We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only for sleeping in, so it's OK”
Review of Hotel St. James

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel St. James
Ranked #279 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 26 June 2010

Anybody complaining about the facilities or the furniture in the room etc have missed the point of visiting NYC.

Just spent 5 days at this hotel and whilst it is very very basic and in need of an update, it was clean and the bed comfortable. Bathroom was very good.

The staff on reception were very helpful.

Cranberry Deli next door is fantastic and very cheap.

Location of this hotel is it's best feature.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank levets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,737)
There are newer reviews for Hotel St. James
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,198 - 1,204 of 2,737 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2010

The st james hotel which we stayed at for 8 nights was great!! we cant understand the poor reviews. if you want the best of hotels then try somewhere more expensive.!! the staff were fine especially joey.it was clean , we had plenty of hot water and the air con worked , with times square so close what more could you want? i asked for a hair dryer and was given one straight away.A great hotel to stay at we would recommend it with no hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harley084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Although the staff was exceptionally polite, the rooms were below par. Only one of the elevators worked and it took 10 minutes for the elevator to make it to the 7th floor. The lobby was clean, but the floor was horrible. There were empty food containers in the stairwell. The room itself was not clean. The walls had some substance splattered and there were food crumbs on the floor (It was a Tuesday, so not a heavy vacationing week). The bathroom was spotless and the window air conditioner worked quite well. the bed was like sleeping on the floor with a blanket beneath you. For $250, I think it was over-priced, even if it was in a block from Times Square. I won't stay there again-- I'll pay the extra $50 and stay at a nicer hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BettyS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

I had read mixed reviews of this hotel so was wary upon arrival. All of my worries were dismissed by the wonderful location and great staff. The evening desk clerk went out of his way to be helpful, even changing my room when the first had a window that would not close. All of the staff were helpful and efficient but he was particularly friendly. The rooms showed age and wear but were immaculately clean. What sets this hotel apart is the perfect location just a block from all of the major theaters and short walks to everything else.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SavvyTraveler0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

One good thing I can say about this hotel is it is in a great location right in Times Square. Otherwise, it is horrible. The customer service is unlike anything I have experienced before, the worst. You can't keep your room key and must turn it in each time you leave the hotel since it is an actual door key. The keys are always all over the front desk for anyone to take. You can't have more than 1 person in a room without paying an extra fee. The furniture in the entire place is falling apart. The AC window unit was very loud and wasn't on when I entered the room which was about 90 degrees upon arriving. The bathroom was tiny but clean. You could only open the window an inch in the bathroom to let the steam out since there was no screen on it and the pigeons outside would come in. The 20" TV was on a cart that was so low to the floor that you could not watch it from the bed. The closet was so small that you could not shut the closet door unless the hangers were sideways. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone nor would I ever stay there again. It was a glorified hostel that charges way to much. If you have ever seen the 1980's movie Big with Tom hanks, this is the nasty hotel that he stays in in NYC. It doesn't look much better than it did back then.
If you want somewhere for the same price that is nice, 4 blocks from Times Square, and has exceptional service; look at the Hampton Inn Times Square South. This was a great hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jes4247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Stayed here for three nights , as previous posting the Night porter is rude and treats all guests the same , my wife and i are both over 45 but was asked for $50.00 in case we damaged any thing!

Not sure what sort of guests they usually get ! This was refunded at the end of our stay

I would however recomend this Hotel the location is excellent and the other staff were very good

There is a deli next door for early morning coffee etc as there is none avaliable in the rooms
It is a good Hotel but one event such as the Night Porter can put you off

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffcarBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

Great location for this hotel.
Some detail could be a bit "seasoned" but the accomation is very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McHItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#185 of 468 in New York City
2,105 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#270 of 468 in New York City
4,066 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#367 of 468 in New York City
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#75 of 468 in New York City
986 reviews
Midtown
Night Theater District
Night Theater District
#249 of 468 in New York City
2,162 reviews
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#261 of 468 in New York City
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. James

Address: 109 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4071
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £133 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel St. James 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel St. James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James Hotel Times Square
Hotel St James New York
St James Hotel Nyc
St James Hotel New York City
St James New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing