We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel St. James
Nearby Hotels
The Watson Hotel(New York City)
US$208
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Hyatt New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$295
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Westin New York at Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$382
US$297
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$223
US$203
Triumph Hotels
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Omni Berkshire Place(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$266
US$255
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$257
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$348
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness centre
Warwick New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$410
US$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Pod 51 Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$223
US$216
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Mela(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$228
US$190
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,855)
Filter reviews
2,855 results
Traveller rating
559
1,410
566
169
151
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
559
1,410
566
169
151
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscranberry delitimes squaregreat deli next doorgreat locationnew yorkbudget hotelhotel rooman older hotelplace to sleepbit datedclean towelscan't beat the locationyour luggagerockefeller centerbryant parkaround the cornertwo double beds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
756 - 761 of 2,855 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Even though it is not very cheap it is value for money because of it's extremely central location.the room was average but clean but the bathroom was too small, but at least it had a bathroom in the room. Despite the fact that we were on the 12 th floor , you could hear the noise from the street.but that's New York

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank scoa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is a lovely little hotel in an excellent location just minutes from Times Square. Yes it is basic but provides fantastic value given its location. If I were to visit again in the future I wouldn't hesitate to use this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Juli3_Ju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel is just steps away from Times Square so is perfect for doing all the touristy things. We checked in quickly and found the staff to be helpful and informative. Our room was plenty big enough for us - two adults, two children - with two comfortable double beds and a small but clean bathroom. There was a hair dryer in the room but no coffee making facilities (which we were aware of before we arrived and, as there was a cafe and a deli next door, wasn't really an issue). The free wifi was a plus, too! We got a good deal on the room price and found it to be excellent for us. The location meant that we did have some noise at night but it didn't disturb our sleep - we were all exhausted from all of the sightseeing! I would definitely recommend this hotel if you want value, comfort and convenience!

Room Tip: Our room was at the front on the 8th floor. There was some noise at night (which in Times Square can only be expected) so if you are a light sleeper you might be better off requesting a room at the back of the hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rachel065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our first visit to the St. James was a huge success. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and very spacious compared to similar midtown properties. We appreciated the free wifi. Although there were no breakfast or coffee options on site, there are two delis right next door. And, of course, the location is perfect for seeing Broadway shows.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mr_Terbillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My family and I were attracted by location close to Broadway theaters and Times Square. The room is shabby, carpet and decor quite tired. Moreover, the first night we noticed some bugs in the room, particularly crawling out at night from behind the dresser. We thought this was just incidental, but next night there were more. We were staying just two nights, so we reported this while checking out - and the front desk receptionist just said 'oh, I'm so sorry...' and waved us goodbye without any compensation proposal or even true empathy. We were happy to leave that place and will certainly not come back ever after.

Room Tip: Insist on seeing the room and examine it closely before checking in.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tadeusz Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews