We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel St. James

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel St. James
Ranked #277 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

My family stayed in this hotel from June 22 - June 24. The room was clean and a good size. The staff was very friendly. Because the location was so great, we were in and out all the time. Each time, the person at the front desk greeted us. If you are looking for lots of amenities, this isn't the place for you, but if you want something clean in a great Times Square location, I would check it out.

Room Tip: We said we wanted something quieter and we were given a room in the back. We had no view, but we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tzillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    1,268
    510
    148
    139
See reviews for
687
924
122
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
205 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Found the St. James by searching the internet. Three couples were able to secure rooms for under $200/night, less than a block from Times Sq., near the theater district, with bars and delis almost next door, in a safe part of town. Want all this? Then stay here. Be aware that it is a 107 year old hotel that is being upgraded little by little w/ no bar or restaurant.Rooms are tiny but comfortable. There's no ice on the premises so you have to buy it (for 25 cents) at the deli next door. Bed was comfy. AC was a window unit but worked fine--and kept the noise of the City out. A short walk to just about everything. Nice and helpful staff. We would stay here again. No question.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CvilleMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

My review for this hotel would have been 4 stars, had it not been for the renovations going on at the hotel during our stay. I don't mind a little shabbiness - it's definitely worth it for the great price of this place - but being woken up on a SATURDAY during a vacation at 8am while the new carpets are laid outside my room (constant hammering!) isn't something I'm so keen on. When I mentioned it to reception, I was told "it'll be going on all day" - NO ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF THE PROBLEM, NO APOLOGY which I found to be ridiculous. This really soured the rest of my experience.

Other than that, I would recommend this hotel and probably stay again after it's renovated. The location (just off Times Square) is unbeatable and it's right next to a 24-hr deli that has all the essentials. There are also a couple of Irish bars on the block and a Starbucks a 30sec walk away. Free wifi and effective a/c. Really is a great, cheap place if you're going to be out of the room most of the day anyway. Comfy enough beds. Just a shame about the uncaring attitude presented by the staff.

Room Tip: Higher floors are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Room was recently renovated with only one outlet aside from AC. Front desk sent up an extension cord in 3 minutes. Then discovered light bulb was out. Guy came back with a new one in 2 minutes. Nice euro hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank twittums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

The hotel is confortable and clean (this is very important). If well is little old, in June 2014 they were making some refurbishments. In the heart of Manhattan is a good option if your budget is not so big. Very friendly personnel at the front-desk.

Room Tip: Prefer back rooms that are less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeamoros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richards Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Located just a few steps away from Times Square, this hotel definitely provides value for money. It is a budget hotel so if you're looking for luxury then this is not the place for you. However, if you need a hotel in the heart of the action, a place to sleep for a few hours and shower then you will not make a mistake by booking this hotel. Breakfast was not included in our rate but that was no issue as there is a 24 hour deli next door which has almost everything you could need-coffee, sandwiches, hot meals, fruit,ice cream, cakes and even pain medication. The room was small but big enough for 2 people and it was fairly clean.We stayed 4 nights and barely spent any time in the room.There was an aircon, iron, ironing board and hairdryer in the room.We had a minor issue with the toilet and they offered us another room however we declined to change rooms as the issue was not significant. There's a concierge in the reception area which we used to book a shuttle to JFK and also bought our Empire State Building tickets from there.You can book tours, get maps, just about all you need to start touring NY. Free wi-fi in the room was great and there's also computers available next to reception which you can use for a fee.There's a subway nearby on 42nd street and you can get to just about anywhere from there.A must try is a food cart just up the road from the hotel called Kwik Meals.You can get delicious flavourful meals for a really good price. Overall this is a great hotel from which to explore NY. Almost everything is within walking distance including Times Square, Empire State Building, Circle Line Cruises Pier, Intrepid Museum, United Nations Building, Bryant Park, Grand Central, Macys Herald Square, Madisson Square Garden, Top of the Rock, 5th Avenue. We walked to all these places from the hotel. There are many many restaurants and fast food places nearby with a star bucks on the same street. Location is perfect!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SAtraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Hotel situated in a great spot, lively location just off Times Square. Very central making it easy to get to many attractions on foot, metro very close too - 5 minutes walk. Room not overly spacious but completely adequate, clean with comfy bed, good tv package and free wifi. No view from our window, looked out onto a wall but it didn't bother us. Great place to stay if you just need somewhere to sleep. Would go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TwoP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#175 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,007 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#81 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#357 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Night Theater District
Night Theater District
#253 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,105 reviews
Midtown
AKA Times Square
AKA Times Square
#122 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#288 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. James

Property: Hotel St. James
Address: 109 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4071
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #277 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel St. James 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel St. James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James Hotel Times Square
Hotel St James New York
St James Hotel Nyc
St James Hotel New York City
St James New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing