We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location'!!!!”
Review of Hotel St. James

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel St. James
Ranked #276 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Athens
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Location'!!!!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Even though it is not very cheap it is value for money because of it's extremely central location.the room was average but clean but the bathroom was too small, but at least it had a bathroom in the room. Despite the fact that we were on the 12 th floor , you could hear the noise from the street.but that's New York

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank scoa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    1,303
    527
    152
    140
See reviews for
710
956
125
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is a lovely little hotel in an excellent location just minutes from Times Square. Yes it is basic but provides fantastic value given its location. If I were to visit again in the future I wouldn't hesitate to use this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Juli3_Ju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel is just steps away from Times Square so is perfect for doing all the touristy things. We checked in quickly and found the staff to be helpful and informative. Our room was plenty big enough for us - two adults, two children - with two comfortable double beds and a small but clean bathroom. There was a hair dryer in the room but no coffee making facilities (which we were aware of before we arrived and, as there was a cafe and a deli next door, wasn't really an issue). The free wifi was a plus, too! We got a good deal on the room price and found it to be excellent for us. The location meant that we did have some noise at night but it didn't disturb our sleep - we were all exhausted from all of the sightseeing! I would definitely recommend this hotel if you want value, comfort and convenience!

Room Tip: Our room was at the front on the 8th floor. There was some noise at night (which in Times Square can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rachel065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our first visit to the St. James was a huge success. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and very spacious compared to similar midtown properties. We appreciated the free wifi. Although there were no breakfast or coffee options on site, there are two delis right next door. And, of course, the location is perfect for seeing Broadway shows.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mr_Terbillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My family and I were attracted by location close to Broadway theaters and Times Square. The room is shabby, carpet and decor quite tired. Moreover, the first night we noticed some bugs in the room, particularly crawling out at night from behind the dresser. We thought this was just incidental, but next night there were more. We were staying just two nights, so we reported this while checking out - and the front desk receptionist just said 'oh, I'm so sorry...' and waved us goodbye without any compensation proposal or even true empathy. We were happy to leave that place and will certainly not come back ever after.

Room Tip: Insist on seeing the room and examine it closely before checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tadeusz Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Just checked our of the hotel St James!
It's location is fantastic - Times Square and broadway are right on your doorstep. All other attractions are either walkable, or super easy to get to by other means of transportation (we used the water taxi!) The hotel rooms were a great size, clean and the beds were comfortable. Check in was quick and easy and the staff were friendly! There was no coffee making machine - but there is a deli just next door (which is reasonable and great for breakfast). We were in room 204 - unfortunately it was a really noisy room - the traffic noise was mental, even with ear plugs and living on a busy road at home, I had disturbed sleeps most nights! We didn't ask to move rooms, but we really should have done!!! Probably a back room would have been much quieter!
There was also no air con, so can imagine it would be pretty hot in the summer! However for what we paid, it was an ideal base, clean and a bargain. We saw all attractions, and walked to most of them! Enjoy the big apple x x x

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ClareOz1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
483 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We arrived last night. Had the quickest check in we've ever had. Good front desk service even though had no help with our baggage, which was OK with us as the cab dropped us at the main door.
Its location is the greatest and the cab ride for 2 from JFK was 52 dollars fixed rate. Almost the same cost as the shuttle bus, but much more comfortable and faster.
It has a convenience eatery take away shop next door,and a cafe that offers great breakfasts, another plus.
For the cost I think you cannot get any better.
Old but clean and comfortable

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank xochitl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#177 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#80 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#355 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Night Theater District
Night Theater District
#250 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,126 reviews
Midtown
AKA Times Square
AKA Times Square
#125 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Midtown
The Premier New York Times Square
The Premier New York Times Squar...
#161 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. James

Property: Hotel St. James
Address: 109 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4071
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel St. James 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel St. James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James Hotel Times Square
Hotel St James New York
St James Hotel Nyc
St James Hotel New York City
St James New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing