We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay in NYC”
Review of St. Marks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St. Marks Hotel
Ranked #399 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 29 March 2007

Thank you St.Marks for the pleasent stay, we stayed 5 nights, the shower was warm, the rooms clean, not much comfort, but you just fall into bed when you do sightsseing in NYC, and therefor it'S perfect (100 metres from the next subw.-station. Geli and Franz from Germany

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Franz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2007

I have to hand it to the St. Mark's Hotel, on two levels.

First off, if you are looking for an inexpensive, serviceable place to overnight it in NYC, you can't do much better for your buck than this. I stayed at the Hotel for a week, stuck between the dorm I was leaving, and the shared apartment I was moving into. The staff was cool with the boxes I had to bring with me temporarily, the room was clean, and, despite the frequent circulation of transient boarders, I never felt unsafe during my stay. Oh, and the bathroom was SPOTLESS. If anything, I spent a week in one of the most interesting parts of town, and then, at only $80 a night. Best of all? They took me in without a problem, after nearly every other place in town turned me down via phone.

As far as the other level goes, I'll just say it. Yeah, I have been one of those transient boarders that rents the Hotel's rooms by the hour. Basically, when you're in a hidden relationship, with no other place to go... yeah, you remember places like this one. And I'll say it - the staff is cool with it, hires out by the hour, and gives you a clean, spartan room for the purposes you have in mind. It's nothing fancy, but it does the job well. They even knock on the door to let you know when your time is up - thoughtful, huh?

So, for whatever rooming purposes you have in mind, the St. Mark's Hotel has a room for you. The price is right, the place is clean, and no questions are asked. What more can you ask for?

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank poitrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2007

My partner and I stayed at the St. Marks for a brief weekend in NYC March 3rd-4th. We were going to a show in LES, so the location was perfect. Overall, the stay was fine, but the hotel breaks down as below.

Pros: -cheapest thing going ($130/night for a queen with private bathroom)
- location is awesome, right on St Marks, with all of lower Manhattan at your feet
- room was perfectly clean, with no sign of grime or bugs anywhere
- tons of shopping, food, etc right outside
- ATM in lobby is convenient

Now, for the negs:
- staff is either fabulous or rude, depending on which shift you get
- very Spartan rooms, which is great for a weekend, but not a romantic one
- occasional transient dwellers/sketchy characters (but most cheap places in NY are like this)
- extremely noisy; if you are a light sleeper, the front of the hotel is not for you
- rooms get very hot during the night. We had to turn the AC on, even though it was 30 degrees outside!
- no ability to do late-checkout, so if you're out partying until 4am, plan on being up and out within a couple of hours! (We offered to pay extra, but were told a firm "No.")

All in all, how you like the St Marks depends on your lifestyle and how picky/anal you are. It really is a great deal in a great spot, just don't expect creature comforts. Being young and mostly carefree, we didn't mind it, and would stay again if we had a similar weekend, but for a more romantic encounter, we'll keep an eye on Travelzoo for deals on a nicer place.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Racetrackrockabettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2007

We stayed in St Mark's Hotel in February 2007, after a recommendation from friends of ours. This was our first visit to New York and we needed a place to stay for 5 nights, and St Mark's seems to be one of the most affordable ones, yet in a great central location in Manhattan.

The hotel is in a buzzling little area St Marks Place, which has a selection of affordable restaurants, a great bagel/pizza place downstairs and authentic bars.

We stayed in a double room with own bathroom. To get to our room we had to walk up several flights of steps... We are young so it didn't bother us too much! As other reviews on this site will say the rooms are small, but they are kept tidy on a daily basis and soon you'll be fine with the simplicity. Especially we came for a quick five-day city break to NYC so we didn't plan to spend all our time in the room anyway.

Negatives of the room was that ours was facing the inner court yard and the vents + airconditioning pipes made a hell of a racket when the window was open, and the antiquated radiator in the room was on a full heat, and air was leaking from it, so it hissed the first night. The ear plugs we got on the plane came to good use! If we tapped the radiator cap, the hissing would stop for a while but it started again.. However we finally - after turning the nozzle in all directions - managed to turn the radiator off, so the temperature in the room was less of a sauna and no hissing. So, a tip: request a room to the street (although bear in mind the traffic noices) so you'll avoid the vent motor noices. Also the rooms at the front have higher ceilings, which help in
otherwise small room.

Also the shower in our room was very bad. Firstly it took ages to get warm and then it would get hotter, hotter, hotter... Turn cold tap a little bit and the temperature would even out, only to turn freezing cold witih a few seconds from that. It was a real hit and miss every time and we had to have quick showers to optimise the consistency in the water temperature.. Certainly wakes you up in the morning! And finally, our toilet got blocked twice, which they took care of straight away... But nevertheless it is always a hassle.

Staff were mostly very friendly, only the night shift person wasn't so, but all our questions and requests were dealt with upmost professionalism and quickly, so all in all very pleasant.

Do stay in this hotel, if you don't mind simplicity, like affordable accommodation and do not mind lack of breakfast / room service.

Don't stay in this hotel, if you don't want simplicity (i.e. no frills) and want breakfast served - or are planning to spend a lot of time in the room.

I would go again, should I be as much on a budget next time around.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Coco2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2007

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Sh-sh-sh-SharkAttack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2006

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alicher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2006

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AJ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#384 of 469 in New York City
652 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#411 of 469 in New York City
555 reviews
East Village
The Gatsby Hotel
The Gatsby Hotel
#379 of 469 in New York City
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#194 of 469 in New York City
717 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#443 of 469 in New York City
865 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#302 of 469 in New York City
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Marks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Marks Hotel

Address: 2 Saint Marks Pl, New York City, NY 10003-8099
Region: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #399 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £83 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Marks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your St. Marks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marks Hotel Nyc
Hotel St Marks
St Marks Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing