We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location!”
Review of Hotel St. James

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel St. James
Ranked #285 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This hotel was clean and comfortable. Not flash, but who would be trying to sit inside your room when you're in New York? The condition of the hallways is much below the rooms, giving you a pleasant surprise when you walk in. The view is not great, but again, that doesn't really matter, unless you'd rather pay for more expensive accommodation with views.. Comfortable bed. No tea or coffee making facilities at all. But two very handy shops next door, with well priced food, including tea. And walking distance of Times Square, Central Park, the museums, Broadway, Empire State Buiilding, etc, etc!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliC2287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

745 - 751 of 2,800 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed in the Hotel St James from the 7th April 2014 for 3 nights and it was virtually faultless! Excellent location - 2 minute walk to Times square and almost the same to Fifth Ave. Location was spot on! One of our bags was lost on the way to the USA, and the staff in Hotel St James were very helpful. Particularly John (I think his name is - small with dark hair and glasses) was very friendly and helpful! We stayed in a room with 2 double beds and it was extremely(!!!!) spacious and very clean. The only downside of our room was that we were on the roadside and one night was noisy with workmen doing building work into the early hours of the morning; although I suspect this was a one-off! We were also a little disappointed initially that there wasn't a safe in the room itself. Although there are safety deposit lockers downstairs that you can use at a small price. Overall I would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This hotel is great , it has location, helpful staff, Joey was fantastic, and it is clean and quiet. 2 Deli's, Starbucks, 24 hour convenience store and Times Square all within 2 minute walk. We booked this from Australia and were concerned about what we were getting, but I highly recommend for anyone in this budget, yes it is old building and some renovation taking place but rooms cleaned spotlessly every day, towels and toiletries replaced daily. Felt Safe walking to Times Square,convenience store or Starbucks late night or early morning. NYC never sleeps so little time spent in hotel, would definitely recommend and would stay again if I returned to NYC

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Swaneeqld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

I loved this place. It was clean, staff was friendly, the housekeeper was great. The best part is it's location. Right in Times Square. This place was under some renovations in the elevator and the exterior of the building while I was there for a few days in march, but who cares, I was hardly there. Also, I'm not sure what the noise was, perhaps the radiator in our room, but it always sounded like it was raining outside. This place is a hidden gem and I would definitely stay there again!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ghostbuff79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This is an old, historic hotel right off of Times Square, minus the prices you'll pay for the chain hotels in the same area. Rooms are HUGE by NYC standards. You will feel safe walking around the area at any time. Be warned, the Hotel St. James is not modern and lacks many of the standard amenities you may be used to, which is actually part of the charm. The rooms are impeccably clean, and the bathrooms have been remodeled. Toiletries are limited: you get shampoo and a very small square of hand soap. That's it, no lotion, conditioner, mouthwash or anything else. Quality isn't great so I recommend bringing your own. Beds weren't particularly comfortable and there is no thermostat in the room to control your own temperature; I found our room somewhat cold in April. My small room didn't have a desk, but a larger two-bed room that I stayed in did.

There are two small elevators but both are fairly speedy. There is an old bar in the lounge in the back of the hotel past the elevators, but it is not open for business or stocked. If you want a drink and don't want to go to Times Square, you can buy liquor at the deli next door and bring it to your room, or go to the Night Hotel across the street and go to their bar, or visit two of the charming Irish pubs just down the street.

PROS - Here's what you DO get at the Hotel St. James:
-Outstanding location with Times Square literally down the street and around the corner
-A concierge in the lobby
-Computers in the lounge area in the back, though you do have to pay per minute even to print out boarding passes. There is free wifi in the rooms, which you don't always get in midtown hotels.
-Staff is friendly, knowledgeable, accommodating, and pleasant. If the extremely personable and funny Joey is working, you are in for a treat. When I asked for a quieter room with less street noise after my first night, the manager let me go check out two other rooms and switch, she genuinely cared and that was much appreciated.
-Housekeeping was prompt, courteous, efficient, and very speedy. We went out for coffee and when we came back our room had already been cleaned.


CONS - Here's what the hotel does NOT have:
-A restaurant or room service (I highly recommend the Red Flame Restaurant on 7 W 44th - it's just up the next street, has take-out, delivery, and serves breakfast all day when most others in the area stop providing it at 11:00 a.m.)
-Bellhops
-A clock radio (it was a little odd to not see the time displayed anywhere in the room)
-A gym
-Coffee in the rooms or lobby, though you can run to the Cranberry Deli right next door and get some
-Room safes
-Refrigerators
-Light-blocking drapes.

For the very reasonable room rates, the Hotel St. James could be a good value for you on a safe, clean place to stay in midtown without a lot of additional amenities that you might not want anyway.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room in the back facing away from 45th street. Much quieter, darker in the morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank theladybordeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This Hotel is basic but very very clean! The staff on reception are so so friendly. Our room was cleaned and towels changed every day. You couldn't get better for location. Times Square is on the doorstep. There is a cafe next door which does an amazing breakfast. Couple of irish bars couple of doors down. Can't fault this hotel !!

Room Tip: A standard Rooney has two double beds and flat screen tv and en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bbutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

You can't beat the location of this hotel. And it is SOO charming! The lobby is elegant, the staff is friendly...they aren't Old South friendly, but let's face it, NYC isn't the south! Our room was comfortable, clean and when comparing notes with folks on our tour who paid twice as much, we apparently had twice as much room and an actual bathroom with a tub and rain-style shower head. The radiator was controlled by the front desk, which I was not thrilled about when we came back to our room to find it freezing, but then we discovered that the previous occupants had left the window open, and it opened at the top (?) Once that was closed, we were comfy for the remainder of our visit.

We are planning another trip with the family, and this will definitely be where we stay. When you visit NYC, are you really concerned about what the halls look like, or if you can take a shower and sleep in a comfortable bed? The remainder of MY trip will be spent exploring the city from this excellent location!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DeniseW32056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#192 of 470 in New York City
2,132 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#269 of 470 in New York City
4,172 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#371 of 470 in New York City
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Washington Jefferson Hotel
#275 of 470 in New York City
1,865 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#296 of 470 in New York City
7,948 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#75 of 470 in New York City
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. James

Address: 109 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4071
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #285 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £91 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel St. James 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel St. James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James Hotel Times Square
Hotel St James New York
St James Hotel Nyc
St James Hotel New York City
St James New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing