We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NICE LOCATION ..... COULD BE IN BETTER CONDITION”
Review of Hotel St. James

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel St. James
Ranked #275 of 467 Hotels in New York City
London
2 reviews
“NICE LOCATION ..... COULD BE IN BETTER CONDITION”
Reviewed 14 April 2010

This hotel is in an excellent location which makes it very noisy, but you can't have everything, the room is basic to say the least extremely old furniture, but the sheets and towels and bathroom were very clean, but saying that i made a dust ball with the crap i picked up from round the radiator and the windows were so filthy we couldn't see out of them, one of the guys on the desk was ok but the fairer guy of the two was a miserable sod.... we had to find our own way to our room the stair case was disgusting nothing in the room not even a kettle.... the tv only showed news and shopping channels. I didn't once see the bar downstairs opened. BUT WHO CARES YOUR IN NEW YORK.....

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loopyhogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    1,299
    526
    152
    140
See reviews for
710
952
125
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

Arrived late in NYC and greeted by an EXTREMELY unfriendly front desk clerk. Finally am able to get a room under $200 and am informed of a couple of rules. 1) No visitors allowed up to the rooms; 2)Must leave keys with front desk when out of hotel. Neither a big issue, except for the room I entered is one I would expect in a youth hostel as opposed to a business man's hotel. The room has furniture that must've been purchased at a rummage sale - worn, cracked - basically, in terrible condition. Lastly, lucky to have air conditioning - but yes, it's the old wall unit that used to be in grandma's apartment.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruprecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

London
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2010

We stayed here for four nights over the Easter bank holiday weekend and it was just what we needed. The hotel is basic and not modern looking but if you, like us, are more concerned about seeing New York than your hotel room then it is perfect. It was very clean and our bathroom was cleaned and towels refreshed every day. It is in a brilliant location, two minutes walk from Times Square with places to get breakfast right next door. If you do end up with a room facing the street it can be very noisy, so do take earplugs or request a different room if you are at all a light sleeper. You do have to leave your room key at reception every time you leave the hotel so be aware of this if returning to the hotel at different times. The hotel also does not have any safety deposit boxes or safes in the rooms, so be prepared to take valuables out with you, or hide them! Overall, staff were friendly and helpful, lending us a hairdryer and helping with booking transport etc. Very good value for money!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grimeinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2010

we like a lot the hotel. we will come back.
clean and big room, very quiet. we slept excellent!!!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juanpi_Garcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2010

The St. James delivers a primo location at a rock-bottom price. It is literally steps from several Broadway theaters (Valerie Harper in Looped was 3 doors down) and close to many more and to the TKTS booth. While not fancy, it is clean, has decent towels and beds, and a helpful staff. I asked for a hair dryer and was handed a nice one, and when I asked for an iron, one was delivered in 5 minutes. If you use conditioner, hand lotion, etc, bring your own--the toiletries are limited to shampoo and soap. There's a Duane Reade drugstore around the corner for any other items.
If you don't have a lot of luggage you might ask for a low-floor room and avoid the slow and small elevators. Of the delis on the block, Dunhill's next door was better than the Cranberry Cafe, though they're both OK places to grab breakfast or lunch.
We will stay here again. We attend an annual meeting that is held across the street at the Millenium Hotel, and the difference in price between St. James and the Millenium covered 2 tickets to a great Broadway show!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ironista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2010

Small room, old furniture, loud conditioning, average cleanliness, wifi didn't work, yet THE LOCATION IS PERFECT. Woth the money we paid.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gespenst79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles CA
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2010

times sq. is around the corner and acess to the subway is excellent. For the price you cant beat it for being in the middle of all the action

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillyLosAngelesCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#179 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,047 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#85 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#355 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Night Theater District
Night Theater District
#251 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
Midtown
AKA Times Square
AKA Times Square
#116 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Midtown
The Premier New York Times Square
The Premier New York Times Squar...
#161 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. James

Property: Hotel St. James
Address: 109 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4071
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #275 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel St. James 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel St. James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James Hotel Times Square
Hotel St James New York
St James Hotel Nyc
St James Hotel New York City
St James New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing