We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, convenient lodging for Broadway junkies”
Review of Hotel St. James

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel St. James
Ranked #279 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Elgin
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable, convenient lodging for Broadway junkies”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our first visit to the St. James was a huge success. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and very spacious compared to similar midtown properties. We appreciated the free wifi. Although there were no breakfast or coffee options on site, there are two delis right next door. And, of course, the location is perfect for seeing Broadway shows.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mr_Terbillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    1,314
    533
    155
    141
See reviews for
717
974
126
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My family and I were attracted by location close to Broadway theaters and Times Square. The room is shabby, carpet and decor quite tired. Moreover, the first night we noticed some bugs in the room, particularly crawling out at night from behind the dresser. We thought this was just incidental, but next night there were more. We were staying just two nights, so we reported this while checking out - and the front desk receptionist just said 'oh, I'm so sorry...' and waved us goodbye without any compensation proposal or even true empathy. We were happy to leave that place and will certainly not come back ever after.

Room Tip: Insist on seeing the room and examine it closely before checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tadeusz Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Just checked our of the hotel St James!
It's location is fantastic - Times Square and broadway are right on your doorstep. All other attractions are either walkable, or super easy to get to by other means of transportation (we used the water taxi!) The hotel rooms were a great size, clean and the beds were comfortable. Check in was quick and easy and the staff were friendly! There was no coffee making machine - but there is a deli just next door (which is reasonable and great for breakfast). We were in room 204 - unfortunately it was a really noisy room - the traffic noise was mental, even with ear plugs and living on a busy road at home, I had disturbed sleeps most nights! We didn't ask to move rooms, but we really should have done!!! Probably a back room would have been much quieter!
There was also no air con, so can imagine it would be pretty hot in the summer! However for what we paid, it was an ideal base, clean and a bargain. We saw all attractions, and walked to most of them! Enjoy the big apple x x x

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ClareOz1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
501 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We arrived last night. Had the quickest check in we've ever had. Good front desk service even though had no help with our baggage, which was OK with us as the cab dropped us at the main door.
Its location is the greatest and the cab ride for 2 from JFK was 52 dollars fixed rate. Almost the same cost as the shuttle bus, but much more comfortable and faster.
It has a convenience eatery take away shop next door,and a cafe that offers great breakfasts, another plus.
For the cost I think you cannot get any better.
Old but clean and comfortable

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank xochitl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
269 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Rode the Amtrak to NYC and stayed at the Hotel St James. About a 20 min walk from Penn Station. St James is 1/2 block from Times Square. We were warmly greeted by Joey and checked in quickly. Joey is a treasure trove of area info. The hotel is Basic, no frills hotel, but very clean and comfortable. Fairly reasonably priced given its right off times square.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank trooper198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This hotel is in a great location in NYC. The room was basic but clean which is all you can really ask for at this price.

Staff on the front desk were friendly and helpful. We had a problem with the toilet one day and this was remedied immediately.

When we arrived there was no air conditioning in the room but halfway through our stay an A/C unit was installed. I imagine this is vital in the summer months and can only presume these are being installed throughout the hotel.

Free wifi available and at the end of your trip you are able to store cases in a secure locker for $5. We managed to fit two large cases in one large cabin so the price is not too bad.

Location is great. One block from Times Square and a couple of blocks from the Empire State Building and the Rockefeller Centre. We used the subway numerous times and found this really easy. Whilst being very central, my only issue is that there did not seem to be very many eateries around and sometimes we had to walk a fair way but this is probably due to not knowing the area.

There is a concierge desk available which we used to book a shuttle back to JFK. This was $25 per person which is cheaper (and stress free) then getting a taxi. The booking of this service was easy and the service itself great (leave about 2.5 hours for the journey) but I didn't like the attitude of the lady on the desk as we were leaving (20/05/14) but I would imagine these are separate to the hotel itself.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jalon, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

thank goodness for the good location and JOEY on front desk ! We arrived to find no bar no facilities at all this is the fault of the travel agent in London who told us this was a basic boutique !!!hotel. The room was clean and ok bathroom. Clean small and ok. That's it. The whole place needs refurbishment the lifts are dirty and tatty carpet everywhere gives the hostel a dingy feel. The deli next door is a life saver! But when in NEW YORK a morning coffee in hotel is in my mind basic but you cannot get ANYTHING here no room service no bell boys. So if you want a bit more than a basic hostel give this hotel a miss!

Room Tip: Go to top hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#177 of 468 in New York City
2,065 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#75 of 468 in New York City
865 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#364 of 468 in New York City
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Night Theater District
Night Theater District
#249 of 468 in New York City
2,130 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#274 of 468 in New York City
3,972 reviews
Midtown
Night Times Square
Night Times Square
#331 of 468 in New York City
4,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. James

Property: Hotel St. James
Address: 109 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4071
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #279 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel St. James 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel St. James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James Hotel Times Square
Hotel St James New York
St James Hotel Nyc
St James Hotel New York City
St James New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing