We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy, Hip, Great Area for Walking Around”
Review of Sohotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sohotel
Ranked #295 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Trendy, Hip, Great Area for Walking Around”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and absolutely loved it. The decor was trendy and hip. You have to climb up a long flight of stairs to get to the reception area and main floor, but we found out that a lot of NYC involves climbing. They did have a porter right there that brought our bags upstairs for us though. Room was very clean, bed was very comfortable. The location was fabulous - we were able to walk around Soho, Tribeca, the Bowery, Greenwich Village. Close to the subway as well. The only disappointment was that they didn't have a computer there, but there was a place down the street where you could access the internet. They did have wifi though if you brought your own laptop. We're planning another stay next year, same time. Awesome spot!

Room Tip: The side facing the street is a little noisier, but it is NYC after all. We didn't mind that at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santorini Dreamin'
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    489
    213
    80
    121
See reviews for
328
262
69
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

My wife and I at the SoHotel the first time last December. We had planned on staying somehwere else, but cam back to here again. The location can't be beat, if you like being close to the Bowery, Little Italy, Chinatown, the Village and amore funkier part of NYC. You can still take a train, bus, or cab from the SoHotel and be anywhere you want easily. The staff is still very friendly and they will still carry your bags up the stairs to your room for you since no elevator is available. The rooms are small, but very comfortable. It has a great feel! No tub, just a shower. No phone in the room as well as a fridge or microwave or coffee make. No safe in the room too. The tv is mounted on the wall out of the way and glad of it. Our last stay here we had a dresser in the room that was kind of in the way. This time no dresser and glad it wasnt here. A little sound bleed over from the club next door, but it really didnt bother us. We had a great sleep! You can't go wrong in the neighborhood for lack of things to see and do. It is such a comfortable area and you can always catch a train uptown for a little more polish if you want it. Coffee downstairs at the lobby is easy. Smoking patio out the off the lobby. It is a small hotel with small rooms and missing some things I wish they had like coffe maker and in room safes other than that I really have come to love this little hotel and woudnt hesitate to stay again and again. With two people once you figure out the logistics of the room it really works well. You cant beat the price either. One night is about half of most hotels in NYC. I reall just can't say enough about how great alittle hotel this really is and how I hope you would find it as comfortable as we have. Give it a try!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mccrazyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I am giving the SoHotel 4 out of 5 because it was clean and safe and because the customer service was top-notch. My biggest complaint is the small size of the room. My husband, who was originally supposed to stay with us during our trip, was unable to join us at the last minute. This turned out to be a good thing because he's a large man (6'4" and 215 lbs) and would have been very uncomfortable in the small space.

Pros:
The rooms were clean and there were no signs of bedbugs--past or present!
Good air-conditioning
Safe setting
Helpful maps at the front desk
Very friendly staff
Quiet night's sleep
Free bottled water in the rooms
Nice-smelling shampoo/conditioner/soap
Good shower
Fresh, clean linens (I've stayed in places where it was obvious the sheets hadn't been washed--ew!)
Easy access to the subway and Little Italy and Chinatown

Cons:
Even though there was a nice flat-screen HD Tv in the room, the cable service was fuzzy and half of the channels didn't come in.
VERY small room (we had a corner room with funny angles and two double beds, so this might have contributed to the smaller size)
VERY small bathroom
Expensive weekend rates
No breakfast
Beware--helpful and courteous though they are, the front desk staff are not always the best ones to ask when it comes to subway navigation. You'd be better off asking the very friendly and knowledgeable porters/bellmen.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJ_Mack_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

My husband and I were a little skeptical about this place at first because it was such a great deal but after staying at Sohotel, we were impressed and will definitely come back.

Hotel/Room: We got to the hotel at 11AM and asked for an early check in, they didn't have a room until 2PM (check in is 3PM) however they were kind enough to hold our bags for us. They even have restrooms you could use if you wanted to get ready. They also have free maps so make sure you take one, it was our life saver. There is also free wifi in the lobby. We stayed on the second floor and there were no elevators so we had to carry our own luggage. It wasn't a big deal for us. We stayed in a standard room with a full size bed. The room was small but enough for 2 people. We loved the brick exposure behind our bed. The bathroom was also tiny but clean. The room was clean in general and we had no problem with noise from the street. We also didn't stay in our room much, just there to sleep and shower. The bed was comfortable too.

Location: We loved that the hotel was close to the D train station on Grand and Chrystie. It was the best way to get to mid-town. Don't even bother with a cab, hailing for one is already enough work as it is. We flew from JFK and the J train station was just blocks away from the hotel as well. We walked around at night and it did not feel dangerous at all. Sure it was a little smelly but almost everywhere you go in NYC in the summer smells like garbage and sewer. We loved that the hotel was blocks from Little Italy, China Town, Soho. They have great restaurants and cheap eats in those neighborhoods and don't forget awesome shopping!

In all honesty, this hotel met our expectations. It's not grand and luxurious by all means but it provides your basic shelter needs. If you're looking for a place to stay in NYC on budget don't be afraid to check out the Sohotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DTdwellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I wasn't sure from reading the reviews if this was a good place for an older woman travelling solo. I could not have felt more secure. Room was small but well designed. The bad was comfortable and the linens fresh and clean. Beautiful brick exposed wall, nice hardwoods. Bathroom was small but efficient. There was coffee in the lobby, but no other food available in the hotel, but plenty of options within a stone's throw. Great location. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliap450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

My daughters and I were at the sohotel for some days. We met with Junior, this young man very polite and knowing how to receive people,  has been very helpful. We read about him in some comments, and people who have described Junior say true. because he is really friendly and helpful. He knows how to make people feel comfortable. We had a problem in our Room we have called him and he has solved our concern.
The Sohotel  he's a really nice place, clean, the location is very good, little Italy, Chinatown and there are trains stations near to the hotel, the orange line, green line and brown line.
 the only problem was: THERE IS NO LIFT.

Restaurant : Junior advised us  a restaurant near the hotel called Randolf. He told us this restaurant makes the best berger of new york.  He introduced us to his friend  a bartender named Sorender a India guy Very nice like Junior. As soon as Junior went back to the hotel. Sorender took care of us as junior promised. 

There's another  restaurant named Azzura, very nice place in little Italy.  
We went to Pink berry  Junior said it's the right place for Ice cream and Yogurt. 
He recommended us to a store in Harlem 125th street, where we bought nice clothes, and shoes not expensive..
We rally had good time in new York specially  at the Sohotel

I recommend the sohotel to everyone who'd like to visit New York.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Jeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The hotel provided great value for money. We were a family of five - parents and three adult children (ages in their 20th). We all slept in one room- 2 queen beds and one twin ned, it was a bit crowded, but clean and very comfy & pleasant. The hotel has a great location, in the heart of mat-ters, but relatively pleasant neighborhood area. Right next to the "Little Italy" and a metro station. Those looking for a cheap hotel in a good location, this is a . great option
Please take into consideration that there is no elevator in the hotel and the lobby is  placed few stairs away from the street...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M1321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Nolita
The Nolitan Hotel
The Nolitan Hotel
#140 of 467 in New York City
947 reviews
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#185 of 467 in New York City
388 reviews
Chinatown
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#267 of 467 in New York City
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#212 of 467 in New York City
582 reviews
SoHo
Solita Soho Hotel
Solita Soho Hotel
#354 of 467 in New York City
472 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#16 of 467 in New York City
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sohotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sohotel

Property: Sohotel
Address: 341 Broome St, New York City, NY 10013-4236
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#167 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sohotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sohotel in New York has a great location and great prices. Located in the center of downtown our hotel is comfortable, clean, and charming. We offer a great way to visit NYC and our commitment to customer satisfaction is our #1 goal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sohotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sohotel New York City
Sohotel Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing