We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit dated but convenient location”
Review of Hotel St. James

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel St. James
Ranked #277 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Right next to Time Square and a great cafe next to it. Lobby is OK but the interiors after that is a bit old. No problem with that. Likewise for the room. We had a 2 double bed rooms of good size which was warm and clean during our April stay. The only thing is the room seems to be very noisy at night. It's either the heating system or the escape ladders outside. Lots of clanking noise which woke me up few times.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HT1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,736)
There are newer reviews for Hotel St. James
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

699 - 705 of 2,736 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my partner from 10-13 April and were really glad we stayed here after feeling quite nervous about what to expect at such a cheap price. We had room 611 which was located at the back of the hotel and it's was lovely and quiet with no traffic or road noise to be heard. The room was very clean and spacious and towels were changed daily.

The hotel looks quite dated, but this is typical of NYC and who needs a fancy room when all you need it for is to sleep! There was an iron and ironing board in the wardrobe with coat hangers. There was also a hairdryer in the bathroom, with some small soap, shampoo etc. There is a TV with some good channels.

The fuse in our travel adaptor blew whilst there, but if this happens to you then you can pick one up from Duane Reade at the bottom of the road, although I think the hotel supplies them (they had handed then all out when we asked).

The location is it's biggest draw, being only seconds away from Times Square and within walking distance of The Empire State Building, Grand Central Terminal, The Rockefeller Center and much more. There are so many places to eat and drink nearby, but I'd recommend Evergreen Diner for breakfast which is just a few blocks away.

The only (very petty) negative comment I have is about the carpets in the hallways, especially upstairs, which are in need of replacing as you can easily trip up on them which is quite dangerous.

All in all I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for an inexpensive hotel in NYC.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Shelley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The hotel is at a great location, only 2 mins from the Times Square. Under that aspec it is good priced, although it is still expensive. It was clean, the rooms were good. Only those wall carpets in the elevator are awful, but this is very neglectable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This hotel was clean and comfortable. Not flash, but who would be trying to sit inside your room when you're in New York? The condition of the hallways is much below the rooms, giving you a pleasant surprise when you walk in. The view is not great, but again, that doesn't really matter, unless you'd rather pay for more expensive accommodation with views.. Comfortable bed. No tea or coffee making facilities at all. But two very handy shops next door, with well priced food, including tea. And walking distance of Times Square, Central Park, the museums, Broadway, Empire State Buiilding, etc, etc!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliC2287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed in the Hotel St James from the 7th April 2014 for 3 nights and it was virtually faultless! Excellent location - 2 minute walk to Times square and almost the same to Fifth Ave. Location was spot on! One of our bags was lost on the way to the USA, and the staff in Hotel St James were very helpful. Particularly John (I think his name is - small with dark hair and glasses) was very friendly and helpful! We stayed in a room with 2 double beds and it was extremely(!!!!) spacious and very clean. The only downside of our room was that we were on the roadside and one night was noisy with workmen doing building work into the early hours of the morning; although I suspect this was a one-off! We were also a little disappointed initially that there wasn't a safe in the room itself. Although there are safety deposit lockers downstairs that you can use at a small price. Overall I would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This hotel is great , it has location, helpful staff, Joey was fantastic, and it is clean and quiet. 2 Deli's, Starbucks, 24 hour convenience store and Times Square all within 2 minute walk. We booked this from Australia and were concerned about what we were getting, but I highly recommend for anyone in this budget, yes it is old building and some renovation taking place but rooms cleaned spotlessly every day, towels and toiletries replaced daily. Felt Safe walking to Times Square,convenience store or Starbucks late night or early morning. NYC never sleeps so little time spent in hotel, would definitely recommend and would stay again if I returned to NYC

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Swaneeqld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

I loved this place. It was clean, staff was friendly, the housekeeper was great. The best part is it's location. Right in Times Square. This place was under some renovations in the elevator and the exterior of the building while I was there for a few days in march, but who cares, I was hardly there. Also, I'm not sure what the noise was, perhaps the radiator in our room, but it always sounded like it was raining outside. This place is a hidden gem and I would definitely stay there again!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ghostbuff79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#184 of 468 in New York City
2,105 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#272 of 468 in New York City
4,063 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#359 of 468 in New York City
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Night Theater District
Night Theater District
#249 of 468 in New York City
2,161 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#77 of 468 in New York City
981 reviews
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#262 of 468 in New York City
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. James

Address: 109 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4071
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £132 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel St. James 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel St. James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James Hotel Times Square
Hotel St James New York
St James Hotel Nyc
St James Hotel New York City
St James New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing