higher floor because they are quieter and farther from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank msculit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bribie Island, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We spent a week in Hotel St James over the New Year period and this was our second stay. The hotel is in a fantastic location in the Times Square area, in fact approximately 100 metres from the neon lights and action of 7th Avenue. Thats the reason for the three stars. The price for this ensuite hotel room in Times Square is very reasonable however, there are other hotels in the same price range and certainly some very nice hotels a little further out from the bright lights. There are two excellent 'deli's' next door, where you can have breakfast, lunch and dinner for a reasonable price. The street vendor on the corner of 6th and W45th makes great falafel! Staff are great as long as you don't need anything. I overheard another guest practically begging for her toilet to be fixed - apparently she had asked repeatedly for it to be repaired.

The rooms are very small and the facilities basic with no tea or coffee making ability. We booked our room months ahead and I asked for a quiet room if possible, we were put in a room next to multiple generators, which ran 24/7. In addition we were also very near some other generator, which switched on at approximately 6am every morning and sounded like a jet taking off, to the point where our bed would commence to give us a free massage. Perhaps the trick here, is to NOT ask for a quiet room.

If you're like us you're out and about and only use the room at night. We did our long walking days and returned in the afternoon to rest before heading out again at night. Only problem, it was -4c on a number of days while we were in New York - culminating in a blizzard at the end of our stay. So, very cold and tired we returned to our room to find it colder than outside. When we asked if there was a problem with the heating, we were told no...it is turned on again at 6pm. So the only place to sit and be warm was in reception or near to it in the lounge. The lounge was frequently full. Our first stay was in summer and obviously not as uncomfortable.

So treat this hotel as little more than a hostel although without the kitchen facilities, enjoy the close proximity of Times Square and the rest of beautiful, vibrant New York city. It is a place to leave your bags.

Room Tip: Don't ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank faye766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

WOW, I have stayed in NYC many times and have tried a different hotel on each occasion, but this hotel will be the only one I will stay at again every time.

Yes this hotel is old, thread bare carpet, not modern at all but you quickly look past that and realize what a gem you've found! Our room was huge and extremely clean. It was perfect. Our bed was comfortable and housekeeping were awesome

Location and value would have to be the best in NYC. We were a two minute walk to Times Square, 10 mins to Rockefeller and practically walking distance to all great sights. Right next door is a fantastic deli for all your food needs, plus an atm!

Finally the staff, could not fault them whatsoever, would help you with anything and Joey especially is a star! GREAT PLACE

Room Tip: North side we were looking into an office building but we were not in room during day to be bothered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#176 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,029 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#77 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#356 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Night Theater District
Night Theater District
#253 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,110 reviews
Midtown
AKA Times Square
AKA Times Square
#118 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Midtown
The Premier New York Times Square
The Premier New York Times Squar...
#165 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. James

Property: Hotel St. James
Address: 109 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4071
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel St. James 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel St. James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James Hotel Times Square
Hotel St James New York
St James Hotel Nyc
St James Hotel New York City
St James New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing