We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not a Hotel, a BORDELLO!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Semana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Semana Hotel
Ranked #445 of 463 Hotels in New York City
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not a Hotel, a BORDELLO!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2006

Two words: HOURLY RATES!
By no means am I a fussy traveler. I've roughed it in some real sketchy hotels and hostels throughout Europe and the US. But this place is by far the worst hotel ever.
Upon check-in, the clerk had no "recolection" of my reservation, nor our pre-payment. He didn't bother to check his computer - the same computer on which we spotted him perusing pornography. As we settled our room dispute not one, but two, couples went upstairs to use one of their advertised "hot tub rooms" for a few hours.
And also there were large creepy floor-to-cieling mirrors on each wall. Those dark mirrors, that appear to be two-way. Creepy.
Also, the staff smokes inside. And there were no pillows. And broken lights and A/C.

  • Stayed April 2006, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Grafista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    4
    1
    3
    24
See reviews for
1
7
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2006

Our room had no window, a disconnected air conditioner (finally activated after we spent a sleepless night in the stuffy, nonmoving air) that was located 8 feet up the wall (so we had to stand on the tub sides to reach the controls), no towel rack, no water glasses (no ice bucket, because there's no ice machine), minimal lighting (three tiny bulbs hanging from wires running across the ceiling), no maid service during the day between our two nights, a thin mattress that sloped to the center. Two positives: a small refrigerator in the room, and the room was clean (though the hallway had a range of funky smells). We stayed here only because of a special arrangement, but I can't imagine any series of events that would lead me to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElrondPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

montpellier
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2005

159 usd + taxes for a dark tiny room (no windows), lot of defective items !!. No bulbs over the miror in the bathroom . We moved out the next day to find a much, much better place on 47th street at a cheaper rate !!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moheli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston mass
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2005

I checked in around 6:00 on a Saturday evening the place reeked of pot as he walked with me to the room because I didn't have any clean towels at the time. The night clerk kept coming upstairs to change the rooms every five minutes when they didn't need changing and he would just hang around in the hallway for like ten minutes before he decided what he was going to do next. Who knows whether the guy was spying on us or not but he probably was. The place was not cool for $163 a night. The name of the hotel should be here's a room your stupid. The room was a closet sized room with no curtains on the window everybody could see in I was like ok. They gave us a thin blanket we were freeziing most of the time. I really didn't want to ask for a blanket because that night clerk really gave me the creeps. Basically stay away it it not worth the price that was the cheapest room they had

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ringdiva05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2004

This is a dive and it smelled of smoke, disinfectant and musk. I'm all for dives for your odd clandestine tryst but not at $185 a night. The door did not close all the way. There was duct tape covering a peephole and the thought of using that bed made me itchy. On top of that, I made a reservation several months in advance and secured it with a credit card. Check in is at 12PM. I arrived at 3PM to find the room I had reserved had been rented.

Very bad

Helpful?
22 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Flatiron District
Wyndham Garden Manhattan Chelsea West
Wyndham Garden Manhattan Chelsea...
#268 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,086 reviews
Flatiron District
Heritage Hotel New York City
Heritage Hotel New York City
#354 of 463 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Flatiron Hotel
#315 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Oakwood at 777 6th Avenue
Oakwood at 777 6th Avenue
#402 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Midtown
Herald Square Hotel
Herald Square Hotel
#302 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#49 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Semana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Semana Hotel

Property: La Semana Hotel
Address: 25 W 24th St, New York City, NY 10010-3208
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Flatiron District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #445 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Semana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your La Semana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Semana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing