We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience, will stay again”
Review of Sohotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sohotel
Ranked #228 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Loved this little gem. Very friendly and helpful staff, big rooms, free tea and coffee in the lobby daily from 7am-11am, lots of linen and towels, clean rooms, reasonable shower, comfortable beds, great price. Make sure you request a quiet room (avoid rooms facing Bowery St). Only negatives -no phones or fridges in rooms, steep stairs (no elevator!) but the very friendly doormen will carry your bags for you. Not located on the prettiest of streets but only 2 short blocks to fabulous Spring & Prince Streets and subway stations. My friend and I had a fabulous time at the SoHotel and I highly recommend staying here. Tip well! It's deserved.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmylovesNewYork101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

742 - 748 of 1,384 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2011

Stayed at 3 different hotels whilst in New York this january, as we wanted to experience different parts on the city. The Sohotel was first on the list and we actually ended up checking out early of another hotel to return to the Sohotel. We were offered a discount also which was not expected and greatly appreciated.

The beds were so comfortable and as I was travelling with my brother and his mate, it was great to find a room with 3 beds that was very reasonably priced.

All I can say is great service (friendliest doorman and desk staff) and excellent heating (which helped after coming in from a snow fight)..

Will definately return sometime soon, my fingers are crossed :)

Room Tip: Regency Plus had 3 beds, perfect for a group..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cara285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

My friends and I have stayed one night in this hotel before flying back to UK.
We arrived at 11.30am and as checking was only starting at 3pm, the hotel kept all our luggages. Maybe a little "bad point": the stairs to get to the lobby.. can be annoying when you have heavy luggage but at least the bell boy is really helpful

We booked a room for 3 people but this one could welcome 5 people (2 double bed + 1 single). We ended up in room 227, clean, with enough space for all our luggage. Bed were really good with comfortable matelas. Bathroom of a decent size, perfectly cleaned. As we booked the room through www.booking.com, we had a nice rate.
Our room was on the street side, so a little bit noisy but you can still sleep peacefully.
Room was equiped with Flat screen TV. Free Wifi only in the lobby

Regarding location of hotel, next to Bowery station, it is very convenient. We were in chinatown and ten minute walking from Broadway.

I would recommand this hotel for family, groups of friend and couple. Will come back to Sohotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonTripmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

We found this to be a good base to explore NYC, one of the less expensive hotels , but perectly ok for our needs

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marmite23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

In the perpetually up-and-coming-but-never-quite-arriving Chinatown/SoHo/Bowery area, this hotel is, for the money one pays, the best of a pretty bad lot. We spent two lots of one night at each end of the holiday here, averaging$160 per night, for which in the UK (and most of the rest of the world, if we're honest) you could stay somewhere really good with more than just a passing acquaintance with the traveller's comfort.

The rooms are incredibly small - on the last night we were in a windowless room [Grandpa used to tell me about those, I didn't think they still existed...]. The bathrooms were tiny and for the mobility impaired beware, there is no lift, only steep stairs and narrow coridoors. Trouble is, there's no point in moaning, because in dear old NYC you really have to pay over $250 per night to stay anywhere even half decent (as we did for other bits of the holiday). The alternative is to stay at an anonymous chain near one of the airports, so in this city, the adage "location, location, location" is truer than anywhere. As you don't come to NYC to sleep, it's a small, albeit expensive, sacrifice to make.

So in short, stay here if you must, but don't think too hard about the cost because for the location, I promise that you won't find anything better for the exhorbitant price. Welcome to NY!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BristolPavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Good location, clean, charming hotel! Housekeepers were constantly cleaning floors, stairs, and public areas to keep them clean and inviting. The doorman was friendly and helpful. Lounge areas are small, but cozy and colorful. Rooms are small, but who cares in NYC!? I would recommend Sohotel to friends and family. We enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettyperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

This looked like a really good place to stay. The website sells it very well. Rooms are cramped and the one we stayed in sloped to one side, had dust you could leave pictures in and a very odd smell coming from the bathroom. The radiator kept emitting odd smelling steam and didn't work properly at first and staff were not particularly interested in hearing about it. Location-wise it's ok and within easy reach of some good shops and places to eat, but it's on a major intersection with 24-7 traffic (yes, we expected New York to be noisy, we've both stayed there before) and being an old building, it was virtually impossible to shut the noise out to sleep. The area the hotel is in doesn't feel particularly good at night so I wouldn't recommend this to single travellers. A disappointing experience that I wouldn't repeat.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fatspanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#215 of 471 in New York City
409 reviews
Nolita
The Nolitan Hotel
The Nolitan Hotel
#160 of 471 in New York City
976 reviews
Chinatown
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#252 of 471 in New York City
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#20 of 471 in New York City
783 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#255 of 471 in New York City
610 reviews
SoHo
Solita Soho Hotel
Solita Soho Hotel
#371 of 471 in New York City
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sohotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sohotel

Address: 341 Broome St, New York City, NY 10013-4236
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £89 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sohotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sohotel in New York has a great location and great prices. Located in the center of downtown our hotel is comfortable, clean, and charming. We offer a great way to visit NYC and our commitment to customer satisfaction is our #1 goal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, HostelWorld, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sohotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sohotel New York City
Sohotel Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing